We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
Ranked #52 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed here for a week at end July in a two bedroom condo. Loved the condo - very spacious and clean. We had hoped to get a room facing the river in the back. When we booked in March, we were told that when we checked in we could ask if there was one available. When we checked in,they said there were no rooms facing the back available. Was kind of disappointing since we booked in March and are Club members! Also would have been nice to have a balcony. We were told only the three bedrooms and junior suites have balconies. You would think that there would be balconies on these pricey rooms. Parking availability was awful. When we checked in, there was no parking nearby and no luggage racks available. Had to drive up to door while one of us waited by car and other family members carried luggage. I think there should be enough parking for all guests - especially Club members. They should make non-registered guests using the waterpark park in the dirt field as we had to most of the week. Kids lovedwaterparksbut I agree with others that it is too crowded most of the time. Shouldn't let non-registered guests use it. On the plus side, staff was very friendly and the resort is very clean. Always saw workers going around picking up garbage and cleaning around waterparks and condo. Lifeguards are always around and you don't have to worry about your kids. Sometimes you don't see them for 1/2 hour as they are waiting in line for slides. Didn't eat in restaurants as found them quite expensive last year. Ate most of our meals in condo. Luigi's Pizza is very good and we were able to get it at Crash Landings for 1/2 price because of Club membership. Will definitely go back but wish they would address parking problem and overcrowded waterparks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Lee 6150,

Thank you for being back with us this summer and happy to see that you are getting full use of the Club Benefits.
We appreciate the feedback that you provided for we do take your comments and use them for future planning and training. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

My experience with Chula Vista was disappointing to say the least. We arrived at 1:00 in the afternoon and checked in. We were told that check in was not until 4:00, which is fine. We were told that if our room was ready early the front desk would text us. So I gave them my cell phone number. We walked around the facility for an hour and then sat in the car for two hours. By 4:00 we still hadn't gotten a text. So we went back to the front desk and they gave us our key cards. I questioned them as to how long our room had been ready and they said they didn't know. At 6:05 that evening, I recieved my text saying the room was ready. If they aren't going to text you when the room is ready, why do they say it? Just to keep us away from the front desk? It was a frustrating start to our Wisconsin Dells experience. We checked into the room and for the price that I paid ($425 for two nights) I would have expected a lot more!! The room was outdated with box televisions, old bedspreads, worn carpeting. They couldn't even give us a bar of soap. Instead they had dispensers with body wash in them. Same with the shampoo. We went down to the indoor water park and it was very crowded. The girls handing out the towels were not very generous with them as they were reluctant to give us 2. They were just the cheap, small towels! All of the hottubs (indoor and outdoor) were luke warm. Front the front desk staff to the life guard, nobody was overly friendly.

Before coming to Chula Vista we spent two nights at the Americinn West in Madison. It was awesome. They had continental breakfast, a managers reception with free beer, wine and snacks, a "hot" hot tub, friendly people, nice rooms, and the price was only $99 per night! To come to Chula Vista after this experience was disappointing. I would NOT recommend staying at Chula Vista!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Sara H,

We appreciate you being with us on your Dells getaway, but I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations. Your check in process should have been much smoother and we are reviewing options of conducting upgrades on some of our accommodations. When we do have these finalized we will be sure to keep you updated and at that time I do hope you may be able to give us another opportunity to serve you.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The all inclusive is a great deal. It's like being on a cruise. The food and drinks at Chula Vista
Resort were excellent. The water parks and activities were also great. Having the all inclusive
was a plus because my grand children could get snacks and drinks when ever they wanted and
did not have to bother their parents for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Jean L.,

Thank you for being with us on your summer getaway, glad to see that you had an enjoyable time.
The All-Inclusive Pacakge is a great value for families, we appreciate your feedback on the package and your stay with us.
We look forward to being of service again to you in the future and hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom condo and it was AMAZING! Unfortunately the rest of the place did not meet our standards. We had to drive around for 1/2 hour to find a place to park and the waterpark was way overcrowded because they let outside visitors pay to come in for the day. The inside waterpark was crowded, dark and dirty. My little boy got knocked over twice in 5 minutes. The outdoor waterpark had bandaids all over. My kids were begging to go somewhere else before even getting into the water. The manager on duty was nice enough to let us out of the rest of our evenings w/o any fees and she sent up some vouchers for mini-golf and tokens for the arcade. She would not reduce our rate at all for the nights we did stay because the condos are privately owned. We have stayed at both the Wildnerness and Kalahari and their rooms were not as nice as our room at Chula but the waterparks are WAY better! Will not return to Chula in the future.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Condos are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Michele H,

We appreciate you making us part of your summer vacation plans but dissappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Our Los Rios team members do take safety and cleanliness seriously, so I am sorry that you and your children's experience were not positive. I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future to be of service to you and your family.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was my second stay at Chula Vista; stayed in a 2 bedroom condo, two adults with two kids. The Chubana was well worth the extra money. The water parks are crowded, especially in peak season, so it was nice to have a shady place to hang out in between slides/playing in the pool, etc, five adults and four children shared the Chubana so somebody was in there at all times throughout the day. Our room had a very funky smell that would not go away so we got free breakfast buffet on the day we checked out. The room seemed clean, it just smelled bad. Also our dishwasher was not working. Overall it was a good experience, great place to meet other family members for vacation, the kids love the indoor and outdoor waterparks and game room, nice to have a kitchen to cook in or to keep snacks for the kids which helps cut down on the cost since the rooms are pricey. THE LIFEGUARDS ARE GREAT!!! We feel safe continually taking the kids there, this is the second time that family from across the country has met at Chula Vista.

Room Tip: I suggest using the condo side of the property but I have had people tell me the hotel side is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Gina N,

Thank you for being with us for your summer family getaway and that the condo was well suited for your family. I do apologize that there was a malfunction with the dishwashing unit and that there was an odor that was bothersome.
We appreciate that you recognized the Los Rios team of lifeguards, they do take there positions to heart.
I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I recently took my daughter and 3 friends for her sixteenth birthday. They had a great time. Our room faced the back of the resort which has a very nice view of the woods and the river. The girls enjoyed the waterpark although it is smaller than others in the Dells such as Noah's Ark and Mt. Olympus. We actually arrived early on the first day and were happy to find out that our room was ready for us, so we were checked in and at the waterpark by noon. We didn't eat at the resort other that to have a snack at the tide pool bar. The waffle fry nachos were very good and impressive in the size of the order (one for all 5 of us). The price was a little high for the food, but it was nice that it was a good amount of food.
I loved that it was a few miles from the very commercialized part of the dells in a very beautiful setting which is how the dells became popular in the first place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a great view and nice sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLOC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Sloc66,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit with us. I am happy to see that your daughters sixteenth birthday was huge success and that they all had a great time.
I do hope that you and your family will be able to visit us again sometime in the near future and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Knowing that most people think in terms of 144 characters, I will try to keep this brief. 1) Waterpark is often, very crowded. If that is your primary reason to come here, don't come on a weekend and try to avoid midday. They give out WAY too many passes at other hotels to allow people to come to the waterpark. 2) We stayed in 2 bedroom condo; it was great. Best part of the visit, probably. 3) My boys said the laser tag was the best ever; nice $2500 guns w/ red dot. Reasonable price. 4) Parking stinks; they need a multi-level parking garage. 5) Be prepared to be pitched on "The Club"--a $5-6K discount program. 6) My daughter loved the inflatables area, and it was reasonably priced. 7) Buffet and restaurants--way over priced; we made many meals in our condo & saved $$.

Room Tip: Go with the condo so you can use kitchen and makes meals in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Nathan S,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent visit to the Dells. I am sorry that your some of your experience could have been more positive. The Lazar Tag is a new attraction this summer and has been a great success and great to see that your son enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to being of service to you and your family again sometime soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#59 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
644 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
5.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
979 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#38 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
485 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £95 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing