We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed one night was very nice room was clean and good quality construction and furniture good location. Restaurant in the hotel was average. The continental breakfast was poor which was a surprise for such a quality hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    257
    67
    26
    14
See reviews for
257
252
29
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a pleasure it was to spend a weekend at the Jefferson Street Inn. My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary.there and had a marvelous time. Circumstances were such that we had to stay close to the hotel, but without disappointment. The hotel's restaurant, City Grill was a great choice for dinner, excellent dinner and service. Loved the King Luxury Suite. We will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On our way from the Twin Cities to Green Bay for a Packer game in Lambeau Field, we decided this year for a change to stop in Wausau on the Saturday night before. We had seen great things about the Jefferson Street Inn and, for about the same price as a regular room anywhere right in Green Bay on a game weekend, we could reserve a king room suite with a fireplace.

When we arrived to check in, we found that the hotel had been booked full with several events and, while a room was saved for us, it was not the suite that we had reserved. To be sure, I was quite disappointed, but these things happen. Vanessa at the front desk promised she would talk her manager about making it right. I assumed that we would be given some kind of a discount for staying in a regular room and then went to park the car.

Immediately as I returned from parking car, Vanessa contacted me to say that they were upgrading us to the one room still available, which was the ultimate suite with two rooms, large sitting area, fireplace, and a kitchen. I was delighted. But it didn't end there. In light of their wanting to make right the mistake, the ultimate suite would be at no-charge and we'd be given a certificate for the suite we had reserved to cover another night in the next year.

Needless to say, what had started as a disappointment became a wonderful evening in Wausau. The room was everything we could have expected and more. And the Jefferson Street Inn has won our loyalty with such customer service. We'll be back again -- and not only for the complimentary suite. I think this will become a regular stop for us on our one or two time a year trips from Minneapolis to Green Bay for Packer games.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thanks had a wonderful stay! Clean room, friendly service, excellent value. The staff was friendly and polite the location is great the downtown area has everything, dining, theater, museums, wish we would have had more time. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts concerning your stay. It is very rewarding to hear your comments. Look forward to you staying with us in the future.
All the best, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I booked this hotel as a guest for a wedding being held in Wausau. What I received was not just a hotel, I received wonderful customer service, excellent quality and a wonderful restaurant all under the same roof! If you are in the area and need a place for the night or a long weekend this is it!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bbfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was impressive from the start. Helpful staff, clean , large rooms. I wish I had this room for my birthday instead of the pathetic 4 seasons in Chicago which disappointed in a big way.

This hotel was quiet and not full of rowdy loud kids.

Black out curtains were a plus. No bathtubs,....".

Walking distance to an indoor mall.

I'm very happy to have stayed here

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeanimaladvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Look forward to your return visit! All the best, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a wonderful trip to Door County and staying at a variety of hotels along the way- we decided to make one last stop on the way home- In Wausau of all places!! We half chuckled as made our way to town wondering if we should just finish the trip home to Minneapolis! Boy- we were glad we decided to stop- We fell in love with the Hotel, Riverwalk and 400 Block Square - we are definitely planning to return. The hotel staff were extremely helpful from the beginning- we arrived early with our tow small dogs- we were directed to parking and walking options. Later in the evening the hostess at the Grill was very helpful in getting our order together to dine in our room. This hotel is A+ the rooms are huge & clean, the pillows are extreme- My only complaint is the 30.00 pet charge ( per pet) - most hotels charge a flat fee and usually well under the 30.00.
Despite the fees- we were very impressed and happy we were able to stay at a nice place along with our well behaved dogs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
6.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Property: Jefferson Street Inn
Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing