We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Beware the hidden charges!!! They won't quote them when you call!!! Lots of "catches".
Lobby is very nice and updated. The rest of the hotel was very dated. Halls were filthy. Rooms that smelled unclean. .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

My mom and I stayed in this hotel in mid-August. The decor is a little dated. The internet barely works. They have 12 channels (for when you are in your room in the late evening). They don't offer you a breakfast from their own hotel, but do let you purchase 10 dollars worth of food from Denny's for 5 dollars. The pool was very nice and we used that over the free tickets to the Chula Vista water park. We did visit the water park, but it was located a far distance from all the other water parks; the wave pool was located in a different area from all the other water activities, so we decided to return to the hotel and use that pool--had it all to ourselves. They also don't give you the complimentary newspaper, but you can purchase one for a buck.

The staff was very friendly. I had read reviews before leaving and one said that they charge you a 7 dollar amenity fee--that is for people who call to make reservations or just show up. Since I had done mine on-line, I didn't get charged for it, thankfully because all they put in our room was one bar of soap--no shampoo, no conditioner, no lotion; and what made me laugh out loud was that they placed 2 pieces of paper on the night stand--not a pad of paper, but 2 pieces.

The beds were a little hard, but they worked for us. All in all, it was an alright stay. I have been in better hotels and this stay did help me get a free night voucher with Best Western's incentives, so I can't complain.

Would I return here again--who knows. It was a downgrade from the Best Western we had stayed at the night before in Bloomington, MN.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Let me start by saying my one star rating is based solely on the fact that the mattresses were horrible and nobody with management seemed to care.

The property itself isn't too bad, nice pool, decent rooms with free wireless.....but remember you choose hotels based on one premise, your ability to sleep there that night. All the other stuff is just fluff. With that said, I've never slept less in a hotel in my LIFE. Both mattresses were so horrible, I woke up (assuming I slept) with the worst back ache in my life. To make matters slightly worse, there were stampedes of young children doing laps down the hallways (with little to no stopping by hotel staff).

If you're going here because they're offering free Chula Vista waterpark tickets, do yourself a favor. Pay the extra $50-$75 to just stay there....I can't imagine their mattresses are any worse.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper.The room was spotless,including the bathroom.I am very picky when it comes to this..My family liked the outdoor pool and hot tub better than the indoor because the water was alot warmer.We enjoyed the Chula Vista wristbands that came with the room.I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

we used their 2 bedroom suite with king beds, and 2 pull out couches for 2 families and it worked great. the suite also had a fair sized full kitchen and 2 baths. there was a large dining table and a huge living area, which fit all the kids easily. there was both an indoor and outdoor pool and hottub. there was no continental breakfast, so it was nice we had our own kitchen. the service at the hotel was fine, nothing good, nothing bad. the room was great, however, and my friends are i are planning to meet there again for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My boyfriend and I checked into our room and promptly began noticing some cleanliness issues. There was a stain on the comforter, mold in the shower and around the edge of the jacuzzi tub. While walking to the front desk, my boyfriend had to wade through a group of unruly teens. He asked to speak to a manager, a supervisor came out and asked him to fill out a comment card. They said there wasn't much they could do since I have pre-paid using Orbitz. The next day we assumed that the cleaning issue would be taken care of. We were incorrect. That night the teens were out and about again. We called the front desk and it appeared to be taken care of. At the end of our stay, 3 nights later, the management had still not contacted us in regards to the room. The cleanliness remained the same throughout the trip. When we checked out, the person at the front desk did not even ask how our stay was. We were very disappointed. We realized it wasn't the most expensive hotel in the Dells, however, cleanliness is to be expected. The description also states the rooms have been recently redecorated. I think our room might have been missed! The room did come with Chula Vista passes which was nice and the pool area was well taken care of and relaxing.

Room Tip: Cleanliness, attention to detail, customer service......quite lacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artartdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went here with another family. I don't have any input on pricing since it was through their timeshare, but we were there for 4 days and really enjoyed ourselves. Beds and pillows were new and SUPER comfy. Room was of good size and fridge in room was helpful. Microwave would have been nice (we were only in a 2 queen room which didn't offer it, although our friend's suite did have microwave too). Only dislike was the VERY small bathroom that is just a toilet and tub and then sink is outside of the room.. Showering and getting dressed was definetly a "family affair" when needing to change. Bathroom was Very small and uncomfortable.

Pool area (inside) was great. Used when it was raining. Kids really enjoyed it. Outside pool was very nice with a zero depth sprinkler area for younger kids. Not to crowded considering we were there for teh 4th of July weekend. Have nice grills for use with tables and chairs adjacent to the pool. Made a nice BBQ dinner while kids swam for the 4th.

Came with chula vista passes. Chula vista was okay. kinda crowded and was actually kinda nice to not stay on site. Kids only wanted to stay one day there and didn't want to go back. They enjoyed the hotel's pool better.

Not the fanciest place, but okay for the value. Dennys is right next door as well as other restaurants like Wendys. I would actually consider staying off site from the waterparks the next time we are in the dells. It was actually a little more relaxing and the kids had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupid8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
1.6 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#26 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
972 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#25 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#9 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alakai Hotel and Suites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
#27 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites

Address: 610 S Frontage Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#22 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wisconsin's largest resort area, non-stop family fun awaits at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. With a great selection of spacious, newly remodeled rooms, there is a style for everyone. Don't forget to stop in and enjoy our free hot breakfast of eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee and more before starting your Wisconsin Dells adventure. Other amenities include a Fitness Center, Business Center, indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpools, and free high speed wireless internet access. Take advantage of a great central location close to many local attractions, dining, sports complexes and businesses. From waterparks to skiing, basketball to volleyball, golf courses to shopping, you'll find an endless array of activities at your fingertips. Whether you want to stay relaxed or stay productive, stay in the heart of it all at the BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambassador Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Best Western Ambassador Inn And Suites
Best Western Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing