We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jefferson Street Inn- so refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed in Wausau this past August on business- 1 night that is it. It was so lovely. It is attached to a really neat mini-mall and around the corner (one block) there are great places to have a drink and a meal. There was a festival going on in a really nice little park across the street from the pub I ate in (sorry can't remember the name). I had a wonderful time and the people of Wisconsin are as nice as they can be- everyone you meet says hello. The following morning I attended my conference and talked to several other folks that opted for the chain hotels (Hampton, Marriott, etc) and they all had borning meals and did nothing all evening long. I on the otherhand attended a street festival, a concert, and ate at a local pub..I could see the envy in their eyes. Please stay, please support local business, this place is great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammytull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

As father of the bride I had my doubts, but the excellent staff and management went all out to please -not only me - but each and every one of our guests!

My daughter had her fairytale wedding and mom & dad live happily ever after!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YooperJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience!
We are delighted you all had a good time! It’s always a father’s dream to give his daughter a fairytale wedding! Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Inn was just right for my one night stay, but it would work well for an longer stay as well. I took advantage of one of the Ultimate suites that had a living area, bedroom and kitchenette. It also had a large bathroom with a double steam shower (no tub). It was very quiet, in excellent condition and very clean. The checkin staff was friendly and they had the reservation & keys all ready. Only downside is the parking (there was construction & a reception so had to park across the street in the ramp). The restaurant was good, but not great. It was a Sunday, so they had a pared down menu. Nice wine list though. Breakfast was included (continental). Coffee was weak unfortunately.

Room Tip: The Ultimate suites have the corner turret views. Nice discount with your AARP card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeqonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience! We strive to meet and exceed our guest’s experiences.
We hope you will be able to return to the Inn to enjoy area again. All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

In2011 This was a great place to stay,this year 2012 I was there with my family,not so great. I called a couple of weeks ahead to reserve a room was quoted a price of $89. per night (5 nights)/When we got there after a 10 hour drive,the front desk person said it would be $99. per night,that we should never have been given a quote over the phone.NO EXCEPTIONS! She was not very professional about it,simply rude.If it had not been so late,and we had not been so tired of driving(with a disabled husband) we would have left and gone to The Hampton Inn.We agreed to the price and then were taken to a room on the top floor with only a shower,no bathtub,even though I had requsted a room with a tub,so we had to go back down to the front desk and change that(room keys,etc).We were then given a room next to the elevator so all week we got to hear everyone who came and went.At one point a group of young children had a great time running up and down the hall,and riding the elevator up and down.The room was not cleaned daily,even though we were out every morning by 8:30 and not back until at least 2:00 or 3:00.as we were visiting family,and doing things around town.Several days we had to call for fresh towels because the room had not been cleaned,wet towels on bathroom floor,beds not made,no shampoo(although once they did leave us 4 lotions). The front desk clerks were never friendly,no hellos or have a nice day as we came and went.We were mostly just ignored.When I did ask I was told very abruptly that all problems were due to new management.We have enjoyed staying here in the past,as we go to Wausau every summer,and we do like being in the center of town.Next year I believe we will be staying at the Hampton,have to do a little more driving while we are there .but at least we won't have to pay to park. We were really disapointed in the Jefferson this year,too bad it used to be such a nice place with wonderful friendly employees.

Room Tip: Make sure you have them email you price quote if you book over the phone. specify that you want a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrgmawoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience! We are disappointed to say the least that we did not meet your expectations.

As you may or may not know I don’t have a way to contact you other than through this communication. If you would call, I would be happy to discuss what happened and how we may resolve this situation. I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Service is friendly and responsive. Conference rooms are well lit and arranged well. Rooms are quiet and comfortable with good amenities, even in standard rooms. Restaurant and bar are very good. Within walking distance of mall and good restaurants. Have a nice fitness room. I also appreciate that the floors are secure, including elevators.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay! We appreciated your comments and look forward to you staying in the future.
All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Located just off the town square, this place offers large, quiet rooms and friendly service. The wife & I have stayed here twice in the past year. Wausau makes for a convenient overnight stop if you're traveling to or from the far northern reaches of Wisco or the U.P. There's a decent bar across the street where one can grab a bite and maybe even hear live music.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jqshotcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay!
We appreciated your feedback.
Look forward to you staying in the future.
All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We have stayed there twice now and both times they have been very helpful and friendly. It is a very relaxed and accomodating. We got some free breakfasts which were continental, but everything you could think of. They have a large washer and dryer which is very good when staying for a few days, and the swimming pool is small but great for learners like us. Thanks Jefferson we enjoy coming to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Jefferson Street Inn!
Your comments are an important part of our continued training program and focus, to insure we are meeting and exceeding our guest’s experience!

We are looking forward to your return visit.

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
46 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
253 reviews
6.7 mi away
Grand Lodge Waterpark Resort
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £113 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing