We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Wausau
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a decent place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a nicely kept hotel. Their Bistro service was great. You can see that this would be a nice place to stay in winter after skiing Rib Mountain nearby.
The only problem was that the restaurant next door had live outdoor music until 11 pm. Wish I had remembered my earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    56
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
23
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Really it's a nice place to stay in...?.I like it and I will come again..............the wi fi was fast.the location is perfect. The staff was very helpful and support.....................................

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nicemoodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff was very good, but overall my experience was average at best. Of course, there are limited options in central Wisconsin, so take that into consideration. Here is the good: they use fitted sheets (too many places have gone to all flat sheets and they don't fit and bunch up, so PLEASE hotels - use fitted sheets!), they have a very extensive list of TV channels (much better than the average Courtyard), the windows were large, clean, and they actually opened about 6 inches, and most importantly - they have an actual thermostat that works! I like it cold in my room - and you can actually control the temperature in the room, which is really nice. On the down side, the rooms are in need of updating - they still have that ugly dark green carpet that looks like it is from the 80's. The mirrored doors on the closet are from the same era. The dresser is that really low style that comes to about your knee cap - so besides looking horribly dated and ugly, it is very impractical. The vanity by the bathroom sink is tight, and they have it crammed with the coffee maker and accoutrements. Especially for women, there is much too little space on the vanity. The bedding is threadbare and had a grey tinge. The public areas in the hotel have been updated and are clean, but the rooms need some updating. Overall, for central Wisconsin it isn't bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhidorziHotelGroup, General Manager at Courtyard Wausau, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating so many details of our hotel. We rank in the top 2% of all Courtyards nationwide and are wholeheartedly committed to the satisfaction of our guests. In a few weeks, our guest rooms will receive a complete overhaul (vanities, carpeting, linens and all!) that will match the newness and bright décor of our lobby. Please come and stay with us again.

Dan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My family and I have season passes at Granite Peak and stay at the Courtyard 10 plus times a year. The staff is top notch, clean rooms, clean pool area, great breakfast area and just minutes from the hill. During my last stay there was a bowling convention staying on the 3rd floor, I was on the 2nd floor and not one time did I here a single foot step from the floor above me. Also there is a really good restaurant 50 yards from the hotel called The Great Dane.

Room Tip: They have rooms with balcony's and refrigerators also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GhidorziHotelGroup, General Manager at Courtyard Wausau, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for being such a loyal guest at our hotel and for highlighting so many of the wonderful aspects of staying with us. We will be glad to see you again next ski season, although the beautiful Wausau area has much to offer all year long!

Dan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked through Granite Peak and were very impressed at the newness and cleanliness of the facility. Our double-queen room was large and the beds were decent. Perfect hotel for our family ski weekend. Refrigerators are available in room.

Room Tip: We were at the end of a hall on the 2nd floor. It was a great, quiet location for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Newer hotel. Front desk friendly and informative. We were in town to ski, an exit away from Granite Peak.

Large rooms and comfy beds. Beds had lots of pillows. Indoor pool was on the small side and only one table with chairs. The lobby area had food, drinks and a small bar.

Great Dane restaurant within walking distance. Not far away there were a wide variety of dining options.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this Courtyard several times when traveling to Wausau to visit family. The staff is great and housekeeping is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and the bed is so comfortable. The pool and hot tub are small, yet clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
5.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wausau

Property: Courtyard Wausau
Address: 1000 South 22nd Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wausau 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Courtyard
Wausau Marriott
Courtyard Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing