We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jefferson Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Wausau(Wausau)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites Wausau(Wausau)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stewart Inn(Wausau)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveller rating
790
287
74
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
790
287
74
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity grillaveda productsluxury suitewithin walking distancemini barparking rampgreat restaurantheart of downtownwedding receptionexcellent hotelcontinental breakfastplace to staybusiness tripnice roomstarbucks coffeecomfortable roomsenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We just went to Wausau for a few nights over Spring Break. We had a very relaxing stay and the Jefferson Street Inn is a prime location to everything we needed (Granite Peak, shopping and food). The hotel staff was personable and friendly and the rooms were very clean and spacious. We did stay in a fireplace suite, which exceeded its expectations. There is a basic complimentary breakfast (cereal, yogurt, some bagels, oatmeal) but I did not know it was included so not fancy, but a definite little perk! They also have a very good restaurant attached (The New City Grill) with a vast menu. We would definitely go back and stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam-859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the area and all that downtown offers!

Look forward to you returning to the Jefferson Street Inn! Thank you, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Don't let the name fool you because you don't recognize it. This place is better than a chain-name hotel. Pros: central downtown location; hotel is connected to shops and across the street from a mall and other boutique shops; restaurant in hotel is very good (see review for City Grill); indoor bridge connects hotel to parking garage across street; Wi-Fi in hotel worked amazing; room was huge, clean and bed was super comfortable; didn't hear a door slam, people talking, adjacent rooms' TV's, toilets or running water; it's as if I had the entire floor to myself; Aveda toiletries; great work space; mini bar with fridge; should I keep going? Reasonably priced, thick towels, light but pressurized shower; great security. I felt pampered. Cons: only one night stay for business!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Jefferson Street Inn. My first two visits were great, my third visit was ok, but this last visit was a little disappointing. It was obvious to me that the hotel is under new ownership, which was confirmed by hotel staff. The stairway looked as though it had not been vacuumed in a month, there was garbage left in the hallway during my entire visit. I even witnessed staff walk right by it and not take the time to pick it up and through it away, our hotel sheets were so rough they felt like sandpaper, and the breakfast that was offered was ridiculous. In years past they offered breakfast items such as eggs, sausage, french toast, etc. This year the offerings consisted of small boxes of cold cereal, fruit and a few other items. It also was not properly staffed. I had to hunt down someone for a simple glass of water. The overall stay wasn't terrible, but it wasn't nearly as nice and clean has it had been with the previous owners.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We will review your comments with the entire staff to insure we are meeting guest’s expectations.

We did change our breakfast offering in the last 24 months to a continental breakfast, we will review the items and choices and staffing levels to insure items meet a variety of needs.

The hotel owner’s ship or management has remained the same; however we will review business practices to insure we are exceeding guest expectations.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain our trust. All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel is accessable to many shops and restaurants without leaving the building. Great on those winter days. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff very friendly.
The New City Grill restaurant is excellent and located in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulpwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we appreciate your comments.
Look forward to you returning to the Jefferson Street Inn! Thank you, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just spent Fri-Sun here at Jefferson Street Inn. Rooms are comfortable, newer and clean; staff very friendly and helpful; you can drive your car or take the Inn's shuttle to Rib Mountain State Park (Granite Peak Skiing, Nine Mile Park). Breakfast offered with the rooms is serviceable - mostly continental with yogurt, bagels, cereal, breads, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad and juice - and oatmeal. But no bacon sausage egg spread. Nice pool and hot tub room. City Grill food surprisingly good. Coffee and tea in the rooms, with fridge and microwave, helpful for families.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep later, ask for rooms away from the south tower elevator (where the ice machine is). If you want to check out later, a minimal fee ($10) buys you three more hours.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citykir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews