We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Jefferson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love the Jefferson”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed here as a family several times since 2010 mostly mid December. This year we had a lovely time as usual, however, I realized I left my new expensive make up bag in the room falter we returned home. I called and was told they would check the room the next day and call me. Sadly it was not found. I know I left it there...but these things happen. I didn't care for being told that "it would never happen here" as if I were wrong somehow. Anyway we really do enjoy how nice it is to stay here and that our daughters dog is welcome. Most employees are very pleasant. Just the one with a poor customer attitude.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    252
    66
    26
    14
See reviews for
255
251
29
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Jefferson Street Inn is a great place to stay with kids. My son and my husband used the pool and enjoyed it. The hotel room was definitely well-appointed. We chose the hotel for its location. We parked our car and didn't use it for two days. So convenient to walk everywhere. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Na M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here on an overnight trip for business, wish it would have been the whole week! Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The lobby was nice and warm and there was even fruit to munch on. Check in time was at 3pm but if available you can ask the desk for an early check in. One wasn't available when I was there but they said they would text or call when the room was ready, super awesome! To kill time I went to all the shops downtown, what a variety! They have the mall just next to the hotel and then they have their downtown area with much much more. I didn't even have to move my car from the hotel lot! I got into the room and I was impressed! The beds were great, very comfy, lots of pillows and the room was spacious. There was even a mini bar! $5.00 for a drink and $2.00 for snacks, not bad! The room had a refrigerator and a microwave so my leftovers from dinner didn't go to waste. There was a coffee maker and an assortment of coffees and teas to chose from as well. The hotel also featured a gym and a pool which I didn't get to use, but next time I will! Check out was smooth and then I was on my way. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return! All the best, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The one exception to the excellent stay status is the decline in quality of the food in the Grill. I have stayed at your hotel before, and found the food to be very good. The decline was obvious this last stay. I was with two other people and neither of us liked our food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The downtown location is ideal for anyone interested in shopping. Lots of shops and a mall right next door. The one downfall of the location is you have to pay for parking. The hotel is clean and service is excellent. There is a pool, but be aware it is a postage stamp pool. Good for kids, but not so ideal for adults trying to get some exercise. Overall the value is very good for a hotel located right in downtown,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our stay! Your are right the shop downtown are amazing, I don't know if you are aware that many of them have the owners working in them daily to create a great selection of items and a special experience for the guests.

We look forward to your return visit. All the best, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassell, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed a night at the Jefferson Street Inn to do some Holiday Shopping. We had a wonderful stay. Location was great - right next to the mall. An assortment of dining and sprits were found all with in walking distance. We felt safe walking the area around the hotel. Room was clean and up to date. We used the pool and it was small but in great shape and warm. Breakfast was the basic yogurt, bagel, oatmeal, fruit but it was set up well and had a friendly lady running it. Only difficulty we had was we would get turned around while walking around the hotel but we got the hang of it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurley
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Thanks for a great stay, i enjoyed the customer service as well as the incredible rooms and accommodations. I was surprised by the great location in downtown Wausau. I have never stayed in the town before and really enjoyed my time there. The proximity to great restaurants was convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share our experience at the Jefferson Street Inn! We look forward to your return visit. All the best, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 10 in Wausau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 10 in Wausau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Property: Jefferson Street Inn
Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing