We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great hotel!!
Comfy beds, very nice room.
Clean, although our room had only a shower it was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is a great place to stop on your way North. The location is a tiny bit off the interstate but well worth the few minutes extra to reach location. Great coffee pastry shop around corner and lots of shopping nearby. Parking free and we had a truck with motorcycle trailer and the front desk was very accommodating. Bar/restaurant on site, we did not use. Rooms super clean and dark out curtains so you can sleep in a bit. Beds are so comfortable! Clean room with nice shower, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Fourth floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FastGirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We really appreciate you staying with us! Look forward to your return trip! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've stayed here numerous times with our dogs. Nice hotel, good location. Will continue to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the hotel and downtown amenties. I will share your comments with the staff, they work very hard to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We hope you will return and continue to enjoy our great downtown! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

In Wasau area for a wedding out in Colby, so wanted a hotel in Wausau to be closer to activities and shopping. We stayed in one of the whirlpool suites at the Jefferson over Christmas 2010 and loved it. Stayed again in August, and again, a beautiful property in an unexpected locale. The rooms are large and the beds lavishly appointed. The front desk staff were extremely hospitable-an inquiry regarding the location of the nearest drugstore resulted in a saved trip when we were given replacements for our forgotten toothbrushes. The bar in the the City Grill is fantastic-get the Bloody Mary with Absolut Pepper Vodka-two of those with a Honey Weiss back and you're ready for any wedding.

Very quiet rooms, quality TV station selection, and flawless decor. In terms of the bathroom, we will probably request non-handicap access in the future...the room is brought down by the safety features in comparison with our whirlpool room. One common complaint of all bathroom in the rooms...the light bulbs are too dim, and in the shower, the water pressure is much too weak. The shower mechanism in our most recent room was a little bizarre too...I had a difficult time figuring out how to turn it on. These are minor quibbles though. This is a small boutique hotel chain that clearly knows the priorities. If you're missing the convenience and safety of staying downtown in order to save $10-$20 per night, pony up and spring for the Jefferson...it's truly a spectacular place.

Room Tip: Go directly to their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, we are hopeful you will be able to come back to the area for other events, I think you would really enjoy this weekends Art Festival activites, we have 75 booths downtown an additional venue at Marathon Park and activites at Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Muesum a true gem of our city. Look forward to having you back at the Inn. All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We loved the Jefferson Street Inn. It was fantastic in every way. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The onsite restaurant was very good. It's located close to the downtown area which makes it very convenient for shopping, etc. It was a great place. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband, myself, and our dog stayed at this hotel on Saturday August 6th. Our room was very clean and was nice. I liked the fact that they had Aveda products in the room. It's always nice when a nice hotel accepts dogs. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovewarmerweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I dare you to find a nicer, cleaner (or friendlier) hotel than this! Even has a free washer/dryer and detergent for guests! We stayed in a kitchenette suite for 6 nights and were SO comfortable. The huge whirlpool tub and Aveda bath salts were a pleasure. Even the elevator music is nicer than usual. We saw them repairing dings in the doors - how often do you see someone do that? We love this place and will always stay here when in Wausau. You can walk to the whole downtown area from there, but you can't hear anything in the rooms, they are that quiet. And Cory is a super manager!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments ! Look forward to having you back! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
253 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £113 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing