We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge this book by its cover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge this book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here (Fri & Sat.) with 9 other bowling buddies for the 2012 state bowling tournament and was VERY surprised at what I got for the price. It definitely did not catch our eye and we could of easily bypassed this place due to the unappealing dull stone decor but the price is what brought us here for a two day stay. I'll tell you what, this place was VERY clean outside & in, the rooms were nice and comfy. There is this HUGE leather recliner in the room (you'll never make it to the bed if you sit in this). They have a nice, small breakfast buffet (free!), internet(free), and a very nice pool area. The best part of this deal were the employees, you can tell they're happy because it reflected on their customer service. I read some of the earlier reviews and I want to thank those who provided those because it looks like they fixed some of the expressed concerns. I would of like to give this an "Excellent" rating, but the only knock I have on this place was that it was very hot in the pool area during the day due to the solarium style windows. Definitely gonna make this a first choice when booking a stay in Wausau, WI.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We truly love your honest opinions and experiences. It allows us great insight into ways to make your next stay extra relaxing. From our friendly front desk staff, to our owners, we thank you for your business and feedback. We take pride in the cleanliness, comfort, and amenities you experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    59
    41
    26
    30
See reviews for
89
41
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been here several times and the people that work there are outstanding and go out of their way to help you. I will definetly be coming back here during my business travels for years to come!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your commitment to Best Western and look forward to serving you years to come. If there is anything we can do to better assist you, don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed one night and found the room clean and comfortable. It is an older style hotel, stairs only to 2nd floor. Hallways and stair wells were a bit dirty. Room was on the highway side of the hotel and I found the road noise to be a distraction. Wireless service worked just fine. Reasonable stay for the rate of about 70 USD.

Room Tip: Room away from the highway unless you don't mind traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
We value your feedback, thank you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the value we offer in the central Wisconsin area. We value your feedback which helps us improve your experience as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were passing through. Hotel is located very close to the highways ++. Rooms are good size and are clean and neat. Beds are hard and old. so are pillows.
The hotel as organized a circle around pool area. Pool looks good but very small. Arcade games are old.
We thought that the highlight of the hotel will be "hot" continental breakfast. There are very fer hot items there. Eggs, potatoes and waffles. It looks much smaller then on the pictures, but it was free, hot (should not complain). But stuff there was wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ipekur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your guest room and its cleanliness along with the service you received. I’m sorry your stay wasn’t totally relaxing, but I assure you your experience is not common. Our hot breakfast offers at least three hot items, plus the recently added waffles each morning along with pastries, fruits, cereals and much more. I encourage you to give us a try again to provide you with a spectacular stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Comfotable, large complex with Great amenities, just kick back and relax.

Room Tip: Pool side avilable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilhelmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful amenities from our domed atrium pool area to our hot breakfast buffet. Stop in again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Positive first. Great staff. Very helpful and pleasant. Especially Sarah in the dining room. Loved her. Rooms were big, which was great as we had a mountain of ski equipment. Nice pool area. Great continental breakfast. Good price. Negatives. The rooms were so hot, you just couldn't sleep. We had the thermostate off and we still roasted. Could only open the window periodically as we were on the ground level. Pool was freezing. Maybe to make up for the rooms. Hot tub was broke the first night, but fixed the next day. Beds were tiny. Supposedly standard sized, but looked more like twins. If they could fix a few temperature problems, this would be a gem.

Room Tip: If you are just a twosome, do the King bed. And get on the second floor in case you need to cool do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThorsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear what you like the most from your stay. I’m sorry your stay wasn’t totally comfortable. We strive everyday to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider us the next time you are in Wausau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This large hotel is aging and worn, but pretty clean. I was looking for a place to get a good night's sleep so I got this on Priceline for $50 on a Friday night. My first impression was that I paid too much, so that tells you something. Three star hotel? I think not. My room was on the perimeter of the pool area, which was very loud. Tons of families from the ski hill, kids screaming and running, beer drinkers and pizza eaters. It looked like fun if that was why you were staying there but I was VERY glad I packed my earplugs. I asked the desk clerk twice if he had a quieter room. He said they were totally booked (which I doubt since they had discounted my room on Priceline and the lot was not full) but I suspect he was punishing me for the cheap rate or taking out his obvious frustration at having to work there. the pool closed at 11 and it did quiet down. I opened the window to the drone of the highway and was able to get a decent night of sleep. The breakfast was very basic, processed junk and they were moving lots of people thru the line pretty quickly. I would not stay there again but understand others may find it acceptable after a day of skiing or snowmobiling with friends. I guess it was worth $50....almost.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't a nice relaxing treat, like you should expect it to be. I assure you, your experience is not common. Feel free to give me a call at 715-842-1616 to discuss your stay. We hope that you give us another chance to provide the great service and experience Best Western is known for. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wausau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#5 of 10 in Wausau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#6 of 10 in Wausau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing