We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Noce Place Conveniently Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jefferson Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2006

I was pleasantly surprised to discover this chic hotel in such a small town. The rooms were nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. Internet access was free. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Wausau and attached to a shopping mall.

Breakfast was included in the room price - and was a very nice spread of fruit, bagels, breads, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, juices, and hot beverages.

The hotel will arrange for shuttle service to and from the local airport, but there was a bit of a snag in this operation when I stayed there. I think they have worked out the kinks, though.

For dinner, I recommend staying at the hotel and dining at the restaurant located right off of the lobby. The beef carpacio appetizer was flavorful, and the daily soups full of texture and deliciously comforting after a cold day.

There is a cute book store down town, that is worth a stroll and a venture outside the hotel, along with a lovely, offbeat coffee shop.

Stayed: September 2006
13  Thank TripleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for Jefferson Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2006

We stayed in Wausau to go to a Green Bay Packers game not realizing how far from Green Bay it was. In the end, we were happy to have made the mistake. Wausau is a great little city. It was as if we went back to the 1950’s with neighborhood bookstores and cafes.

The Jefferson Street Inn was very nice and ultra clean (totally spotless). Our room was a little small for a suite but very comfortable. The staff was very knowledgeable and very friendly as was everyone in town. The fireplaces are not real but they do have a nice effect. All-in-all, a nice little hotel where we felt right at home and that’s hard for me.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank LZ&TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, WI
118
Reviewed 14 March 2006

This is a verry lovely hotel. It is close to all the things that are downtown, which includes a lot of cute artsy shops, fun bistros and cafes, and is within walking distance of a lot I would highly recommend it. Polly

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
221
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed staying in this wonderful gem in Wausau, Wisconsin. This new boutique hotel conveniently located in the center of town was tastefully furnished to give it a home-like feeling. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff was obviously well trained and provided absolutely superior service. The breakfast in the on-site restaurant was tasty. Other meals were superior. If you visit Wausau, make the Jefferson Street Inn your place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2006

Modern, Luxurious accomidations in the heart of Wausau. After a long day of skiing, I stayed with 2 friends in an executive suite, complete with 2 fireplaces, living room and jacuzzi tub. The service did not disappoint, and acommodated several requests we had for extra towels, bed and where to head for the night. Wireless internet was a bonus. Breakfast was more than enough with cereal, fresh fruit, a variety of fresh muffins, juice, danishes, etc.

Frankly, for the $10-20 extra you pay above comparable hotels (we had friends staying in the Best Western who were jealous), the Jefferson Inn goes a long way with location, comfortable accomodations and a good night's sleep. Well worth it, especially if you head for a night on the town with friends and don't want to worry about driving/parking. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I was in the area, even for a $20-$30 difference. I'll be coming with about 15 people in a few months and the staff has already set us up with a great deal and rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank chillsnthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2006

For an intown getaway the Jefferson Street Inn is a romantic, quiet jewell. Reserve the King Luxury suite to experience a two room spacious and luxurious space. One room has a living area, honor bar, microwave and fridge. A built in TV with an electric fireplace compliments the soft earthtones.
The bedroom is separate and includes a very comfortable king bed, TV and another electric fireplace, although the fireplace cannot be seen from the bed. A two person jetted tub with a separate shower/toilet room completes the suite.
The City Grill is an upscale restaurant and is attached to the hotel.
The pool was closed for treatment but is too small for anyhting but maybe a splash.

Stayed: January 2005
18  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2005

We made a reservation at this hotel through Hotels and by the wording in the hotel advertisement it made us think all the rooms were suites but they are not. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Wausau surrounded by shops and restaurants. The city of Wausau has done a great job of refurbishing it's downtown area. The hotel is brand new and beautifully decorated. Because it just opened this year some of the rooms are not done yet. This hotel is very nice and I would recommend it to anyone but if you are traveling with kids the hotel pool is very very small. The max pool capacity is 19 and the pool room looks like a locker room. The other problem we had is our shower in our room didn't work but this problem should be solved after they are open for business for a few more months. If you are traveling with kids who like to swim stay somewhere else, otherwise it's a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank amroemer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wausau hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stewart Inn
Stewart Inn
#3 of 11 in Wausau
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau
#8 of 11 in Wausau
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St, Wausau, WI 54403-5428
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £116 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, all rooms include microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers with Starbucks coffee, Aveda amenities, large desk area and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you'll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau
Jefferson Street Inn Wausau, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing