We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business location”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good business location”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

close to freeways, nice and clean, quiet rooms, friendly staff.
In addition to the standard hot cookies at check in this site also offered chips and salsa. I'd stay again next time I'm in town.

Remember the theme song from Cheers?
"Sometimes you want to go
Where everybody knows your name
And they are always glad you came."

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank watergirl3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Watergirl3663,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us! The theme song to Cheers is a great way to describe us, because we truly are "always glad you came" to stay with us! :)

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Sarah Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    110
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
161
87
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The rooms in the Hampton are very, very nice. Had chips / salsa and fruit in the afternoon. Everyone working there was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank edpaytontulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Comfortable beds, appointed rooms, free breakfast and attentive staff .... not much else I can ask for

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank benne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Wausau on our way up north. The entire hotel is non-smoking which is awesome. We had reserved our room the day before and check in was a breeze. Bonnie was at the front desk and she put us in a room that met my Hilton Honors preferences. She also helped us find a restaurant to go to for dinner. The room was nicely appointed as was the bathroom. Our only issue was with the television. For some reason, the remote would turn it on but then you could never change the channel, adjust the volume or turn it off. I went to the front desk and asked Bonnie to put new batteries in the remote, thinking that was the problem. Bonnie accommodated but when I got back upstairs, the problem continued. Bonnie walked us through things to try and promised to come up after she checked a group of people in. Well, what she suggested worked! But she came up to check on us anyway. Bonnie was very attentive to our needs. In other words, Bonnie rocked!

The next morning, we had their hot breakfast. They had different hot item options (the menu changes daily) as well as the standard continental breakfast options. It was very good and certainly convenient. And their shower was HOT from the start and didn’t vary in temperature which was a nice surprise!

The hotel is right next to the freeway so if you don’t like car/truck noise, ask for a room on the back side. And while the bed was nice, the pillows were just ok. All in all, I would stay there again and wouldn’t hesitate recommending it to anyone else

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank espj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
dear espj,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn of Wausau during your recent visit to our area! We truly appreciate the opportunity to have assisted you. I will be forwarding your comments to the rest of the staff, since such positive words encourages them to work even harder to please our guests.

We hope you will return the next time you are in our area!

Sincerely,

Sarah Parker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I spent one night at the Hampton Inn in Wausau, WI and were very pleased with the our stay. Very Clean and a friendly staff from the front desk to the lady responsible for the free breakfast. Many good restaurants are close including Applebee's and Hudson's. They served chip and dip in the afternoon and and excellent free breakfast in the morning. We would definately stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank BankguyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear BankguyArkansas,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn of Wausau! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We truly strive to provide the best service, cleanest rooms, and warmest hospitality.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Sarah Parker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice hotel, updated within the last couple of years. Flat screens in all the rooms and a nice upgrade of desk and chair for those of us traveling on business. Hampton's have gotten a bit pricey, but they are always well kept. You know what you're going to get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerryq1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Jerryq1000,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn while in Wausau for business! We are so glad that you find our upgrades convenient. We try to maintain a consistant level of great service so each guest may have as wonderful of a stay as you did.

We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Sarah Parker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is extremely clean, updated, customer service great, kid friendly pool and nice breakfast bar selection. Highly recommend for families. great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alpenasandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear alpenasandi,

Thank you so much for staying at the Hampton Inn of Wausau with your family! It was our pleasure to provide you with accomodations.

Your comments are greatly appreciated, since we strive to provide the best service possible!

Sincerely,

Sarah Parker
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,057 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
244 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing