We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet , adult friendly, modern, clean rooms and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was impressive from the start. Helpful staff, clean , large rooms. I wish I had this room for my birthday instead of the pathetic 4 seasons in Chicago which disappointed in a big way.

This hotel was quiet and not full of rowdy loud kids.

Black out curtains were a plus. No bathtubs,....".

Walking distance to an indoor mall.

I'm very happy to have stayed here

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeanimaladvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Look forward to your return visit! All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,029 - 1,035 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a wonderful trip to Door County and staying at a variety of hotels along the way- we decided to make one last stop on the way home- In Wausau of all places!! We half chuckled as made our way to town wondering if we should just finish the trip home to Minneapolis! Boy- we were glad we decided to stop- We fell in love with the Hotel, Riverwalk and 400 Block Square - we are definitely planning to return. The hotel staff were extremely helpful from the beginning- we arrived early with our tow small dogs- we were directed to parking and walking options. Later in the evening the hostess at the Grill was very helpful in getting our order together to dine in our room. This hotel is A+ the rooms are huge & clean, the pillows are extreme- My only complaint is the 30.00 pet charge ( per pet) - most hotels charge a flat fee and usually well under the 30.00.
Despite the fees- we were very impressed and happy we were able to stay at a nice place along with our well behaved dogs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding dinner/dance at the same facility. We were quite pleasantly surprised at the boutique feel to this downtown hotel. The City Grill and Bar, which is part of the inn, had great drinks and good food. Parking was good even though this inn is located right in the downtown area. We stayed an extra day and found many interesting
places right within walking distance.
The only negative thing which I have to say is that it was hard to understand the lady who checked us in. I felt she could have given us a better orientation to the hotel, too. My husband
said that later when he asked her a few questions about parking and where to have breakfast she
was quite helpful.
We travel often and attended the wedding with our children, who often travel for business. All of us agreed that this hotel was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GB2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent the weekend with 3 other couples for a getaway. It is located downtown which makes it easy to see the area on foot. Our rooms were very nice. The beds were comfortable, with more than enough pillows. Very little noise was heard from the neighboring rooms. The room décor was very nice, soft warm colors. The bathroom was spacious. We would definitely stay again. The one thing that needs improvement was the "continental breakfast". Very few items were available, and they ran out of oatmeal and hard boiled eggs on Sunday. Maybe an extra elevator would be nice too. Only had one for everyone to use. The cleaning staff was very nice and accommodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent the weekend in Wausau for my dads 70th birthday. I grew up here and only have stayed at b&b's but when my brother told me about the Jefferson Street Inn and how nice it was we decided to give it a try. Located in the heart of everything, and Wausau's resurgent downtown the JSI is the only place to stay. Great rooms, beds, a cool restaurant bar attached to it and you can walk directly into Washington Square so when the weather turns you don't have to be out in it. The hotel also has covered parking with a sky walk so a big plus. Friendly staff, great coffee station and a good vibe makes this this the only place to stay in my childhood town. I'm actually quite surprised Wausau has really turned into a charming little midwestern town with plenty of parks, activities and of course bars, theres always something to do downtown!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! You made the room attendants day, just by saying thank you for this gesture of service, we really do focus on customer service!

We look forward to you retuning to the Jefferson Street Inn!

Take care, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was traveling for business to Wausau and stayed at Jefferson Street Inn. It was a great experience! The rooms are very nice and spacious with great beds!

On my second day, I returned to the room and found a note from the housekeeping staff that she had noticed my IPad cord was a bit worn (plastic broken off, etc.) so she pulled one out of lost and found. She sanitized it and left it for me! This was way above and beyond my expectations!

If you are in Wausau, please stay at the Jefferson Street Inn! It is a great place to stay when visiting that great city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMarieB1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The JEFFERSON INN is the only place to stay in Wausau. Beautiful rooms, breakfast included, pool, gym, walking distance to downtown area and river-what more could you want?
The restaurant is very good as well. Lively bar scene at night.

Room Tip: King suites are extra nice and have a small kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenbdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wausau
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#9 of 11 in Wausau
255 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £112 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing