We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Don't let the name fool you because you don't recognize it. This place is better than a chain-name hotel. Pros: central downtown location; hotel is connected to shops and across the street from a mall and other boutique shops; restaurant in hotel is very good (see review for City Grill); indoor bridge connects hotel to parking garage across street; Wi-Fi in hotel worked amazing; room was huge, clean and bed was super comfortable; didn't hear a door slam, people talking, adjacent rooms' TV's, toilets or running water; it's as if I had the entire floor to myself; Aveda toiletries; great work space; mini bar with fridge; should I keep going? Reasonably priced, thick towels, light but pressurized shower; great security. I felt pampered. Cons: only one night stay for business!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Jefferson Street Inn. My first two visits were great, my third visit was ok, but this last visit was a little disappointing. It was obvious to me that the hotel is under new ownership, which was confirmed by hotel staff. The stairway looked as though it had not been vacuumed in a month, there was garbage left in the hallway during my entire visit. I even witnessed staff walk right by it and not take the time to pick it up and through it away, our hotel sheets were so rough they felt like sandpaper, and the breakfast that was offered was ridiculous. In years past they offered breakfast items such as eggs, sausage, french toast, etc. This year the offerings consisted of small boxes of cold cereal, fruit and a few other items. It also was not properly staffed. I had to hunt down someone for a simple glass of water. The overall stay wasn't terrible, but it wasn't nearly as nice and clean has it had been with the previous owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments with the entire staff to insure we are meeting guest’s expectations.

We did change our breakfast offering in the last 24 months to a continental breakfast, we will review the items and choices and staffing levels to insure items meet a variety of needs.

The hotel owner’s ship or management has remained the same; however we will review business practices to insure we are exceeding guest expectations.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain our trust. All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel is accessable to many shops and restaurants without leaving the building. Great on those winter days. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff very friendly.
The New City Grill restaurant is excellent and located in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulpwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments.
Look forward to you returning to the Jefferson Street Inn! Thank you, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just spent Fri-Sun here at Jefferson Street Inn. Rooms are comfortable, newer and clean; staff very friendly and helpful; you can drive your car or take the Inn's shuttle to Rib Mountain State Park (Granite Peak Skiing, Nine Mile Park). Breakfast offered with the rooms is serviceable - mostly continental with yogurt, bagels, cereal, breads, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad and juice - and oatmeal. But no bacon sausage egg spread. Nice pool and hot tub room. City Grill food surprisingly good. Coffee and tea in the rooms, with fridge and microwave, helpful for families.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep later, ask for rooms away from the south tower elevator (where the ice machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citykir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have stayed at theJefferson Inn twice now and this will be our first choice again when returning to the Wausau area. It is a very classy place, clean and comfortable. The restaurant inside the hotel is a great place to eat which makes it real convenient. There are some other choices down the street. There is a mall entrance right next to the hotel parking area which is great. Downtown Wasau has undergone a lot of renovation and it has become a very quaint inviting area,
I have been able to get good room rates negotiating online.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments. We have added cooking items to all the suites with kitchen equipment, good suggestion!
Look forward to you returning to the Jefferson Street Inn! Thank you, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in the downtown area of Wausau. It is 10 minutes from skiing at Granite Peak. If you aren't skiing, you can walk to the shopping mall across the street, and many other little shops attached to the hotel and in the downtown area. If you are staying in a room with a kitchen, they do have pots and pans and service for 4 on utensils, dishes and glasses, but no mixing bowls, measuring spoons, cups or other handy serveware. The main elevator is very slow. And, if you are traveling with kids like we were, the pool is very, very small. We would stay here again, as we do know what to expect.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a room with a kitchen, and plan to use it, it lacks mixing bowls, measuring cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyof5RFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Traveling across country to relocate to Wausau without permanent housing plans can be a bit daunting. But landing at the Jefferson St. Inn was a perfect place to call home until we found one in our new city! Located in the heart of downtown Wausau, we couldn't have asked for a better place to explore the city from...the front desk staff was exceptional! Both Barb & Melissa went above & beyond to help us get acquainted and familiar with Wausau. We felt pampered and taken care of at the Jefferson St. Inn. What a great introduction to our new home!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniJo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments. Look forward to you returning to the Jefferson Street Inn! Thank you, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £118 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing