We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better,could have been worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wauwatosa
de pere wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“could have been better,could have been worse”
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Was going to Milwaukee's Summerfest and this property was all we could find. Right off the highway, which was great! Centrally located and near just about anything!! Check in was fine after a long day at the fest. Front desk clerk was very helpful in recomending place for dinner. Bed was comfortable and we slept very well. Upon waking up Sunday morning we found the tv to be quite blurry, thought I was still blurry from the night before. So I decide to make some coffee. Forget it. Water was left in maker from last guest. It didn't work!! Wife decides she will shower and we will get on the road. Argh!!!!! no shampoo in bathroom. The one time she doesn't bring it from home. Call the front desk, get new coffeemaker and ask for shampoo. We are told that the whole hotel has no shampoo!!?? A chain like this and no shampoo for the whole hotel? Wife not happy!! I like the location and other ammenities this hotel has to offer but was disapointed in some things that could have been better. I should have wondered if everything would be okay when you see a sump pump and other items behind the front desk??

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — blurry tv. No shanmpoo
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deuceDePereWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    44
    32
    22
    17
See reviews for
48
27
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

I've been a regular visitor to this hotel over the past 2 years now. I travel from the UK and am always greeted and made to feel welcome, on the 4 trips per year I do. It is well located across from Mayfail Mall - a 10 minute easy walk for an evening out.

The rooms I've had have been clean and the beds comfortable. An earlier post complained about door slamming - yes, I've experienced the same but that is down to other guests not the hotel.

I've stayed at other hotels in the area and this is by far my favourite. I've recommended it to other visitors from the UK and they have had the same positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Trevwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We went to this hotel to stay for a week in order to attend a friends wedding.I placed an order with the front desk staff for a microwave and a fridge so that we could store some food and cut down on our eating expenses.Even after 4 days there was no effort whatsoever to provide us with these.Our calls to the front desk staff fell on deaf ears.Front desk acted as they dont care.The quality of the room was good and the internet speed was great.
Overall may be a good place to stay for a short period in Milwaukee area ,as the quality of hotels in Milwaukee is very poor.This place is certainly not the best .

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank john324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

We have family in the area, so we stay here once a year. Our experience has always been very positive and this year's visit was no exception.

Our room and bathroom were clean and smelled fresh, the beds comfortable, the in-room wireless high speed internet greatly appreciated and the breakfast was more than adequate and definitely to our liking. (Any place you can make your own waffles is considered good by my family.)

The hotel is currently undergoing renovations but that was not a problem for us during our stay.

Although it seems a bit pricey for a Holiday Inn Express, it is a good deal for the area (as the previous poster stated).

We look forward to our return visit next year.

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — everything was great, but I don't think there's a pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

the hotel looks like it has been newly remodeled on the inside, perhaps a year or two ago. the beds and pillows were very comfy. the bathroom was very nice, with a roomy shower. breakfast was free and yummy, with yogurt, fruit, eggs, sausage, etc. very close to the Mayfair Mall. the only problem was hearing other people's doors slam in the early morning.

  • Liked — the close location to the mall and and other locations necessary for this wedding/reception trip
  • Disliked — the carpet always felt damp
  • Tips/Secrets — use hotel search engines to get the best price.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anjiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville MA
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2006

I just wanted to give my kudos to the thoughtful staff who let me check out of my room late this last sunday because my flight wasn't departing back to Boston until 7:40 PM. I was in town for my uncles funeral and this simple thoughtful act will definitley make me consider staying in another Holiday Inn in the future!

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We chose this hotel because of our usually good experience with Holiday Inns, and a good location for our planned activities. But although we visit Milwaukee 2-3 times/year, we will NEVER again stay here! First, our reservation had been totally messed up. Next, although we had booked a non-smoking room, and it had a no smoking sign on the door, the room smelled nauseatingly of smoke, and we had to launder even all our clean clothes when we returned. Even all the corridors in this hotel reek of smoke - it is apparently a 'smoker's hotel". On the third night of our stay, the cheap plastic handle of our toilet broke, and the toilet could not be flushed in any way. When we called the front desk, the only person there stated "I'm new and have no idea what to do about that". We suggested that he call the on-call manager, and he then informed us "she doesn't answer her phone". We then suggested he call a plumber, but he seemed incapable of doing this. He said there were no other rooms, but when we threatened to leave, he magically found one - although it also reeked of smoke. Both our key cards and those of several friends staying there failed 3 separate times, which the (often totally unmanned) front desk attributed to the fact that we have cell phones. There were never any of the advertised cinammon rolls at breakfast, which was pretty pathetic. And waiting to replace our room keys on one occasion, another couple ahead of us was complaining that the handle of their shower had broken off the night before, and no one was available to fix it. This place is NOT ready for prime time.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wauwatosa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauwatosa
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee West Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Milwaukee West
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Milwaukee - Wauwatosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee West (Brookfield)
1.6 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#3 of 5 in Wauwatosa
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center
Address: 11111 W North Ave, Wauwatosa, WI 53226-2233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wauwatosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Wauwatosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Milwaukee West Medical Center! Our beautiful property is centrally located in Wauwatosa s bustling business/medical district nestled on a quiet hillside one block away from Milwaukee West Medical Center. We are located near several local companies including Briggs & Stratton, Kaplan Financial, Western States Envelope, WI Expo Center, Siemens, Kohls, Dearborn Financial, Froedtert Hospital, Children s Hospital, Medical College of WI and GE Health Headquarters.This Milwaukee Hotel is ideally situated off Highway 45 and located near some of Milwaukee s top attractions. Nearby you will find The Milwaukee Zoo, WI State Fair Park, Pettit National Ice Center, Milwaukee Mile Raceway, Miller Park, Harley Davidson Museum, Miller Brewery, Mayfair Mall and more!When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Milwaukee West Medical Center you will receive all the comforts of home. Each of our 121 beautifully appointed rooms feature our Simply Smart Bedding Collection, complimentary high speed wireless Internet, free local calls, hair dryer and many other modern amenities. On site you will find a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, free parking and a complimentary weekday local (within 8 miles) shuttle service. Every morning we offer our complimentary express hot Smart Start Breakfast Bar featuring a variety of hot and cold breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milwaukee- West Medical Hotel Wauwatosa
Holiday Inn Wauwatosa
Wauwatosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing