We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service , nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was our third stay and the employees have always been friendly and welcoming. The room is well appointed and I love the Aveda products in the bathroom. The only downside was the mattress should be changed out in the room we were in. Clearly the majority of visitors are single as the mattress clearly sank towards the middle and I got very little sleep trying to balance on the edge of the bed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for Jefferson Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at the Jefferson Street Inn on New Years night 2013. Made reservation a few days prior and checked in around 7pm that night. Had a nice room, clean, and found it very accommodating. Breakfast was quite a bit bigger than I expected but not sure if that was a New Years day exception.

Location was great, had dinner and drinks in the hotel bar, City Grill. Great steak and would also recommend the Salmon. Did not have reservations but the hostess set us up with a great bar table by the entertainment. Reservations would have been a smart move so if there on a weekend may want to call the restaurant ahead of time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbstevegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Over all the hotel is quite nice, we enjoyed the location and our time there. We had a 1 bedroom suite and it was quite large, worked perfect for our group of 4 (we brought our own portable bed). The fireplaces are fake but they still kinda look like a real one.
The BREAKFAST IS HORRIBLE!!! I have had more to choose from for breakfast at lower star hotels such as Quality Inn, Days Inn, or Comfort Inn. The breakfast is in their attached restaurant which is a nice space but there was very little selection for food, and not one warm item. Our group of 10 ate somewhere else the 2nd morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Jefferson Inn during a ski get away. We booked the suite and really enjoyed the extra room and the whirlpool. Though I was aware of it prior, I think the term 'fireplace' room is misleading since it is a fake fireplace. But, the room was excellent and we enjoyed it. Great location too,the square was so quaint and a surprise for the size of town! Service was fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Brian,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay! Hope you visit us again soon we just received another 8 inches of fresh snow, the ski hill is perfect!

All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have always enjoyed staying at the Jefferson Street Inn when I want to spend the night. This time was no exception. I was there to attend a BJ Thomas concert at the Grand. The appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at the front desk. The young woman from behind the desk suggested I park in the parking ramp and use the skywalk because the weather was snowy and icy. I did not realize there was a skywalk. Excellent suggestion! Another young woman helped me find my room once I walked off the skywalk. Being attached to the City Grill is also a big plus. The food and service is excellent and I did not have to go out in the bad weather. I even caught a glimpse of BJ Thomas walking through with his wife while I was enjoying my meal. The only thing that marred my stay was when I opened up the door to my room. At first glance I quickly noticed what a lovely and spacious room it was but it had a strong pungent odor which reminded me of a " sweaty old man." I notified the front desk who said they could put a machine in my room to clear the smell and if the smell remained I could have another room. The odor in my room changed from "old man" smell to a heavy chemical odor. I decided to stay in my room anyway. I shut off the heat and opened a window. I had a fireplace in my room which at first I was delighted about. I thought is was a gas fireplace but instead it was a fake "cheesy" appearing fake fire that emitted a little heat. If you want to impress the guest either remove the fake fireplace or replace it with a gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked this room for a ski weekend as part of a package but upgraded to a full kitchen room to save on dining out at night.
We were very pleased with the room. It was large enough for two adults and two kids, comfortable, quiet and clean with lots of natural light. The bathrooms are modern and stocked with Aveda products which is a nice touch.
The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
The only complaint and it's a minor one, is that the continental breakfast was so - so. I stay at cheaper hotels for work that offer much better breakfasts which are included in the price.
All in all though, this is a very nice hotel and worth the 10 minute drive to the ski hill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your enjoyment of your experience at The Jefferson Street Inn! We are delighted that you had such a great time!
We look forward to your return visit. All the best, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Offer more than 2 complimentary breakfasts per suite when requested. We had 4 and they were fairly unaccommodating with us in the morning when all we wanted was a snack.

Plumbing in 331 is bad, we had to plunge numerous times with normal use. This was annoying. Also, should have some rack installed on the wall for non-handicapped people in the shower. It was annoying to have to put shampoo and soap on the floor.

Staff at City Grill with exception of ticket checkers were excellent, especially the waiters.

Otherwise stay was solid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
39 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £116 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing