We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although this property is getting older now, it is kept clean. The pool area has been freshened up with a newer paint job in the pool and we noticed they added lifts to the pool and hot tub for people with disabilities, and we were very impressed by this upgrade. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Free breakfast offerings were numerous, quality of it was acceptable (room for improvement there). Beds were very comfortable and for staying poolside I found it fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciGratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are truly happy to see your stay was relaxing. We are constantly making update to the property. Expect to see several more updates complete by the end of the year. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here during a business trip. It is NOT convenient to downtown Wasau, but since we were on our way somewhere else, that didn't matter. Good central pool area, large-ish rooms with a very comfortable overstuffed recliner which made catching up on work pleasant. WiFi was easy to connect to, free, and FAST. Across the street is a bike trail which accommodated my morning run down -- down to Rib Mountain State Park and up to the top for an incredible view. Breakfast was included and was a buffet with a very decent selection.

Have I stayed in better? Sure. For ~$65/night? No!

Room Tip: Rooms "in the back" are very quiet, whereas the ones which are poolside might be a bit noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank navsaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is great to hear your stay was fantastic. We do have a bike trail right on the edge of the property and a walking trail as well. We appreciate your feedback and business. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After being on the road for 10 days and traveling by motorcycles our room was a welcome gift. The beds were very comfortable, room exceptionally clean, easy access to parking lot and we had 1st floor rooms and our bikes could be parked right out side our window. Pool and hot tub area was very well maintained and the staff very helpful. On site restaurant was a welcome site after a long day on the road. Would differently stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our parking perfect for motorcycles. Please let us know if there is any way we can be of assistance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My stay at the Midway was Outstanding!!! The entire front desk staff went over and above to fulfill my needs when they arose...transportation...noisy neighbors...laundry failures..etc. High marks to Marley...Heidi...and Ruce. These three Are the Tip of Spear!!
If and when I'm back in Wausau...I know where to stay.
Thanks to all the staff..it's nice to know when your on the road for months at a time..there are Great places to stay..and again...I will remember the Midway.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests so that we may improve our service to you in any way possible. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to serve you and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Wausau, WI .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

First, I was told there was good handicapped access with use of a service elevator if needed. When I got to the hotel I could hardly open the front door (very heavy) without putting all my weight behind it. Then my friend asked for help getting his luggage up to the room--a thin man with glasses said he'd be happy to help, then went behind the desk and did nothing.

I hate to say it, but this really set the tone for the stay.

We were NOT allowed to use the elevator (were told there wasn't one) and getting up those very steep stairs was quite difficult with a cane--if I had to have something in my hand going up forget it, I couldn't do it. And I was told there was no service elevator (by the same thin man with the glasses).

Our room was quite dirty--blood on the bathroom floor, the only toiletries supplied were a single bar of soap and half a bottle (in other words, a previously used bottle!) of shampoo. We were given 2 washcloths and towels for the three people booked into the room and there were no coffee cups. When I asked a housekeeper who had her whole cart with her if I could just have some cups she said "I'll get around to it tomorrow when I make up your room". Um, no. I just checked in, items were missing and I get backtalk from the person who probably made the mistakes in the first place? I called the front desk to ask to speak to the manager--no one answered, I tried several times. I also got shorted when the room was made up each day--again no supplies restocked, calls ignored, had to go to the desk to get any service at all and had to wait an average of 10 minutes there to get the service I got.

My sister's pre-teen kids were followed by a hotel staff guy--I have no idea why, but the kids were kinda scared about it. Again, no answer at the desk to a call and no one there when I finally just walked down.

The restaurant has a very old-fashioned menu, and unless it's beef it's not very good. Also items advertised as vegetarian had things like veal-base sauces used on them and burgers claiming to be Boca burgers (well-known veg brand) were actually poultry. The fish special on Friday, the sandwich, had a very small piece of fish on a huge bun with nothing else on it for garnish? At least the tartar sauce was on the side, but in whole the restaurant was expensive and disappointing.

The free breakfast, well, you get what you pay for--green cold scrambled eggs, hot items were cold, cold ones were lukewarm, the day I came half an hour before the breakfast ended many items were empty and not refilled despite there being over 10 people in the dining room.

There's only one public restroom for each gender, and it never smelled clean or looked clean.

All in all, I've been treated better at an AmericInn--the hotel is very pretty but if you don't want to shatter the illusion don't look under anything because you'll find it's not really as nice as it first seems. I'm so disappointed in my experience here, but speaking with the thin man did no good and when I asked for the corporate contact information like a phone number I was told "there isn't one", which I have to say is bizarre. As a disabled person this hotel made my trip much harder than it needed to be--if I'd been told the truth when I booked my stay I would have gone somewhere more ready to meet my needs.

Room Tip: Check around before you select your hotel--seems the negative reviews here are the rule rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnRNeverForgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't relaxing like you should expect. Unfortunately we do not have any elevator, as we only have two floors. However, our staff are always happy to accommodate requests for first floor if at all possible and assist with luggage if needed. I do understand you refused our staff's offer for assistance with your luggage, and on behalf of our entire team we sincerely apologize this happened. We strive to provide each of our guests the ultimate service, friendliness, and cleanliness. Please contact me to discuss your stay further if we may be of assistance in anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Breakfast had eggs, waffles, cerial, danish, and muffins. Had some problem with warmth of room. Overall staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write your review. We strive to earn your satisfaction and trust. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I just now read some reviews on this hotel and cannot believe what I have read. Our stay was great, the room clean, neat, ac worked perfectly, remote and tv all worked. The price was excellent. Desk clerk, very proper and extremely helpful. Breakfast was "a normal continental breakfast" and the hostess at the breakfast was constantly on the move (cleaning tables, putting chairs back, filling "hot" items as well as replacing "low" items). The pool area was "airy, clean, and very refreshing" even with the "full capacity" of the hotel. If you are looking for a comfortable bed, refreshing pool/Jacuzzi, and free breakfast, check out this hotel online. (I really appreciated the lesser rate for booking online also!!!! Most places I checked out didn't do that!!!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take pride in our service and cleanliness and are happy your review reflects this. We hope to see you again soon and don't hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#5 of 11 in Wausau
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#4 of 11 in Wausau
137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing