We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of The Hills

The Hills
Ranked #115 of 162 Restaurants in Wausau
Price range: US$9 - US$33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The food was excellent. We had a new server but she tried very hard and did not make any mistakes. Very nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Went here on the advice of a Wausau friend. He warned us the service may not be the best, but the food is great. My friend was right and wrong. Service was ok - waitress walked around in a shirt that was dirty. She was ok, but for the prices one would expect more. My friend was wrong about the food. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Had haddock - - a little dry and quite bland. Finally, a strange atmosphere. The place is a country club, but it's a public restaurant. Is it a private club or not? I might go back, but have no driving desire to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CabinBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fish fry and breakfast in town”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Even though The Hills is open Wednesday through Sunday, our two favorite meals are the Sunday breakfast and the Friday night fish fry. I can't honestly rate the other nights as we usually eat out only once or at most, twice a week. Therefore, since these two days are my favorites, we tend to always pick The Hills on these days. The fish is excellent, panko breaded being our favorite as well as the perch. The haddock is also excellent. Unbelievably, the sides are unusual and all are excellent. I have a hard time choosing which one I want. The risotto, saffron rice, garlic mashed potatoes, fresh vegetables and asparagus are terrific. Even the coleslaw is as tasty as it gets. Service ranges from good to excellent. Very good selection of wine and spirits.
Beautiful scenery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alohagal1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great dining experience!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Absolutely great place to dine. Chef Dan is making wonderful dishes. The staff is top notch and go the extra mile to make your experience enjoyable! The changes made are remarkable,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, WI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The HIlls has a new chef who started last spring. His menu is excellent, food is very high quality. Really nice atmostpher sitting and overlooking the golf course.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lWIuckymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing