We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor shopper”
Review of Hampton Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wausau
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor shopper”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Approaching Wasau (or however its spelled) we chose this hotel because of its high rankings and ease of parking for my trailer and atv vs. #2 in town. Also Hampton Inn had a better breakfast set up than the #2- a downtown location. I visited both before I checked in, both nice hotels. Wausau is a beautiful area! We ended up renting 2 rooms which the desk was able to put directly across from each other. The hotel is 6 minutes parking lot to parking lot to Granite Peak ski area. We could even sorta see the fireworks from our room new years eve! The elevator did quit working during check out new years day but was quickly fixed before noon. Also, Jessica at front desk was GREAT in allowing my family some flexibility in watching Gator Bowl in lobby-our nephew is QB for Georgia and I screwed up my timing to next stop at Eagle River TV set. Thanks Jessica for great communication and common sense!

Room Tip: Visit downtown!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for a great review and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    108
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
155
85
24
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My work takes me to Wausau about two or three nights a month, and this hotel is the one that wins most often.

Clean, comfortable, and from time to time the Manager surprises us with little events, treats in the Lobby. It's kind nice to sample a cold Wisconsin MicroBrew after a long day of work- on the house.

The breakfast hostess and Front Desk staff are always friendly and pleasant.

The hotel is in an area where there's a lot of new restaurants popping up. If you're a walker, all are within a short walking distance....or if you aren't, they're just around the corner....a four minute drive.

I've spent many, many nights here and have never been disappointed. Book early, they fill often.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for a great review and happy that we able to accomodate you during your business travels! We hope you are able to enjoy Wausau without any worries of work in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great hotel in a convenient location. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms. Only issue was frosty windows but it was very cold the couple nights we spent there, just turned up the heat. Nice pool and hot tub. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drurybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for a great review! We are glad t hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hampton in Wausau is very conveniently located near Granite Peak. The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is wonderful (they even pack breakfasts to go if you are too busy to eat there). There are snacks provided later in the day too! The employees are kind, polite, helpful and very courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for a great reveiw and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! Come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfect location for skiing at Granite Peak. Nice room, good breakfast and very nice staff. Price and location cant be beat. Plenty of restaurants close by and only a five minute drive to Granite Peak for great skiing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim2553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for a great feedback and glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us! Come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Quality and service are excellent. Great breakfast and snacks. Love the "bags to go"!!! Entire hotel was Very well kept. The staff were so nice. The hotel service staff who cleaned the rooms were always friendly and did a wonderful job. We stayed two nights and when they cleaned they arranged and set up the kids stuffed animals on the beds - it was really cool. Superior price!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for a great review! Here at the Hampton Inn in Wausau, all the staff always strive for excellence! We will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great hotel with nice staff. Only problem being that the hotel rooms are overheated and thus the air becomes very dry in Winter and it is difficult to get the temperature down ( to say 67F) via the room thermostat- without opening the window or using the A/C!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa L, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your reveiw and feedback. I do apologize about the incovinience of the rooms. Please ask the front desk next time your in town for a fan instead of using the A/C. We are glad to hear that you have liked your stay and will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wausau

Property: Hampton Inn Wausau
Address: 615 South 24th Avenue, Wausau, WI 54401-5226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn of Wausau is a 100% smoke-free hotel, placed right in the heart of Wisconsin. We are located near several restaurants and only 10 minutes from downtown. While staying with us you will received a complimentary hot breakfast each morning, access to our indoor pool and whirlpool, our 24 hour business center and our 24 hour fitness center. We provide friendly service, clean rooms and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wausau Hotel Wausau
Wausau Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing