We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Bed and Breakfast!”
Review of Westby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Westby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“A beautiful Bed and Breakfast!”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westby House Inn. It was gorgeous and comfortable. The decor and furniture reflects the Victoria Era of the Inn. We were greeted warmly and Marie took the time to advise us on nearby dining and activities. Our room, the Westby Room, was very charming and had all the comforts of home and more! The breakfasts that we enjoyed were very creative and tasty! We will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
109
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Spent one night in the Tower room. Would definitely stay here again. It was a 2 room suite, beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable. Marie cooked us a delicious breakfast the next morning. She was an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I just got back from my WI trip. May was a great time to visit; the weather was lovely. The owners of Westby House were very dedicated to pleasing their guests. I live in NC, and the trip to WI was for a vacation. I wish I could turn around and go back right now because everything was so great.

Room Tip: Look at the Westby House web site to pick a room. They have a wide variety of styles. I had one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Westby House Inn is cozy, quaint, comfortable, terrific and relaxing. Pine paneling makes it smell nice. My suite was very clean, bath was recently updated, loft sleeping area was cozy and comfortable. They provide fresh cut fruit, milk, juice, and locally made yogurt in the fridge, all fresh daily. It was a wonderful alternative to the average hotel --this was almost like home! The bed was very comfortable and they even provided a homedics sound spa device to help guests relax. This was the best place I have stayed in over a year, a very pleasant, very relaxing experience. If you are in Southwest Wisconsin this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrktravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRCGAL, Owner at Westby House Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The 'treasure' described by our guest is the Pinewood Room in the Guest Lodge. It is very popular with folks on the go because of its easy access with the private outdoor entrance and other features in the room, like the pre-stocked continental breakfast. Be sure to view our web site of the other eight rooms, each having a feel and decor of their own. Full breakfasts are included in the Main House and Guest House accommodations.
Thanks for sharing your experience and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at this property for one night on my way to La Crosse. I was looking specifically for a B & B in the general area, and this one looked intriguing. I reserved the Library room, and it was perfect for my needs. A large room (at least for a single), and the entire property had a homey feel. Although I had a corner room, and the busy Main street was a block away, it was very quiet and peaceful. Marie was very welcoming, provided all the needed info at check-in, without being too intrusive. I did not dine in the area, just wanted to spend some time alone, reading and relaxing. The bed was extremely comfortable, and although the room was not plush and luxurious, it had all the little details that are expected at good B & B properties. I did not participate in the breakfast, but Marie did provide a continental plate that was more than adequate. Enjoyed my stay immensely, and if I'm in the area, I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRCGAL, Owner at Westby House Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We are delighted that your stay was all Rest and Relaxation! Thanks for sharing with fellow Trip Advisor folks to assure them of making the right choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orfordville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I just completed a two-day stay at the Westby House. The accomodations and food were excellent. The house is warm and comfortable and breakfast is always a special treat. We really enjoyed our hosts and will be back again. This was our second stay there.

Room Tip: We love the Rose Room. It is sunny, quiet, comfortable and the electric fireplace cozy, especially a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My future wife and I just completed our second stay at the Westby House. We always receive a warm and cordial welcome from Mike and Marie. They are so helpful and are always ready to assist their guests with any question a guest may have.

We stayed in a different room our second time, it was decorated with care, and as always, the room was spotless.

Marie without fail prepares the most creative and tasty breakfasts. We have stayed at other B&Bs and their food does not compare with the wonderful food Marie serves.

If you are seeking a restful getaway in one of Wisconsin's most scenic regions, the Westby House will certainly fulfill your needs. I know we will be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westby
1.0 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,610 reviews
19.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
22.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
6.3 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#1 of 2 in Viroqua
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westby House Inn

Property: Westby House Inn
Address: 200 W State St, Westby, WI 54667-1253
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Westby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westby House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most popular Wisconsin Bed and Breakfast, is a Inn that offers uncommon, friendly and gracious hospitality and exceptional lodging accommodations to those who are adventurous in spirit and in need of some serious TLC. The Inn has become a favored hotel-alternative, relaxing destination for travelers from Midwest cities such as Madison, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul and Dubuque,Iowa. Also for fabulous Girlfriend and Friend Getaways, Retreats, Meetings. Our inn is popular for small, intimate weddings, complete with a wedding planner to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing