We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food, Adorable Decor!”

Sixth Street Filling Station
Ranked #98 of 160 Restaurants in Wausau
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small eclectic cafe-style neighborhood restaurant serving great breakfast and lunch options. Casual dress always welcome. Self seating. Reservations of seven (7) or more are appreciated.
Summit Lake WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Adorable Decor!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My friends and I enjoyed the grilled cheese/tomato sandwich on home made whole wheat bread, with the chicken and dumpling soup. Cute place, good service, delicious food and trivia to pursue, tableside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good soup/service lacking.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My mother and I stopped by for lunch on a friday afternoon. I ordered the chicken dumpling soup & a whole wheat grilled cheese sandwich. My mom ordered the italian wedding soup & chicken salad sandwich. This place give you a playing card and has you sit down and they will bring you your food. We sat down after being given the card and began talking. A female server from the back came to our table and told us that you are supposed to wait at the counter for your drinks and then can be seated, we apologized and said that we didn't know and carried on with our conversation. Minutes later the same server came with our food - looked delicious, however they brought my mom out a grilled cheese instead of her sandwich. My mom told the server and the server took the sandwich and went back to the kitchen. After a few minutes she came back to our table with the correct sandwich, and then told us it would be $1.50 more. We explained that we had told the cashier we ordered the chicken sandwich in the first place - she immediately said "I know, but she told me grilled cheese. You can pay us $1.50 when you are finished eating." I was turned off by her attitude and her admitting their mistake, but still making us pay the difference. The cashier even came back to our table and apologized for the mistake. I've visited in the past and have never had any big issues. I sure hope they hire workers with better customer service skills in the future. It's a shame - they have pretty good food, but need a little improvement socially.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sma2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SixthStreet, Owner at Sixth Street Filling Station, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
We are sorry that you experienced poor customer service skills from the staff hired by the previous owner. We purchased the Sixth Street Filling Station and opened the doors on September 1, 2015. Please try us again as we are proud of our new menu and all of our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ate here several times....good homemade soup....Unique specials.......Fun place to take visitors.....Maybe not enough of a portion for the male appetite

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pospychala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sixth Street Filling Station also viewed

 

Been to Sixth Street Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing