We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carlos puts his heart n soul into the food.”

Colotlan Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 184 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Carlos puts his heart n soul into the food.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Dont be fooled by the exterior, the food is really delicious and the tortillas are mafe when ordered, the steal is tender and flavored to perfection, when dining ask for Carlos, he is very proud to bring the best product and value to his customers, will definitely be a must stop when in the Dells.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    6
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The food was good. Very good. Don't come here if you want atmosphere.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Ordered 3 different tacos. Chorizo (very good), steak ( excellent), & tongue (awesome). I'd always wanted to try tongue. Much better than I expected.

Chips---decent

Salsa. Ok, they called it salsa. I'd say more of a hot sauce, really.

Cheese sauce for chips---absolutely disgusting. Looks like it came from a can. My guess is it did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwesternmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The only authentic Mexican food in the Dells”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Been coming to Wisconsin Dells each year with our kids for the past 3 years and have a rule when traveling to not eat at a restaurant that we have at home. We will do a chain if its something we don't have in our home area, but really prefer a "local place". Our family also loves Mexican food and have been trying different places each year that we've come up here.

This year we discovered Colotlan Mexican Restaurant and will definitely be returning here next year. We've eaten at M...Rose and found their food to be just ok yet overpriced, however they have the view... Also tried Pedro's, which was better than the Rose, but found that they closed and are now Alamo Smokehouse. This led us to search tripadvisor & yelp for a new suggestion, which led us to Colotlan.

The Colotlan is located on Broadway in the heart of the shops in downtown Wisconsin Dells. What it lacks in decor, it makes up in good, authentic Mexican food. If you want margaritas & a view, go to the Rose & pay $$. If you want good, authentic Mexican food & family service, go to Colotlan. We called ahead to confirm seating and talked to Carlos. When we got there, Carlos came out of the kitchen & welcomed us personally. This was nice. After we got our food, he checked back to make sure we were doing ok. Overall a great dinner & we will be coming back next year.

So, look past the building exterior & decor & enjoy good, family food made fresh for you right then & there.

Also, I highly recommend the pico de gallo which is fresh daily. Make sure you have some water though, it's got some zip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Invstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and cheap!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were craving some authentic Mexican food and we saw this place online. It had positive reviews, so we decided to give it a go. We were pleased by the small and friendly atmosphere. The service was great, the food was better. The cook came out to personally thank every patron as they were leaving. Enjoyable on all counts!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kyletstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Family Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The owner was very friendly and accommodating. He made a special salsa for my husband because he cannot eat spicy foods. The owner talked to us about how much he loved his family. His family came in while we were there, and he introduced us to them. The restaurant has a warm family atmosphere with great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 518-DivaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colotlan Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colotlan Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing