We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, and Welcoming.”
Review of Westby House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Westby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Quiet, Comfortable, and Welcoming.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was my second visit to the Westby House. I was in town for a funeral. Marie, the owner, was so wonderful about making me feel comfortable and sympathic. I stayed in the Garden room and it had just about everything and anything I could want or need during my stay. The room was exceptionally comfortable and clean. I could have stayed there forever. My breakfast was also wonderful - Marie is a great cook. I would highly recommend the Westby House to anyone visiting this western Wisconsin region.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidlover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRCGAL, Owner at Westby House Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others who are looking for overnight accommodations in the Westby area. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
105
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a lovely surprise to not only have a beautiful room but a very comfortable one! My husband who just turned 80 and has such a bad back was able to enjoy not only the comfortable bed but the room also had a recliner!!!!! We'll certainly be back and the breakfast put the crowning glory to a lovely stay....Thanks so much!!! Bobbye & Gary

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I LOVE this place. I have stayed here monthly for more than two years. I adore the Westby. I have stayed in almost all of the rooms. My favorite is the "Tower". You every need is taken care of. DVD player, TV, refrigerator, coffee, tee, cider available all the time. The hosts are the two most wonderful people you would ever want to meet. They are welcoming, happy, vivacious and energetic. I am very fond of them. The beds and pillows are the most comfortable I have stayed in in all my travels. I travel quite a bit. Breakfast is delicious.

The house is beautifully appointed and seasonally decorated. Too cute. I love the old wood work and the beauty of each room. The owners take great pride and work very hard to make this the most amazing place to stay.

I forgo staying in Viroqua and drive the extra mile or two to stay here. Nothing in Viroqua could possibly come close to being as nice as the Westby and the price is absolutely reasonable and the same as it would cost to stay any other place in Viroqua.

Don't miss coming here. It is romantic, beautiful, relaxing and comforting. Truly the top of the top and the best of the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelove1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurelville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was on a business trip to Westby earlier this year and had the great opportunity to stay at the Westby House Inn. After a long day of traveling I arrived at the Inn and was graciously greeted by the owner~Marie. She was very informative of local attractions and eateries, Marie also recommended a local therapist for Reflexology~Pam Marshall-Neil, which was wonderful, and I would highly suggest!! The Inn was beautifully decorated and I loved the theme rooms, breakfast was amazing, and a first for me to have rhubarb juice, Marie is an great cook and hostess. I will definitely return to the Westby House Inn on future travels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regenia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our second summer visiting this B&B! Our favorite weekend get-away!!!! The coziness, attention to detail, the food - the innkeepers, everything was 10+! The Inn is kept very clean, the food is great and the atmosphere, well, I dream about it all winter and plan for the following summer!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Library Room and the Rose Room and both were wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We picked Westby Inn as we traveled home because of its location and positive reviews. We were not disappointed. Our Friday night stay was quiet even though the local football stadium a couple of blocks away had a game. Marie and Mike do a great job hosting and the large home, a classic mansion, was clean and inviting. Breakfast was served in the dining room set with individual tables so you could choose the amount of interaction with the other guests. Westby is a Norwegian town with Ole and Lena’s Restaurant and two large Norwegian oriented gift shops a block from the inn. My wife found the home to be the nicest of all that we have visited over the years.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite is very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Cozy rooms, excellent amenities, attention to detail, great food and congenial hosts make the Westby House a great choice for anyone visiting this part of Wisconsin. On the recommendation of friends who live in Westby, I stayed in the "Library" room while in the area on a fishing trip and was totally satisfied with all aspects of the inn.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Italy64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westby
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,534 reviews
19.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
18.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
20.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westby House Inn

Property: Westby House Inn
Address: 200 W State St, Westby, WI 54667-1253
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Westby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westby House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A most popular Wisconsin Bed and Breakfast, is a Inn that offers uncommon, friendly and gracious hospitality and exceptional lodging accommodations to those who are adventurous in spirit and in need of some serious TLC. The Inn has become a favored hotel-alternative, relaxing destination for travelers from Midwest cities such as Madison, Chicago, Minneapolis/St. Paul and Dubuque,Iowa. Also for fabulous Girlfriend and Friend Getaways, Retreats, Meetings. Our inn is popular for small, intimate weddings, complete with a wedding planner to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Westby House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing