We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chula Vista Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indian Trail Motel(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hawk Motel & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Wisconsin Dells)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twi-Lite Motel(Wisconsin Dells)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Motel Resort & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Star Inn & Suites(Wisconsin Dells)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,329)
Filter reviews
2,329 results
Traveller rating
488
656
459
399
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
656
459
399
327
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschop houseunderground tunnelall inclusive packagebedroom condothe indoor water parkgreat escapefull kitchenwisconsin riverall agesoff seasonolder kidstwo queen bedsgreat resorta lot of funyear oldsmini golffamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,459 - 1,464 of 2,329 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have gone to the Chula Vista with our family and just as a couple. It never disappoints. The views over the bluffs and down to the river are absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall. The buffet is excellent for adults and children. And the rooms are spacious, clean and fresh. We really enjoy our time there and if you can get the "all inclusive" deal...it's a real winner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antwo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Antwo5,

Glad to see you had such a great time on your recent visit and thank you for being with us. Our team members appreciate your comments and feedback.
We hope to see you again soon and we will keep you updated on our specials for the coming season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We recently stayed at Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The hotel and rooms were very pleasent, nicely kept and clean. The sports bar food and drinks were good and wait staff were friendly and nice. We generally were very happy with our stay up until we got our bill. On the bill there was a $4.00 charge for "Green Initiative" which when questioned about this, we were told that "this is a fee to help the hotel to 'go green' to help them purchase new light bulbs, etc to become more energy efficiant." Not sure why this is my responsiblity??? Then there is the issue of the resort fee - which was $19.90. I realize a good majority of hotels are now charging these fees to use the pools,waterparks, etc, but when asked about this fee, I was told it was for the shuttle bus and parking. REALLY?? Bottom line - just am not happy with the extra fees that were assessed to us. When you plan on spending a certain amount for a hotel stay, that should be the amount you are charged.. We also were hounded to attend a presentation on their timeshares after we had told them NO several times.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Denise D,

Thank you so much for being with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments do help us in future planning as we move forward.
I do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future, we look forward to being of service.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed in unit # 2423 and it was excellent. Beautiful decor, kitchen with granite countertops, big whirlpool in the living room, lots of room. Loved the 2 fireplaces on the cold days when we were there. It was right on the river and had a great view of the trees and some visibility of the river. It was nice that it was a little out of town. It was more relaxing and only a 3 - 4 minute drive to the Dells.

They had tons of activities for Halloween - trick or treating, hay rides, s'mores, and a fun dance / costume contest. This is a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Unit 2423 that we stayed in was excellent, right on the river, 2 bedrooms with lots of room, and elevator went right to the underground tunnel to the water park.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaB036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Tina Bo36,

It was great to see that you and your family had such a memorable stay with us. The Halloween activites are always popular. We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the very near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Room was nice, but our relaxing evening was ruined by the sales staff hounding us to attend a presentation on their timeshares. I told the gentleman who took our reservation that we were NOT interested. That should have been enough. Beds were okay, but the pillows were horrible. The 10:30 checkout time was ridiculous. Especially when they were not at all busy. The gentleman who took our reservation neglected to share that little detail.

The hallway needed a good cleaning. There was small pieces of litter all the way down the hall. Very disappointing considering we passed two maids who walked right by without picking anything up.

Had breakfast at the buffet restaurant in the morning. Won't eat there again. Not much of a selection. The eggs were cold, and the french toast was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Tammy K,

I am happy to see we had the opportunity to serve you and for you being with us,but I apologize we did not deliver the expected experience.
Thank you for providing your feedback for this is helpful to our managers. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Overall we just had an average stay. We stayed in a studio condo room and it was a pretty nice room other than the furniture needs some major updating. The beds were horrible and sunken in..my back still hurts from them. The room also had a weird smell to it that I can't describe. I would also recommend asking that your room is close to the waterpark and restaurants. Our room was literally across the entire resort from all activities. At one point we even drove down to the other side of the resort just so we didn't have to walk a mile to eat. We didn't use the water park as it was geared more for kids. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I knew they did some remodeling.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mds0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

MDS0508,

We appreciate you beig with us on your recent visit to the Dells. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing options on our accommodations and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress. Have safe future travels and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews