We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend ski getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhorn, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend ski getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My family of 4 really enjoyed our recent stay just before New Years. We made a reservation later than we should have and could only book a king and pull-out, but the staff later worked to accommodate us with 2 queens. The room was clean and there was a great selection for a hot breakfast before we hit the hills. Granite peak was only a 5 min. drive. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your stay! We are also glad they you were able to enjoy Granite Peak. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    105
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
154
83
23
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Hampton in Wausau in October 2012. As soon as we walked into the lobby, it appeared as if you were walking into someone's living room. The staff here had decorated the lobby for Halloween and it was obvious the care they had taken in doing so. It was very tastefully done.

In addition, cookies were at the front desk to greet you along with a very pleasant host to check you in. Also in the lobby, there was water with fresh lemons in a carafe, tortilla chips and salsa and multiple varieties of fresh coffee all day long. They had games laid out the lobby (chess for one), which I appreciated as well. This is not a hotel that was going to nickel-and-dime its guests to death and something that I, as a frequent traveler, so appreciate. Hospitality abounds here.

The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms, although small, had been remodeled. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. In addition, I always appreciate when there are extra blankets in the closet, which there were here, 1 for each bed.

There are not a lot of drawers, but for guests staying 1 or 2 nights, I felt it was fine because there is a fairly decent size closet to make up for the lack of drawer space.

The have a pool, hot tub, and workout room which I did not use.

A hot breakfast was included in the price of the room. Sorry I don't have time to review the breakfast, must check out of hotel now.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you giving us a great review during your stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable. We do hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very nice place to stay in Wausau WI. Nice exercise room and the free breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and well maintained. My only compliant was the noise level as my room was on the ground floor nearby the door - I think if you ask for a higher floor you'd be fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback. We value all our guests compliments and complaints. We apologize to hear about the noise issues. Please let us know next time your around and we will be able to put you else where!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We came up to Wausau for the Tomahawk Fall Ride, and the hotel was great, rooms were very nice, and beds were comfortable, the only thing bad about it was there was not a lot of drawers to put your clothes in, you had the night stand and a couple more drawers the same size of the night stand, there was a closet you could hang up a few things. The pool was small, but it was nice and warm and they had a lot of inflatable toys in the pool. The hot tub was nice and hot and it had a handicapped lift next to it. We did not get a chance to try the breakfast.

Room Tip: Hotel is located right next to freeway, so if you are worried about noise, get a room on opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Harleyrider2010,

Thank you for your feedback. We truly value our guests input. I hope you had a blast in Tomahawk during the fall ride. Hope you see you again in the future.

Nikki Moua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waupaca, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Enjoyed our stay with the Hampton Inn in Wausau. Front staff, breakfast staff and housekeeping very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the hot breakfast and the apples and lemon water in the evening. Appreciated the games to use in the lobby during the evening. Very clean hotel and rooms. Was impressed that they have a lift in the pool area for disabled. Used the business center, well stocked with note pads and pens. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Patricia M,

Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Nikki Moua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
252 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I travel pretty much nonstop hitting Diamond in stays, nights and points every year. This trip had 5 of us in a room bringing our daughter to college in Stevens Point. The Plover location was booked so we opted for Wausau and so glad we did. The check-in was smooth for my family even though I was not arriving until later that night. The property had ample parking and is located amongst businesses of all types. Even with the close proximity to the major highways, noise is not an issue.

This hotel has large rooms, much larger than the Plover Hampton Inn which is nice when we have an extra body for the floor.

The pool was very warm and welcoming and even had some toys for us big kids to play with. They may have been left by someone else but appeared to be part of the hotel. The hottub was also very nice and rewarding after a long day of travel, shopping or skiiing at nearby Rib Mountain.

The fitness center had newer equipment comparable to bigger chains such as Doubletree or Hilton. There was a nice selection available and in good working condition.

Lastly, the breakfast was as expected and well stocked even with our late visit to the breakfast area.

I think given future visits to the area to visit my daughter, we will choose this property over Plover/Stevens Point based on the room size alone. This was a great stay and represents the Hilton brand very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Lyle O,

Thank you for writing a great review about our Wausau Hampton Hotel. We love hearing from guests. I hope to see you in the near future. Have a wonderful rest of the week.

Nikki Moua
General Manager
Nikki.Moua@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
220 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 1 night here passing through Wausau. It was the perfect choice. Our room was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable. I have never had a bad night in a Hampton Inn. The bed is so comfortable. Our room was decorated in a nice modern way. The wi- fi worked perfect and the bathroom was large. We used the pool and it was warm and had many pool toys for the kids. We loved the breakfast as it had something for each of us. Waffles and sausage on the morning we were there. The servers in the breakfast room kept it clean and filled and they were both so pleasant. Would stay here again most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear 2gothere,

We loved hearing about your stay. Thank you for finding us on Trip Advisor! Have a great day.

Nikki Moua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing