We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but somewhat noisy”
Review of Cafe Calamari

Cafe Calamari
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Williams Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Northern IL.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food but somewhat noisy”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I took the family to Cafe Calamari for supper hoping for a table outside but with 5 people, that didn't work. We did get seated quickly indoors however. The service was very good. The place was packed and noise level was a little high. Everyone thought the food was very good. I ordered the scallops in linguine and at first sight, thought it might be shark meat but after the second scallop, I found grit, which is a good sign. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great meal, great ambiance!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Sat outside for a delightful meal and view of the lake. The portions are generous and cuisine high. Help staff were friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleased with this restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a very pleasant experience. I wanted to start with a Chardonnay to which I was asked to pick from 2 brands. I wasn't sure on which one to go with and just randomly picked one and was surprised with a fact that our server caught that and told us about the difference. She also then offered a taste of both brands. After that I started asking server for recommendations. And went with sisillian fillet - it was perfectly done!!! Very flavorful as our server said it would be. We were too full for dessert :(
We been here before and will come back soon again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Bay Water View, Delicious Food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Over the years, I have eaten at this restaurant several times. I have always enjoyed the foods and the service. I will definitely be back to eat here again.

The restaurant has a few tables with views of the bay. I recommend that you make reservations and request a window table with a bay view.

I ordered an entrée salad. The greens were fresh and nicely coated in the dressing. For dessert, I had a flavorful chocolate cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraveltheGlobe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little bit of Italy”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a well established restaurant owned and run by local folks The menu offers a great selection of appetizers and entrees They also have a great value bar menu

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Exowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Calamari also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Calamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing