We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and a good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Tres Hermanos

Taqueria Tres Hermanos
Ranked #19 of 159 Restaurants in Wausau
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Yes, check out their reviews by customers on UrbanSpoon. it truly is a must add, although small and independent.
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food and a good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We love Mexican food and are spoiled because we live in Chicago which is full of wonderful Mexican restaurants at many price points. This family run store front sit down serves very good food, well prepared at a very fare price point. Follow the server’s suggestions and you’ll have a good meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hate2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Wausau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

It's a small, "hole-in-the-wall" place, off the beaten path, but so worth the trip.
Don't expect any sort of atmosphere, but definitely expect the best authentic, delicious Mexican food in Wausau.

All the meals are served with fresh tortilla chips and two types of salsa. One is tomato based, and the other seems to be similar to guacamole. I was completely won over by the tasty chorizo tacos. Definitely order your food Mexican style if you enjoy onion and cilantro. The tacos are also served with a radish, limes, and roasted jalapenos and green onions. I am stuffed after two tacos.

Their prices also cannot be beat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank COKO2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Autentico! Great food, decent prices, and fast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I travel a lot and everywhere I go I try the local Mexican restaurants and I have many friends from Mexico so I know when the food is authentic or not and Taqueria Tres Hermanos is up there with THE best. Great selection on the menu=guaranteed you will find something you will like. The full line up of meat to have with tacos, sopes, tortas, enchiladas etc: al pastor, lengua, tripa, carne asada, cecina, pollo, carnitas, cabeza (and lots more!) Aguas frescas, pastel de tres leches, jarritos and honduran sodas too I think. Great salsas/food, decent prices, and fast! Complete with the station on a Telenovela, Comedy program or Soccer game, and a jukebox option :) Also, a great, convenient location. They're also really great about doing take out orders, like if you're on the road and call ahead. As you can tell, I'm a regular :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 286MissE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in Wausau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I read a couple of reviews for Tres Hermanos and thought I'd give it a try. I had chopped steak that was very tasty, spicy, with some of the best pinto beans I've ever had. The service was quick and friendly and the staff are conversant in both Spanish and English.
I will be making this a regular stop whenever I return to Wausau.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VTCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Do "really good" Mexican restaurants go with the overall Wausau, Wisconsin experience? Well it does now! We were in town at the end of June and were told this place was a must try. The restaurant is small but the service was above average and the food came out quickly. The food was "heavenly" and to anyones taste nor matter North, South, East or West with your other Mexican food experience this place turns out good food. All nine of us had a great dish and the menu is quite varied. We not only ate their once but twice!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mocassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Tres Hermanos also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Tres Hermanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing