We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wilderness resort never fails to impress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wilderness resort never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The wilderness at the dells is amazing, have stayed here many times. I recommend staying in the Glacier canyon suites. The rooms are very clean and spacious! We just returned from our trip and once again the resort does not disappoint. The water parks are very clean and numerous. The resort is quite large but you can have a shuttle pick you up and take you to the different sections. We found it just as easy to walk. There is a nice hiking path behind glacier canyon. My kids loved all the pools, but said it was annoying that people that couldn't swim kept going in the wave pool and kept having to get rescued! A little tip here...if you can't swim, do not do the wave pool! They literally have to shut down the wave action to rescue people that have problems swimming in it numerous times! The life guards are great about it, but seriously they have warning signs up! The only complaint I have is the towel policy is ridiculous. They give you beach towel cars when you check in....1 for each person in your suite. You exchange those for towels when you go down to the pool area and then turn in the towels to get your card back. If you do to have 4 of these towels in your room or 4 of the cards in your room when you leave they say they will charge you $25.00 for each towel. Seriously the towels are probably worth 2.99 each. Anyway we figured out its just easier to bring your own beach towels then to go through all that. The checking process was very slow this time, but this is not usually the case. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Level 3 gets a lot of foot traffic but is convenient to get to everything. Unit 5 is the furthest fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    797
    363
    211
    214
See reviews for
2,026
135
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Wilderness Resort is our favorite vacation destination. There is something for everyone to enjoy. The staff and amenities are amazing. The condos are great for small kids. They have full kitchens and separate bedrooms for naps. We just got home, and can't wait to start planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Getting a condo or cabin is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family of three spent 2 days here in August, 2013.
Accommodations: We stayed in a 2 queen room with a pull-out sofa in the Wilderness Hotel. I am guessing that this is the oldest area of the resort. The hotel interior was rather dated and had a very strong and unpleasant co-mingled food odor the entire length of our stay. The waiting area for the elevator was very small and it was hard to maneuver bags and/or a luggage cart in and out of the elevator. The walls were just absolutely banged up - especially in the elevator area - from people trying to maneuver in tight spaces. Our room/bathroom were clean, but dated. The carpet was hopelessly stretched in numerous places and needed to be replaced. We had a microwave, fridge, and wet bar area which made in easy to eat in the room and avoid the high cost of resort food. There were 2 TV's which kept my husband and teen happy. We had a small balcony overlooking a natural area. The air unit was just completely coated with dust which was unpleasant as it was just inches from one of the beds at eye level where I was trying to sleep. The room was unpleasantly humid with all the drying clothes from the water park. The air unit didn't seem to help this much. Overall the accommodation could have been nicer, but was not much more expensive than a plain old hotel room elsewhere. If we ever visit again, I would stay in a newer area of the resort.
Resort: We enjoyed the water parks for 2 days in late August. I liked that the water parks were only open to resort guests. I am not sure how full the entire resort was, but the parking area around our building was almost entirely full for the length of our stay. While the indoor water park areas were definitely hopping (the outdoor ones less so), there were minimal to no wait times for the majority of the water features. Some of the thrill rides had 15-30 minute waits. All the water parks were very clean and well maintained. I have been to lots of filthy water parks and was really happy that this was not one of them. There really was something for everyone. We tried out 3 indoor and 3 outdoor water parks and each of us had a different favorite. I liked the numerous smaller water parks (as opposed to 1 large park). Each had different theming. All were small enough that we could split up in a park and easily find each other later. The covered indoor walkways were not really necessary for our August stay, but were nice. Since we were only here for a few days, we did not have a chance to try out many of the other resort features, but the zip line and ropes courses looked fun. I really think a 3 night stay would be plenty to enjoy the water parks and other resort features.
Food was expensive, but not outrageous. We had lunch in the park so we could get back to the fun quickly then ordered in Dominoes one night and took a quick drive to drive one of the numerous nearby restaurants another night. All-in-all we had a really fun visit. If we were ever in the area again, I would definitely choose Wilderness. I would recommend the resort to my friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MySweetKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our second trip to the Wilderness Resort and again we had a nice time. We are from Syracuse, NY and visit family in Wisconsin and went up to the Dells for 2 days.

We rented a 3 Bedroom Golfcourse Cottage which was great as we had 5 adults anf 2 children. Although it's advertised as 3 bedrooms, it's actually larger, there are three bedrooms on the first floor, one with a king size bed and master bath, one with a queen size bed and a bunk bed room which the kids loved. Then upstairs there is a loft bedroom with a double bed. Only downfall is no door or bathroom, but we didn't mind this at all.

The beds all seem very comfortable, only issue we had is pillows seem very flat but oh well. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, and basic cook utentials so it was perfect for us.

There is a shuttle to the water parks but we just drove over each time we wanted to go.

Waterparks where great although they seem spread out - there are a bunch of little parks throughout the sprawling resort so be prepared to be on the move if you want to hit all the good slides. Each one had some of our favorites!

All in all we are already planning our visit to the Dells next year when we come back to visit.

Please feel free to email me specific questions.

We where there August 12 - 14th and it didn't seem overly Crowded. Our cabin was # 28

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylad2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great place!!! My there were four of us. We took my Mother along ..the convenience of our location to pools and other activities was amazing!!! We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools!!!
We especially love the wave pool!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annajohnrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times and almost always stay at Glacier Canyon Lodge with the 4 boys. The resort is clean, easy to get around and for the most part people staying there are pleasant. It is not a little pricey but you get great and safe waterparks with the room So worthwhile if you have several children or going with a group. Also they don't allow people who are not staying at the hotels so keeps down the crowds some.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Saint Paul
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place was huge. 1st... room was clean and bigger that a normal hotel room. We stayed in the hotel part of the complex. It was in our price range.
2nd...the water parks were great, I wish they had more water slides that were not dark. More slides in and out would have been good.
3rd...we were tired, the place is huge and keeps you busy.
4th..would good again the only bad part is they nickle and dime you for everything. Pretty expensive but would go again. My friend stayed at another place down the street the same 2 days as we did and did not have the positive experience we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing