We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Pros
Easy location to find
Friendly front desk
Clean room
Comfortable beds
Great tv
Nice work area
Fridge
Microwave
Quiet

Cons
Small lobby
Found couple strands of hair around bathtub

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itrocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was one of our best experiences. We had a room on the first floor with a king bed. Room was like new in every way. Staff was very friendly. This will be a first choice stop when we are in the area.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hampton Inn is my hotel of choice when I am traveling on business, however the location in Wausau falls a little short of the standard’s Hampton Inn has set.
First the positives, the front desk staff was professional, the room was clean and well stocked with fresh linens and the gym was clean and the equipment was in good shape. There were a few minor disappointments to an otherwise nice stay. When I checked in I was told I could not use my AAA membership because they were fully booked (first time that has ever happened), the room was smaller than I am used to, the breakfast area was small and the cookie tray at the front desk was empty. Additionally, the front desk staff did not call and ask if my room was satisfactory (customary at other Hampton Inn’s). I still think Hampton Inn is a very good value for business travel and I will give this hotel another shot the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 6 times over the past 18 months, twice while traveling with my granddaughter and 4 in conjunciton with business trips. Each time I have arrived without my granddaughter the front desk staff inquire about her. The level of personalized attention rivals the high end of the Hilton chain. the rooms are always immaculate, the breakfast bar offers a wide variety and the pool and exercise areas are also extremely clean. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for comfort, clean, customer care with a economy bonus.

Room Tip: Excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alpenasandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Noisy little Hampton right on the major highway - if you do give it a chance be sure and reserve a room on the backside of the hotel to buffer some of this highway noise (unless you like it).
Service is very friendly but the hotel is very average for a Hampton. Rooms nicely appointed and standard.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipendulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Recently updated, the room was in excellent condition; however, someone forgot to design and put drawers for clothes in the room, and my family had to live out of suitcases for three days! This is a property that serves Granite Peak Ski Resort, and of course it was very busy over Presiden't Day Weekend 2012. So I guess I understand that there often was no place to sit and eat breakfast at their "complimentary" breakfast area, but it was still very annoying.

Having said all this, management offered to credit back the cost of one day's stay. So customer service gets an A+.

Room Tip: See if the room has drawers for clothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank checkmatemykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is a typical Hampton inn, clean and crisp looking. However, their front staff are remarkably pleasant and do everything to make you feel welcomed. I really appreciated the extra touch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mastrlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarparker6, Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Mastrlock,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us! We truly believe the "extra touch" can really make our guests feel more at home.

We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
253 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Wausau, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £76 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing