We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast buffet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
Ranked #50 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The breakfast buffet at this restaurant is reasonably priced (one of the few things reasonably priced at the Kalahari resort), and has a very good spread. We never think of any other option for breakfast when staying at the Kalahari.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dkrchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant!! So amazing and so nice to be able to stay in the hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Kalahari for 2 nights and we ate and the Karoo 3 times. It was wonderful! The 1st night we had the Italian Buffet, Ashton was our waitress and she was so patient and helpful! The buffet was awesome! Some of the best pasta i've had and the kids loved it. The next day we had the breakfast buffet with an amazing amount of selections and it was so good! We also had lunch there that day and ordered off the menu. It was quick, the food was so good and the service again was so amazing! You get a view of the waterpark while your eating so that is also very entertaining.
Thank You!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoCampingJustHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very high quality restaurant that blew away my expecations!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeMoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The breakfast buffet was good. Lots of delicious choices and very fresh. The abundance of fruit was a nice touch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MinniMom2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expensive buffet with average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Pros: next to the water park entrance.

Food was average Italian buffet. Not much fruit available. Only have pizza and pastas to choose from. I was fairly disappointed with the Christmas Eve dinner.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jjkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing