We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights with HiltonHonors points and experienced wonderful service. My husband was having surgery at the Wausau Hospital and the staff was kind and accommodating. The room was nice and clean, and had a nice table. The only drawback was the room was very dry. This was our second stay at this property. The breakfast is very good, and they have coffee and water station and chips and salsa in the evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100nitesperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your honesty. Your honesty will help provide Hampton Inn in Wausau to find solutions to issues and drawbacks. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and everything went well with your husbands surgery. We hope to see you again, under different circumstances besides visisting the hospital, and have you enjoy your time in Wausau!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Front Desk Staff was Excellent..... Very helpful and pleasant....Very near Marshfield Clinic and Aspirus Wausaw Hospital as well as many fine Restaurant....Close to entrance to Highway 51.. and not to far from Downtown Wausaw shopping... I have alway's found the Hampton Inn Chain to be very constant with their standards... If you do alot of traveling You might want to join the Hiliton Honors ... It makes Check-in, and making Reservation Quite Easy....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleepyb3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon visiting the Wausau area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My family of 4 really enjoyed our recent stay just before New Years. We made a reservation later than we should have and could only book a king and pull-out, but the staff later worked to accommodate us with 2 queens. The room was clean and there was a great selection for a hot breakfast before we hit the hills. Granite peak was only a 5 min. drive. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accomodate your stay! We are also glad they you were able to enjoy Granite Peak. We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Hampton in Wausau in October 2012. As soon as we walked into the lobby, it appeared as if you were walking into someone's living room. The staff here had decorated the lobby for Halloween and it was obvious the care they had taken in doing so. It was very tastefully done.

In addition, cookies were at the front desk to greet you along with a very pleasant host to check you in. Also in the lobby, there was water with fresh lemons in a carafe, tortilla chips and salsa and multiple varieties of fresh coffee all day long. They had games laid out the lobby (chess for one), which I appreciated as well. This is not a hotel that was going to nickel-and-dime its guests to death and something that I, as a frequent traveler, so appreciate. Hospitality abounds here.

The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms, although small, had been remodeled. The bed was extremely comfortable with plenty of pillows. In addition, I always appreciate when there are extra blankets in the closet, which there were here, 1 for each bed.

There are not a lot of drawers, but for guests staying 1 or 2 nights, I felt it was fine because there is a fairly decent size closet to make up for the lack of drawer space.

The have a pool, hot tub, and workout room which I did not use.

A hot breakfast was included in the price of the room. Sorry I don't have time to review the breakfast, must check out of hotel now.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you giving us a great review during your stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable. We do hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very nice place to stay in Wausau WI. Nice exercise room and the free breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and well maintained. My only compliant was the noise level as my room was on the ground floor nearby the door - I think if you ask for a higher floor you'd be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback. We value all our guests compliments and complaints. We apologize to hear about the noise issues. Please let us know next time your around and we will be able to put you else where!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We came up to Wausau for the Tomahawk Fall Ride, and the hotel was great, rooms were very nice, and beds were comfortable, the only thing bad about it was there was not a lot of drawers to put your clothes in, you had the night stand and a couple more drawers the same size of the night stand, there was a closet you could hang up a few things. The pool was small, but it was nice and warm and they had a lot of inflatable toys in the pool. The hot tub was nice and hot and it had a handicapped lift next to it. We did not get a chance to try the breakfast.

Room Tip: Hotel is located right next to freeway, so if you are worried about noise, get a room on opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyrider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Harleyrider2010,

Thank you for your feedback. We truly value our guests input. I hope you had a blast in Tomahawk during the fall ride. Hope you see you again in the future.

Nikki Moua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Enjoyed our stay with the Hampton Inn in Wausau. Front staff, breakfast staff and housekeeping very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the hot breakfast and the apples and lemon water in the evening. Appreciated the games to use in the lobby during the evening. Very clean hotel and rooms. Was impressed that they have a lift in the pool area for disabled. Used the business center, well stocked with note pads and pens. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmoua, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Patricia M,

Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Nikki Moua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#2 of 11 in Wausau
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £79 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing