We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family reunion.”
Review of Spring Brook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Spring Brook for a family reunion. We booked 2 six, and 2 three bedroom homes & some condo rooms. The staff worked with us to get homes within walking distance of each other. Great amenities, well appointed kitchens and lots of room were among the perks. We'd book there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDeeCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Last year we came with a larger group and rented the Tee House on Berry Ln. Really liked that house for a group of 8.

This year there were only four of us, so we went with Morning Perch, which is the least expensive option. Advertised as a model home, so I'm not sure if it's privately owned or not. Essentially a trailer with an add-on living room with one small bedroom w/ queen size bed and two tiny rooms with bunk beds.

The house was fine, but needs some TLC. I had accepted that it wouldn't be as nice as last year's selection, so the size wasn't a big deal, but it is in need of a deep cleaning. Flooring left our socks almost black and was visibly soiled. Some ants as well, though I understand rain will make that happen. Normally wouldn't have minded that as much, but in combination with the flooring it sort of left us feeling blah on the house. Blinds in some rooms need replaced as well. The deck area was nice, but again - needs a powerwasher or something to clean it off.

If you're looking for upscale I'd opt for a more expensive unit. If you're willing to rough it a little, the place we stayed will work out just fine. Needs to be scrubbed down though.

Still though - we really like the resort as a whole. Having the indoor/outdoor pool area is a great benefit with the unpredictable Wisco weather. Kiddie areas in both pools and a poolside bar made both young and old happy. I couldn't imagine a much more convenient location while still being away from the busy strip area. Isn't exactly quiet b/c of the interstate nearby, but in general it is much calmer than the very busy Dells.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. Special shout out to Eddie for being cool and remembering my kid's name and giving him a high five. That's what good service is all about.

Make sure to take advantage of the discounted tickets for attractions because it will save you money.

Ate one time at the restaurant and it was pretty good. Had a pizza poolside that was better than what we got at Moosejaw. The drinks were always good as well. Again, take advantage of the specials and you'll save some money there.

Played one round on the golf course. Second year I did that. The fairways are in pretty bad shape - just not a lot of ground cover at all, but it's also pretty shaded and it seemed like they'd had a lot of rain recently. Rough was virtually nonexistant, which I'm not complaining about. The greens and bunkers were in very good shape. It's not a special layout or anything, so I woudn't make it a destination course, but if you're on-site and looking to tee it up the $25 price w/ cart is reasonable.

In all, if we were headed back to the Dells we'd choose Springbrook again. The ammenities and convenience make it worthwhile, even though we didn't really like the actual house this time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spring Brook Resort offers Vacation Home Rentals. They manage private homes and represent the owners. We stayed 2 nights for a family wedding and our home's air conditioning was not working (we also had a clogged toilet) We called the desk and they sent a maintenance man fairly quickly. He fixed the toilet and said that he was unable to fix the air conditioner but would send someone out on Saturday. The evening forecast was fairly cool so we felt that would be fine. Saturday afternoon came and we still had no air. The house had a lot of large upper windows and skylights that couldn't be covered so it warmed up quite quickly. We had to get ready in the heat of the afternoon with no way to cool the house. There were 3 irons in the unit, which I though odd but felt, at least we don't have to worry about an iron. As the groom pulled out his pants and shirt, I saw that they needed to be touched up so I sent him to get the iron and the ironing board. The Iron board would not lock into place so we set it on a small child's table and went back for an iron only to find 2 irons that had something burned on them and the 3rd had a cut cord that was crudely taped back together. We didn't have time to search out a different iron so we just decided that the vest would cover the shirt and the pants would wrinkle a little with the drive to the wedding.
As we checked out on Sunday - they have an early 10AM check out - I told the desk about our lack of air and the fact that it was not fixed as we were told it would be. A gal came in and said that a 2nd maintenance person inspected the unit and that it needed to be replaced and that someone would need to do that the next week or so..... I also had him write down all the items that needed replacing or fixing in the unit and asked if we could get a discount for our lack of air conditioning. We were told that they did not have authorization to extend credits and there was nothing that could be done. I told them that I knew that someone was coming to the house that day and that they really should let them know that there was no air before they checked in. I got no reaction. I don't believe it is necessarily the owners fault that the air conditioner had died, however, we did not receive what we paid for and should have been compensated. Had we been on vacation and out all day, it may not have been an issue as the evenings were cool. However, we had to get ready in the overheated home in formal wedding attire and it was quite uncomfortable. I am shocked that there is no way to compensate for issues such as these.
The house we stayed in was Bakysaunan, 180 Cliffside. I will be calling this week to see how we can contact the owners to see if we can receive some sort of compensation and also to let them know that they should find this as unacceptable for this management group.
I do have to say that their banquet facilities were exceptional (with 2 minor issues) but I would highly recommend them and will do a separate review - I am just not so sure about the home rentals and the managements responsibilities.
We also had a group who were staying in a different home who went to the pool and were harassed by someone who asked if they were "property owners" and told them they weren't supposed to be in the pool, even though she told them they were renting a home AND they had "pool passes" and wristbands. That wasn't very friendly or welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask what the policy is if you have issues that they are unable to resolve during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMDCRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringBrookMgmt, Manager at Spring Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced a disappointing weekend stay in one of our vacation homes. We are also very happy to hear that even though you were inconvenienced by the heat in one of the homes during wedding preparations- the wedding itself went great and your family and friends enjoyed their time at the Resort. In regards to the air-conditioning issue in the home- as our night maintenance staff member had informed you- we did send staff Saturday morning to take a look at the AC unit in order to attempt to resolve the issue. In many cases repairs can be done immediately by our staff and no further professional assistance is needed. Simultaneously, the front desk staff called both the home and the phone number on file to update the guests on the status of the issue. Regrettably, we were unable to reach anyone in your party. Upon inspecting the AC unit, our maintenance staff member determined that heating and cooling professionals would be better prepared to take a look at and perhaps repair the unit. Unfortunately, he too was unable to speak with the guests as no one was in the home at the time. Immediately our staff called both a local company and the vacation home’s owner. Our homeowners take great pride and care in what they do and in this particular case- the homeowner gave us the permission to do whatever it took regardless of cost to immediately solve the issue and perform the repairs as soon as possible so that no guests would be further inconvenienced. However, upon inspection of the unit, the professionals determined that the repair work to be performed would take longer than the few hours we had hoped. We then immediately attempted again to contact the guests at both the home and the number on file. Unable to speak to anyone, we left a message informing the guests that we had a different home ready for them to move to for the remainder of their stay. Although there was staff available overnight we did not hear back from the guests until the next morning, during their departure at the time of check out. The front desk staff did not immediately offer compensation at the time of check out. However, we did manage to finally contact the guest the morning after their departure with our apologies and offered to compensate them for the inconvenience. In the meantime, the homeowner had the entire AC unit replaced with a new one so such situations could be avoided in the future.

Our Club House Facilities are only accessible by our overnight guests and members. They are not open to the public and our staff does perform periodic checks in both the indoor and outdoor pool areas. These checks are encouraged and greatly appreciated by all of our facility members and guests because they are a confirmation of our appreciation of their business and patronage. We would like to apologize if at any point the guests felt “unwelcomed” in the pool area by our staff.

Again, we are deeply sorry for the fact that you felt that the issue was not appropriately addressed by our staff. We also regret that you felt ignored by the front desk staff, management and homeowners as a guest in one of our vacation homes. We hope that the rest of your Spring Brook experience was satisfying and enjoyable. We would also like to wish all the best to the newlyweds and we hope to see you, your family and friends return to Spring Brook in the future.

Sincerely,
Spring Brook Vacation Homes Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at Springbrook for three nights. It was really nice to rent a house rather than a hotel room. We had the whole family together for the weekend. We stayed at the "Little Red Ranch" which was very roomy and nice. When you break the price down in comparison to hotels it is a much better deal for what you get. We had a full kitchen, fireplace, multiple bathrooms, a nice deck with a fire pit too! Springbrook has a really nice Lodging office area with a restaurant, bar, and indoor / outdoor pools, and a small workout area. The staff was really nice and accommodating. We will definitely be back and probably rent two houses with more family members.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Little Red Ranch. Its really much larger than we expected. The basement is huge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in March 2014 with friends in the resort owned condo's. We rented a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom on the second floor. The resort is small with mostly private homes that are also available for rent. The grounds are nothing special but I believe do include a golf course. The main lodge is a large log cabin with a bar and grill which was very good! The indoor pool is small but adequate and has a splash pad for kids. The outdoor pool was on the smaller side but also had a splash pad and wasn't bad as there's lots of water parks near by and they also offer you discount tickets.

Our room was very nice, a log cabin feel with fireplace, flat screen TV's in every room. Leather furniture, stainless appliances. The room and lodge were very well kept and clean. The service was really top notch every time we called we got a response right away and they were very helpful. It was really a cute little resort that I would return to!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The theory behind our family reunion: rent a big cabin with a full kitchen so we can save money and hang out in a private space, chatting until the wee hours without bothering anyone.

Spring Brook couldn't have been better for us.

We rented one of (if not the) largest cabin on the property - 240 Berry Lane/Champagne Chalet - that held 18. It's a gigantic cabin. Nice space. No complaints (I mean, the decor is Northwoods chic, which is horrible, but that's just my taste). Kitchen was adequately stocked - I brought a few things for the particular recipes I was making but that wasn't strictly necessary. Bedrooms were nice and comfortable. Having a game room was a great bonus. Wifi was a little slow but solid connection.

No one went up to the pool or the bar so I can't speak to those facilities. Main office had firewood and ice for sale. We were able to park all the cars in the driveway but were offered parking passes for overflow if we had needed to move cars up to the main lot. We visited in February so I can't speak to the outdoor space but it looked nice. I would have loved to be able to use the deck and fire pit. We didn't call housekeeping and there isn't daily housekeeping in the cabins (this is standard, it was the same at the other resort we had used).

Let's talk about value. The previous two reunions we had rented a nearly identical cabin at the Wilderness Resort. Seriously almost identical, right from the same ersatz kit-cabin design book. I think both had the same antler chandelier. The only difference is whether or not you want water park access included in the price. If you don't want water park access you can save a TON of money by choosing Spring Brook. The youngest family member we had (other than an infant) was 18 so we decided it wasn't necessary. Folks went to the casino instead. For a 3 day vacation we saved approximately 40% compared to the previous year.

Highly recommended - will be using again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our family of three (two adults, one child) stayed at a house through Spring Brook for two nights in October 2013. First, it was easy to reserve the house online and the staff was friendly any time we contacted them with questions. The lady who helped us check in at the office was friendly and helpful and our house was gorgeous; it was exactly like the online pictures. You could hear the interstate traffic from our location but it wasn’t disruptive and otherwise it was quiet. The house itself was clean but when we went to use kitchen utensils and pans, we found that the prior visitors of the house didn’t clean up after themselves very well and we had to wash many things prior to use. We found it was still worth it to stay here over a hotel because of the privacy, the full kitchen to cook our own meals, plenty of room for our son to play, and it was much quieter than a hotel. It was a real home away from home and we will absolutely stay at Spring Brook again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_in_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
399 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
#10 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#11 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
Delton Grand Resort & Spa
#1 of 23 in Wisconsin Dells
694 reviews
3.6 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#7 of 23 in Wisconsin Dells
74 reviews
2.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Brook

Address: 242 Lake Shore Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-8795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Brook is the premier vacation home resort in Wisconsin Dells. Set on 360 wooded acres, vacationing here is easy, the amenities appealing and the lifestyle relaxing. From fishing and swimming to golfing and dining, the scenic resort offers something for every visitor. Get away to one of over 60 vacation homes, condos or suites each fully-furnished and with its own unique view of the lake or golf course. Known as one of Wisconsin's finest 9-hole golf courses, the meticulously-groomed course is tucked away in the tall pines of Spring Brook and is a challenge to all who play. Enjoy the new Clubhouse Complex complete with indoor/outdoor pools, whirlpools, fitness room, and game room. For the outdoor enthusiast there are two fishing lakes, scenic walking trails, cross-country ski trails, snowmobile trails, and nearby downhill skiing. The Sports Bar & Grill is a local's favorite for wings, burgers and brews. Don't miss the big game, with 28 flat screen TV's in the bar and dining room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spring Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Brook Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing