We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway”
Review of Amil's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amil's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilton B&B and Inns
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent getaway”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Amil's Inn during the off-season (December). But it was fantastic and lovely! Anita (and David) do such a good job with the Inn. My husband and I were celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary and Anita bent over backwards to make every part about our stay special. The room (we stayed in In The Beginning) was so nice and comfortable! From a sitting area by the fire to an amazingly comfortable bed with amazing sheets...it was lovely! Anita is so friendly and outgoing...you come a stranger and leave a friend. Breakfast is very good and Anita even made us her famous cranberry scones (they are amazing!!!) for breakfast and they were heart-shaped! She gave us a goody bag to take the extra scones with us for the day. There are so many things that are wonderful about Amils...I highly recommend it to anyone at anytime of the year!!! You will not regret staying at Amils.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had a charming stay at this lovely B&B on Hwy 131 between Wilton and Ontario. The home has been completely remodeled with modern conveniences, yet each room has charming decorative touches.
Anita prepared a delicious home cooked breakfast while Dave insured all the guests needs were met.
Highly recommended.
Near to biking in Wilton or canoeing in Ontario.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I highly recommend Amil's B&B. Perfectly situated at the midway point of the Sparta-Elroy bike trail, this inn is a wonderful place for a get-away. Anita and Dave have remodeled their farmhouse into a warm and welcoming retreat for guests. Very comfortable, super clean, with lots of homey touches. Anita's breakfasts are a definite highlight and will keep you fueled on the trail for many hours. Don't forget to try your hand at the puzzle -- there's a prize if you figure it out!

Room Tip: Room photos are posted on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This summer I had the pleasure of visiting Amil's Inn. It's a quaint little farmhouse bed & breakfast set on a hillside in Wilton, Wisconsin. Settled in the Kickapoo Valley it is conveniently located near the Sparta-Elroy bike trail and in the heart of Wisconsin's amish community. Anita welcomed us with open arms and a big smile. She was extremely helpful in so many ways. She was so knowledgeable about the history of the farmhouse, restaurants, and activities in the area. She keeps an immaculate home and cooks with food fresh from her wonderful garden. She even had her home made raspberry jam for sale. It was fun sitting on the front porch then cooking s'mores around a fire (which she had ready in a picnic basket). Everything about our visit was special in part because of Anita's hospitality. I can't wait to go back to this jewel of a place!



Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our second trip to the Inn and it proved our great time on our first visit was not a fluke! The breakfasts were all great and a special thank you to Anita who made excellent meals for me accommodating my food allergies. The rooms are very comfortable and have many touches to make our stay perfect. Anita and Dave are the definition of hospitality! We loved the access to the bike trails and enjoyed the other local sights and dining. We're planning to stay every year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Basically out in the middle of no-where, but worth the drive back and forth, from spending 2 days at the Warren's (WI) Cranberry Festival. Anita and Dave's gracious hospitality, delicious and abundant breakfasts, many personal touches, and light-hearted conversation, made for a wonderful Fall get-away weekend! The remodeled farmhouse and surrounding property were immaculate, which reflects on the great pride that the hosts have for their accommodations. The location is also ideal for visiting your college children at any one of the 3 universities in the city of La Crosse, about 45-50 minutes away, on the mighty Mississippi, which we did after check-out. It was truly a different experience for us, as we are accustomed to traveling mostly with our children, to major vacation resorts, theme parks, islands, etc. This weekend was for us, and the fact that there was no television in the room or even the parlor, it "forced" us to mingle with other guests, right alongside the hosts. We were "pleasantly-surprised" at how "we did"! We had no expectations coming into this, and now I can only hope that other B&B's that we might experience, can live up to this one. Kudos to Anita and Dave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

While a bit off the beaten track- this bed and breakfast was worth the trip! The inn was clean and comfortable with a great shower and super soft sheets. The inn keepers are very kind and were happy to accommodate our request for a bonfire-they even added a s'more basket as a nice suprise! The morning breakfasts were incredible and cooked from scratch with garden ingredients! It was a great stay-we highly recommend Amil's Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sparta Trail Lodge
14.5 mi away
Lark Inn
Lark Inn
#3 of 11 in Tomah
151 reviews
18.4 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
17.1 mi away
Franklin Victorian Bed & Breakfast
16.6 mi away
Super 8 Sparta
Super 8 Sparta
#2 of 4 in Sparta
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amil's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amil's Inn

Property: Amil's Inn
Address: 27038 State Highway 131, Wilton, WI 54670-8552
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing