We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mouse in the house!!!”
Review of Spring Brook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A mouse in the house!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We traveled to Spring Brook July 27th for a weekend to meet friends from MN. We came from a city only 2 hours away. We liked the idea of renting a house in a quieter setting with a smaller pool for four children. We arrived Friday at the home 'Backwoods Retreat'. It was anything but a retreat. The highway was a stones throw away with constant traffic noise. We were greeted with a musty smell of wet dog and a dead mouse outside the house. The exterior was not maintained. The inside was old which we were aware from choosing this house on-line. However, old and dirty is not acceptable. The shower floor was black, the furniture was stained and the kitchen table had a visible bolt trying to hold the halves together. The counter top on the bar area would have broken if a heavy person leaned too hard. The towels were like sandpaper and the bar of soap supplied was the size of a piece of gum. The worst was the furry gray visitor scooting across the kitchen floor during dinner. There were mouse poison and ant traps strategically placed around the kitchen...such a welcoming feeling when cooking for your friends and family. We immediately called the front desk and spoke with Ashely. She was going to send maintenance over with mouse traps. This was unacceptable as we did want to sleep in the house with a mouse. Ashely was trying to accommodate but did mention that she was not really scheduled to work so the office was not open until 10pm as stated on the sign. Sorry, she was obligated to help 8 people find accommodations for Friday night! She seemed very tired and lacked enthusiasm. We ended up moving to Cozy Creek at 10:30pm in the evening but were told we had to vacate at 10am because other guests for a wedding were arriving on Sat am. We had the option of moving for a THIRD time on Sat to another old house that only slept 6. We had 8 people total. The Cozy Creek was a much better upgrade of a prefab house but the black hairs in the master bed was almost too much to bear after the mouse ordeal!!! Since we really had no place to move on Saturday evening (except a 6 person old house) we chose to leave on Saturday, less than 24 hours after arriving. Jennifer helped us check out Saturday am but was a bit rude and kept referring back to a 'manager' which we never saw. We ended up having all our money refunded but would have gladly paid to spend a nice weekend with friends!! Overall, the weekend was a huge disappointment. We moved around several times and were exhausted!! We all had tons of cold food that needed refrigeration so we said our goodbyes and vowed never to visit Spring-Brook again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anns771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    22
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
51
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauconda, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We rented a house in this resort from 7/22-7/27. Internet special at the resort promised four free water park tickets for staying four nights during the week. When we checked in the office girl 1 said we had to mention it when we made the reservation to get the special. I explained i made the reservation on-line and it didnt have anywhere to do that. Girl 2 said we should have mentioned it when they called to confirm the reservation. I explained that no one called to confirm the reservation. Girl 2 explained it is their policy to call and confirm all reservations. I said that is great that you have that policy but no one called me. Girl 3 then gets off the phone and explains we had to mention it on the phone. I again explained we made the reservation over the internet and didnt talk to anyone. She explains the policy again and tells me the homeowner has to pay for the tickets thats why you have to mention it when you make the reservation. "Since i made the reservation over the internet how could i mention it?" She then looks on the computer and says jenny called you on june blah at blah at your home number. I said well since that is a work day and you just recited my home number you must have talked to my dog. She gives me the tickets and girl 1 and girl 2 are still continuing that jenny always calls because its our policy. I said "look why are we still having this discussion i have the tickets in my hand?"

Reason number two to never rent from spring brook resort: on check in we received four drink coupons (buy one get one free drinks) for the bar by the pool. Our last afternoon before leaving we decided to use them. My husband and his friend use two of the coupons for the first round. They went back for another round later and a guy pulls them aside and said they had a video tape of us stealing a stack of drink coupons.

We went into the office and the manager said it was a misunderstanding and there is no video tape and apologized. That is NO way to treat people. Horribly managed property. I have posted a complaint to the BBB.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

First off we were greeted by a grumpy old man. He did not make us feel welcome in the least. He took my name into the computer. When I told him about our coupon he said thats not accepted before 1, even though this coupon didn't say that on it. We took a minute to decide if we wanted to wait the 90 minutes. We thought that would still fit in our schedule so we said after 1 is fine. He slammed his keys erasing my name from his computer and told us we had to come back to register. I would not go back to the course because of this solely, but in addition the course was in terrible shape. It had roped off areas all of the fareways which appeared to be to help grow the grass. The course looked like an openning weekend course in April with patchy grass everywhere. The course itself is designed fine, though not very challenging. It also had some wildlife running around which was fun to see. All in all I would never come back to this place or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Laura2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a reunion here in August and we absolutely LOVED it!

Cabin
We booked the Red Oak Lodge (229 Badger CT), which was supposed to sleep 14 people max. We had 19 and still had plenty of room to spare. The rooms were spacious and clean. The furnishings were all updated and very classy. We were definitely "wowed" when we walked in! If you need cable, wifi, etc., this cabin has it.

Amenities
There's an indoor and outdoor pool, pool bar, and a bar/restaurant area. The property is also a very short drive to local amenities like convenience stores, wal mart, restaurants and bars.

Activities
You're right there in the Dells, so there's no shortage of activities! Spring Brook is great about providing a ton of information to vacationers.

Again, we had a really great time here and would definitely consider staying there again. We had no problems at all with management. Check-in/out was a breeze!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We had my sisters bachelorette party here & it was fabulous! We stayed in Bear-Paw which is a huge log cabin thats just awesome! We made a big dinner in the huge kitchen for all--then walked up to the clubhouse bar- we danced & they had a fun band--it was a blast!! The next day we swam before we checked out & headed home. Couple days later I noticed my diamond earings were missing... I called Spring Brook thinking I could've left them there..the gal checked & sure enough the cleaner turned them in! They UPS'ed them to my house & I had them the next day! How honest-- I just could not believe it! Spring Brook was great & everyone in our group just loved it there!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELOIT WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Our daughters wedding reception was at SPRING BROOK this past summer! Everything was nothing short of perfect! I don't even know where to start! Even though we don't live in the Dells we chose Spring Brook because of all the fond memories when it was just a campground when our girls were just little! The owners and exstended staff are top notch ! We had never met Lisa before our tour of all the facilities and the GORGEOUS wedding tent! More beautiful than I can describe...simply elegant.... She was outstanding from the first time we met with her until pulling out to head home after the big weekend! And believe me, we bugged her on several occassions! We had the largest reception they had ever had there yet to this day we are told by our guests how impressed they were with the food and they could not get over how quickly everyone was served! The hardest part was choosing from their exstended menu! EVERYONE went above and beyond in our opinion, even setting out all our centerpieces as well as packing them up after the reception! Since this was a destination wedding several of us rented large homes that were awesome! You can view them inside and out on line! We had an absolute blast!! I can't even begin to thank all at Spring Brook for making our daughters wedding "THE PERFECT WEDDING"!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOOZIIZQTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed with 6 adults and 8 children at the Northwoods cabin.
Loved: Size of the cabin. Huge downstairs with fooseball, bubble hockey, air hockey, basketball, poker table, bar and projection screen TV w.Xbox. Plenty of room for the adults and kids to spread out.

Dislikes: Mouse droppings in some of the kitchen drawers. Basketball return was broken & held up by a chair. When we tried to use the master bathroom's whirlpool tub brown chunks came out of the jets. Not to be defeated, we cleaned the tub and tried again. Same result. Check out is at 10am. Way too early if you're planning to make breakfast plus get everything cleaned up and put away.

All in all, the problems could easily be fixed & cleaned up. We'd still give this place another shot.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kide0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
#1 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.3 mi away
Christmas Mountain Village
Christmas Mountain Village
#28 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Brook

Property: Spring Brook
Address: 242 Lake Shore Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Brook is the premier vacation home resort in Wisconsin Dells. Set on 360 wooded acres, vacationing here is easy, the amenities appealing and the lifestyle relaxing. From fishing and swimming to golfing and dining, the scenic resort offers something for every visitor. Get away to one of over 60 vacation homes, condos or suites each fully-furnished and with its own unique view of the lake or golf course. Known as one of Wisconsin's finest 9-hole golf courses, the meticulously-groomed course is tucked away in the tall pines of Spring Brook and is a challenge to all who play. Enjoy the new Clubhouse Complex complete with indoor/outdoor pools, whirlpools, fitness room, and game room. For the outdoor enthusiast there are two fishing lakes, scenic walking trails, cross-country ski trails, snowmobile trails, and nearby downhill skiing. The Sports Bar & Grill is a local's favorite for wings, burgers and brews. Don't miss the big game, with 26 flat screen TV's in the bar and dining room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Brook Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing