We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too short a stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Westby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too short a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I took a little road trip through western Wisconsin recently. We had checked the area and found that the Westby House had a guest house room available. We stayed in the Pinewood Room which was so cozy and thoughtfully appointed. It had a fly fishing theme and there were references to fishing everywhere, but not in a bad way. Very cute! Because we were in the guesthouse, we were offered a continental breakfast instead of a full breakfast...this was just fine with us. There was a small kitchenette with utensils, plates, coffee maker and coffee and a refrigerator stocked with juice, milk, yogurt, fruit and cereal. The very comfortable queen bed was located in a loft with access up a spiral staircase. It was quite stormy the night we stayed there, but we were very comfortable listening to the rain on the roof above our bed which lulled us to sleep. As a note, the morning we left I noticed a "sound machine" next to the bed that had sounds of rain, waterfalls, ocean, crickets, etc. Just goes to show the attention to detail by the owners. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a continental breakfast, stay in the guesthouse which provides a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
101
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Westby House Inn after making a pilgrimage to the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe. They were gracious to offer a discount to those on pilgrimage. They offer a wonderful, well thought out, hospitality to all guests.
They are warmly welcoming, prior to your visit and follow through to wishing you a wonderful journey as you leave. I would affirm the other reviews that appreciate all the amenities that are offered.

Room Tip: check the web site to review rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "Garden Room" while in the area to visit family. The Westby House was a lovely B&B with nice extras like hair dryers in the rooms, TVs and toiletries. Mike and Marie were warm, gracious hosts and the breakfasts were to die for. Our favorite item had to the the poppyseed pancakes with seasoned oranges and sweetened cream cheese on top! We felt appreciated and pampered, and would love to stay at The Westby House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris10Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Westby house. It is a larger B&B with sort of a country inn feeling. A lot of thought has gone into providing amenities that you don’t always find at B&Bs. My room had a t.v., a CD player, and an electric fireplace for extra warmth. Snacks, beverages, and a fridge and microwave are available in the hall. Housekeeping was excellent and the breakfast was also very good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CNH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night. It is a typical, traditional B&B-- lots of antiques and knick knacks, notes in the room about products for sale in the lobby, black washcloth for make-up removal, etc. Breakfast was delicious. Location is a little disappointing-- there's a large asphalt lot in the back of the building, so you don't really feel like you're in a quaint neighborhood in a small Wisconsin town. Also not crazy about the bossy owner, who insisted we park in the lot rather than on the street. Overall fine experience. Nothing incredible, nothing dreadful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m3grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hospitality of Marie and Mike make them the perfect B&B owners. Our stay here was wonderful! Breakfast was delicious and early morning coffee at the end of the hall was a nice touch!
The Westby House has the perfect combination of old time charm and modern-day amenities.

Room Tip: The Westby room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Victorianne room overnight.... Very comfortable and cozy. Breakfast was wonderful and Marie and Mike are excellent hosts. Even though the weather was rainy, the area was still beautiful. Don't miss visiting the Shrine of the Virgin of Guadalupe in nearby LaCrosse.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBergGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westby
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
22.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
23.8 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
22.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westby House Inn

Property: Westby House Inn
Address: 200 W State St, Westby, WI 54667-1253
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Westby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westby House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most popular Wisconsin Bed and Breakfast, is a Inn that offers uncommon, friendly and gracious hospitality and exceptional lodging accommodations to those who are adventurous in spirit and in need of some serious TLC. The Inn has become a favored hotel-alternative, relaxing destination for travelers from Midwest cities such as Madison, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul and Dubuque, Iowa. Also for fabulous Girlfriend and Friend Getaways, Retreats, Meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Westby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing