We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lefse or ice cream1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ole & Lena Kaffe Hus - CLOSED

Ole & Lena Kaffe Hus
Price range: US$1 - US$4
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Description: Ole & Lena Kaffe Hus is a delightful coffee shop in the small Norwegian town of Westby where they are always pouring fresh brewed coffee from fresh ground medium and dark roast beans. Enjoy lattés, cappuccinos, espressos and more. Best deli sandwiches in town with $2.99 lunch specials. A must try is Mike’s famous Italian beef sandwich. Sweet treats of bakery, candy, chocolates and 16 flavors of Cedarcreast ice cream imported from Cedarburg Wisconsin are available to tantalize you. The soda fountain also turns out some great malts, shakes, Italian sodas, and more. Come Hungry...Leave Happy!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lefse or ice cream1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Clean place with simple food with Norwegian options. Our Westby Inn host is has this restaurant nearby the inn.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“small and cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Loved it! fast service! My wife and split a chicken wrap and home a chocolate milk. Next time its stay for ice cream!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is a great little place to refresh. The coffee was excellent and they make a great espresso and cappuccino. The ice cream is very good too and not overpriced like a lot of places these days. They have a great selection of fresh sandwiches and pizza and a nice little section of gifts for the kitchen. I have been there 3 times and was impressed every time. Quality place!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCrosse Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream in a small town atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

After working up a sweat after hiking in the area, I decided I deserved a treat. I'd noticed this place every time I drove through town and figured, now's as good a time as any. I went right for the calories, hot fudge sundae with all the trimmings. The portion was generous for the price, the setting is cute and not a chain operation. I like to stop anytime I can convince my husband to get off the fast track.

Helpful?
Thank gwynbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice break in the day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lots of items to choose from in their coffee, tea and ice cream selections. Also, a neat gift shop! Ideal shop for a small town!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ole & Lena Kaffe Hus also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing