We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new Hotel Chain Found?”
Review of Courtyard Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Wausau
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A new Hotel Chain Found?”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

AMAZING! From the convenient location, cleanliness and decor all the way to the superb rooms, delicious food and AWESOME STAFF!!!

This was a stay for a wedding we were a part of and it turned into so much more. I have never ever ever met a staff more friendly, accommodating and efficient, and we travel a lot. From check-in, to check-out, even just passing through the lobby.

The bistro made an EXCELLENT breakfast, that surprised us completely!!!!!! I could go on and on, but you need to experience it yourself if you get the chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot, as the courtyard side faces the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellesCharmWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    57
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
24
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night for business. It looked like the hotel lobby had been recently renovated with modern and polished look. There are many comfortable seating areas equipped with TV and electronic plug-ins. However, my room was not as nice - dated furniture and carpet. The worst part - the bathtub did not drain. I finished my shower in ankle-deep water in the bathtub - not a very pleasant experience! I don't think I am going to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwang20874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

While traveling in Wausau for business we stayed at the Courtyard. The room had 2 queen size beds and a sleeper sofa, the room was very clean and the staff was excellent. No matter the time the staff was always cheerful. Breakfast was nice as it was made to order food instead of buffet. I did notice that there was also dinner served in the evenings however we ate out. I would recommend this Courtyard to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jitterbug_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff at the Courtyard Wausau was amazing. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping exceeded our expectations. It was a last minute trip. We arrived early and they were able to get us a room right away. It really made the start to our weekend getaway a perfect one. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We were up on the third floor. The room was large, clean and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level Contributor
271 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We got a 2nd floor, double queen (NOT full-sized beds, but QUEENS) room. Spacious for a family of four, with 2 small kids. Beds were VERY comfy, room was clean and everything was in good working order. It had a good-sized flat screen TV...... Staff was top notch, from the guys who checked us in late in the evening, to the waitress in the restaurant... Speaking of the restaurant, it was recently remodeled and has a tasteful, modern look to it....The swimming pool was on the small side, but definitely serviceable---our boys had a great time... The pool/hot tub area was CLEAN, well maintained and well stocked with towels.... In fact, the entire hotel looked well maintained, including the grounds.... In nice weather, the courtyard, which is attached to the pool area, looked like a great space to relax and enjoy the weather....

The hotel is located just off the US-51 freeway, and our west-facing room faced the highway, yet we heard hardly any noise.... The windows do actually open, so if you like to sleep with the windows open, you might wanna consider an east-facing room.... BUT, they did a pretty good job of concealing much of the roadway by strategically planting trees and shrubs to mask it... Of course, this is a moot point in winter time, when the foliage is gone, but then you might actually get a glimpse of Rib Mountain..... Also, the location appeared to be in a safe area of town, with a few business/corporate properties nearby, along with a few other chain hotels....

We had a breakfast voucher, which was nice to have as the room was a bit on the pricey side... My french toast was pretty good, but not the best i've ever had (which would be my toast)....

Not much to complain about except the fact that it's near the freeway, there was no fridge in the room, and the room and food prices were a bit pricey (if you don't have a voucher)..... But other than that, for business or vacation travelers alike, i would recommend the Courtyard Marriott in Wausau, WI.

Room Tip: West faces the freeway and Rib Mountain, east faces town and a few corporate buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrangeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here on an extremely busy Wausau weekend (kayak races, sidewalk chalk art show, Ribfest, hot air balloon lifts, State softball tournament featuring about 90 teams of girls. So, I was expecting a noisy hallway, being awakened by kids/people talking loudly.

NOT the case. Never heard a soul in the hallway. The hotel was very busy with the above business and wedding guests, but service was fantastic, the entire hotel was spotlessly clean, the outdoor patio was beautiful, even if the highway provided the background "music". It was a great place to relax between games at the ballpark.

Our room was very nice - loved the unusual layout of the king bed facing the patio doors to the balcony instead of butting up against an adjoining wall of the neighboring room. Flat screen TV was great - lots of channels and a printed channel guide next to it was helpful. Bed super comfy, towels fluffy, bathroom very clean.

We did not make use of the Bistro personally, but others in our group did and were pleased. I must admit, a continental breakfast would have been great, since we had to be at the ballpark early.

Pool is small, but the kids in it seemed to be enjoying themselves. Workout room looked nice, but didn't have time to make use of it.

The hotel is a little "off the beaten path" from the restaurants, stores, but having the Great Dane Brew Pub right next door was helpful.

Would recommend this hotel to friends/family and will stay again if traveling to Wausau.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintermom9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

First time we have stayed at the courtyard Wausau and we were quite impressed. The facility is very accomodating and absolutely spotless. We travel a great deal for both business and pleasure, normally satying in what would be categorized as higher end. This property fits into that description very well and the friendly staff is icing on the cake. The Bistro is a nice addition and there is amicro-brewery right next door for those that want more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMKDMK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,047 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
244 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wausau

Property: Courtyard Wausau
Address: 1000 S 22nd Ave, Wausau, WI 54401-5221
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wausau 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Courtyard
Wausau Marriott
Courtyard Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing