We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau

The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau
Ranked #5 of 159 Restaurants in Wausau
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We used to really enjoy their food but the past 2 times it wasn't that great. I just had a burger and asked for medium, it came out pretty charred and I asked for a new one which I got. And...this burger also was over done. At this point it wasn't worth it to send back again since my husband was already done eating. Waitress did seemed a little concerned but did not comp the burger or offer a sorry. Won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    112
    50
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What's the big deal?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Went there in wednesday night and th, place was dead, only two other patrons sittinf at the bar.
Ordered the drunken jerk, for pork marinated in rum it was very bland and the vegetables tasted like they were from frozen
Overall not a memorable experience, but not a bad experience.

Helpful?
Thank Randal_Arnoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
198 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I don't know what it is but I just don't understand this place. It seems everyone loves it but I don't get the hype. They have an extensive menu but nothing that really stands out as a culinary achievement. Their beer is OK but if you are looking for a craft brew, there are better choices in the area. The venue itself is very large and offers the customer different experiences. They have a dining area, two bars, a banquet hall, and an outdoor patio & bar. They typically feature bands on the patio on Friday nights in the summer. The biggest negative to this place is the employees. Bartenders that never greet or thank you. Waitresses with shorts so short they would make your grandmother blush. The staff seems more concerned with goofing off with each other than providing a pleasant experience for their guests. I have been here many times but it's never a great time, always just so-so.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheGoGo_1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Friday Night Fish Fry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were hoping to find a place that had Lake Perch, and were thrilled to find it at the Great Dane Pub. The meal was delicious, with great service also. My husband liked the beer he had. (They brew on location.)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda60188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The German sausage plate was excellent and so was the service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We ate outdoors and they had live entertainment. It was outstanding in every way and a whole lotta fun.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank polkaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau also viewed

 

Been to The Great Dane Pub and Brewing Co. Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing