We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay for a Hampton Inn! Very underrated hotel!”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good stay for a Hampton Inn! Very underrated hotel!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I came here about a month ago for a family ski trip, and it was a great hotel! It is very close to downtown Wausau, the ski hills, and all of the restuarants!

Pros:
1. Great hotel for skiing or for any fun visit.
2. Great pool and hot tub. Unlike other hotels, the pool water never gets too cold.
3. All of the ski hills, popular restaurants including Buffalo Wild Wings, and the downtown area are all within a half mile of the hotel.
4. The exits to the highway are literally 10 seconds away from the hotel.
5. They have a great Breakfast selection that tastes really good.
6. My room, which was room #228 was very clean and had a big armour that we could put our clothes, snacks, and other stuff in!
7. Big TV's in the breakfast lounge area which is right when you walk in.
8. Staff are very nice.
9. Great Beds.
10. Clean bathrooms.
11. Hotel is very modernized
12. Very excellent value! You'll get a bargain if you stay here compared to other hotels!

Cons:
1. Not a whole lot of parking space. If you are taking your car out to ski or somewhere for a few hours, there's no guarntee you'll get a good parking spot.
2. Most rooms have only 1 king size bed. So if you are satying with a family/group of 5 or more, you may want to get 2 rooms.
3. No safe anywhere in the room.

Despite those 3 cons, I had a great stay and will try to stay here again if I ever come back to this area.

Room Tip: There are only 3 Floors, and each of them have rooms. So it's unpredictable of what floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us with your family! Yes, our parking lot does get busy and apologize for any inconvienieces. As well, if you are looking for a safe in the future, please ask the front desk. There are safe deposit boxes located behind the front desk area that will be kept locked and you will receive the 2nd key to the 2 part lock. Tho, our boxes are about 2 feet long, 3 inches deep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    108
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
155
85
24
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I booked this room for last night because a close family member was hospitalized nearby. After spending all day at the hospital, we realized the situation was more serious than we originally thought. When I explained the situation to the desk clerk and asked about room availability for tonight, the desk clerk said the hotel was booked, but a king room with whirlpool was available....at the normal price (read: not cheap). The room was clean, but the clientele across the hall decided to carry on high-volume conversations in the hall both night and morning. Oh, and after promising my four year old that if he was good at the hospital all day, he could swim in the pool this morning, we learned that the pool is closed because someone vomited. Sometimes you pay more to get more, but I am underwhelmed.
And for all the signage about environmental consciousness, I found the plethora of disposable breakfast ware somewhat ironic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
ladydoc2006,
We apologize for the inconvieniences during your stay. Please feel free to call Pa at (715) 848-9700 to discuss any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a great first visit in Wausau and picked the Hampton Inn because of the good reviews on this site and the price point. We were overall very satisfied. We asked for a hotel on the quiet side of the building but the loud noises in the hotel didn't come from the highway, they came from teenagers going from room to room visiting with eachother. Perhaps they should have had all people from the bowling group on one wing of one floor so they wouldn't disturb other non-bowling groups. But the second night was quieter, so that was appreciated.
The breakfast is so-so, it's a free hotel breakfast after all. I really appreciated the fresh cut fruit, that made it a good breakfast for me.
Room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable.
We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be kept away from large groups of people staying in multiple rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apalogize for any noise disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast selection and our rooms. We will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, FL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our visit to this Hampton Inn was special! From beginning to end the staff was delightful! Our Room # 128 was immaculate with all the furniture and appliances one could want. The breakfast was excellent, the candy container at the front desk stayed full, and there was a steady supply of chips & salsa in the lobby/breakfast area which we thought would diminish or end with the football weekend but continued during our stay. The decor in the lobby/breakfast area was very pleasing to the eye and to the heart. Too much? I don't know, but it really made you feel good to be there! The lobby was decorated very nicely for the Autumn/Halloween season. There was a "rubber ducky" in our bathroom, so we asked the asked the lady at the front desk about it, and she responded by pulling out a box of them and saying we could help ourselves. We did, and I now have a "lifeguard duck" and a "chef duck" looking at me from beneath my monitor, which is a reminder of my swimming and cooking capabilities, not to mention this wonderful Happy Hampton Inn! This Hampton Inn was very close to all the sites from the Wausau of my youth, and I highly recommend this Hampton Inn to you!!!

Room Tip: Our reservation asked for a ground floor room near the breakfast area, and we were assigned to Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and happy that you have experienced great service with your stay! Thank you for recommending the Hampton Inn! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Continental breakfast was very good. The pool was nice with a toybox full of pool toys for the kids, although there seemed to be too much chlorine in the water. Overall a very nice hotel convenient to Granite Peak ski area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacks3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We do apalogize about the pool area but am glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay and the accomadations we had to offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My family were there for a short stay, but certainly enjoyed our time there. It was during the busy ski season, but we were just there to spend the night. We used the pool and had the breakfast. I used the fitness center, too. I always love the complimentary coffee at all hours and the kids even had some hot chocolate! I would have gave it an excellent rating if they didn't have hardwood floors in the lobby and elevator, which doesn't work too well with the combination of pool traffic and snowy winters. I was also somewhat disappointed that the stairway wasn't close to the elevator since the hotel was busy. Despite these minor problems, it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Hampton Inns are awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for all your feedback. Yes it gets very busy here around this time of year, even tho with all that was going on in the hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is an Excellent hotel--Beds were very comfortable, room was very clean, furnishings were stylish and new. We were looking for a reasonable place close to the Granite Peak ski area. I was pleasantly surprised to find this hotel was so nice because the prices were very reasonable plus it came with a nice free breakfast which is great when you are traveling with kids--nothing over the top but plenty to fill you up--two hot items, plus waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc. The only minor negative flaw is a lack of seating near the breakfast area. It had a convenient location just a few miles from the ski area and lots of choices for eating and shopping nearby as well too. This will definitely be my hotel for future trips to Wausau.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliab26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback! Glad to hear that you will be visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing