We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Good”
Review of Quality Inn Wausau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Wausau
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
DeQuincy, United States
1 review
“Not to Good”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bathroom was full of someone else's hair and had urine around the toilet. Moved to a different room and had the same problem with the bathroom being unsanitary. I had to clean the bathroom myself because house keeping was gone for the night before I would let my family stay in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Our apologies for our accomodations not being up to your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our facility and rooms are inspected daily for this reason. We are appalled that you have found your room not up to standards and hope we can have the chance to prove it out of the ordinary on a future visit. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    61
    41
    27
    32
See reviews for
92
43
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Joliet
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The front desk staff is fabulous. They assisted me in getting my belongings in and out of the car. The restaurant was another story. Very disappointed in both the food and the service. I was told that they are a seperate entity of the hotel, and that could explain why. I would never suggest anyone eating in the restaurant. I would have been better off going to a fast food restaurant. I ordered a Grey Goose on the rocks with blue cheese olives, and I believe that it was NOT Grey Goose Vodka, they didn't have blue cheese olives. I told the waitress bring the olives and the blue cheese and I'll stuff my own olives. She said she couldn't do that and then sent over the "manager", that was dressed as a customer, and told me that the chef will NOT give me any blue cheese. I even offered to pay for it, but was still told that he would not take the time to cut off the little bit needed. He was too busy. I'm sorry, if you can't handle 5 tables, that come in about 3-5 minutes apart, then you need another job. Unless they change their attitude or a new owner takes over the restaurant, stay away. I would definitley recommend the hotel for anyone. It was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWausau, General Manager at Quality Inn Wausau, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Best Western Midway Hotel. We always strive to do our best for our guests, even if that is simply assisting them with their luggage. We hope you will again choose us for your hotel needs in the future. We would also like to apologize for your experience in the Rivalz Restaurant. We always pass along feedback from our guests to them. Rivalz Restaurant is a separate entity from the hotel and is not owned, operated, or managed by the Best Westen Midway Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

location is ideal, needs to be updated. we stopped thru town for spring skiing. room with king bed was nice sized for all of our gear. we were away from the pool area which was nice because i'm sure that's noisy. I would agree with other reviewers that the walls are thin, we also had a room with interior adjacent door to next room. neighbors had their tv on the loud side, thankfully they went to bed at a reasonable time. pool area was nice, kids probably have a blast in there. breakfast was normal best western fare. was a decent place for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveptaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Too many things need to be cleaned up at this place. Old beds, pillows and mold and mildew in the bathroom. I read previous reviews and don't know how they were so satisfied. If you are looking for something newer, keep looking. This was built in 1969 and needs much work to be considered good in my book. No elevator either, just so you know.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Marjory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wausau hotels

St. Paul, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Everything went well with this stay. Just that the bar/lounge was getting remodeled and was a cluster. I got a regular king room on the other end of the hotel(no pool view). It was very well furnished. The staff is really nice, very sociable which I believe is great for the people that travels by themselves. Had to go to the bar across the street to enjoy drinks which also had great people to converse with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickeyville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The place was decent BUT the room was unbearably hot! Even called down to see if there was anything we could do to make it cooler, but there wasn't. They told us to open the window some. We did for a while, but it didn't make much of a difference and the traffic noise was unreal! We were able to get a fan from the front desk, but it really didn't help. For that reason, I would not stay here again unless it was summer and we didn't have to have the heat blasting into our room. Not very comfortable sitting/sleeping and sweating. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Pool area was nice and big!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conjoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while skiing at Granite Peak. The rooms are fine, though walls thin (snoring from rm next to ours kept me up), the breakfast adequate & hot. The pool area is the real gem. The area is big & open w a large swimming pool, hot tub, billiards, ping pong, video games & plenty of seating areas to relax. We will be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chi-TownTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wausau
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wausau
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wausau
La Quinta Inn Wausau
#7 of 11 in Wausau
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wausau
Hampton Inn Wausau
#2 of 11 in Wausau
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jefferson Street Inn
Jefferson Street Inn
#1 of 11 in Wausau
1,061 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wausau
Courtyard Wausau
#6 of 11 in Wausau
127 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Wausau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Wausau

Property: Quality Inn Wausau
Address: 2901 Hummingbird Rd, Wausau, WI 54401-7367 (Formerly Midway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QUALITY INN FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO GRANITE PEAK SKI Get more value at the pet-friendly Quality Inn® hotel in Wausau, WI near State Park Speedway, Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum and Central Wisconsin Airport, to which we provide free transportation! Conveniently located off of Highways 51 and 29, this Wausau hotel gives you easy access to The Grand Theater, Yawkey House Museum and such points of interest as: Nine Mile Forest Rib Mountain State Park Granite Peak Woodson History Center The Center for the Visual Arts Shoppers can browse for treasures at Wausau Center Mall; beer lovers can sip microbrews at Bull Falls Brewery; and the whole family can catch some thrills slipping and sliding in the snow at Sylvan Tubing Hill! We offer you real value for your hard-earned money and meet the needs of all kinds of travelers. Business travelers appreciate our meeting rooms and banquet facilities, which can accommodate up to 400 people. They also appreciate our business center, which features copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. We welcome you to savor a delicious meal in our restaurant, Hoffman House, and a refreshing drink in our lounge, which features a cocktail hour. Swim in our indoor heated pool, utilize our guest laundry facilities, utilize the nearby fitness center with free passes from the front desk and enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Indoor heated pool and whirlpool Bus, truck & R.V. parking Make yourself at home in your guest room, which features a 32-inch flat-screen TV and coffee maker. Some rooms also feature a refrigerator, microwave, sofa sleeper and balcony. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket–because we know you value a good night's sleep. Relax and focus on the experiences you came for! Enjoy the combination of friendly service, generous amenities and cozy accommodations at the Quality Inn hotel in Wausau, WI. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wausau Best Western
Best Western Wausau
Quality Inn Wausau Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing