We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TIME AND LAST TIME”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“FIRST TIME AND LAST TIME”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells August 26th - 30th. We booked off season on a special $583.00 for three nights. There were 6 of us ages 56, 30, 30, 24, 9, 6. We stayed in the Frontier section room 690, 2 double beds, sofa sleeper and a small balcony with 2 PVC chairs & small table facing the forest. The rooms have a Northwood's décor and are about standard size wise. The beds were "extremely hard" and the "pillows were even harder". Our room was clean, nice carpet, mini fridge, microwave and a coffee maker. Housekeeping came like clock work about 10am.
The property itself is massive. To big in my opinion to enjoy yourself. There are shuttles (RED, GREEN and BLUE) that will take you where ever you want to go, there are also employees that drive golf carts that will take you anywhere. There is a water taxi (Pontoon boat) that gos across the lake, and Horse dawn carriages rides for free (Wednesday, Friday, Saturday & Sunday) ALL modes of transportation EXPECT TIPS and TIP JARS are all over the place. The arcades work on PAY CARDS which cost .50. You purchase, load and reload your cards at machines. You swipe you card to play the arcade games. A credit is .25 most of the games are 2-4 credits, but others are more expensive. If the machine isn't working (which allot are not, and have NO signs) you loose your credits. They DO NOT REFUND as its a game of chance!
The resort is broke down in sections, New Frontier, Wild West, Glacier Canyon, Wilderness on the Lake and so forth. Each section has about 1000 rooms. The layout of the place is horrible you will walk and walk and walk so more. Directions are somewhat non-existent.
Each section has numerous additional activities that cost money. You can purchase a "Fun Pass" for $19.00 a good idea if your wanting to do more than 3 things. Not everything is available on the Fun Pass. If you want to go into an attraction with your younger child, my youngest granddaughter is 6 (like 3D golf which is Black light) you need a pass too! Parents are not aloud. The Haunted House scared the *&%# out of my 24 year old son and 9 year old granddaughter. And while we were there a woman about my age (56) ended up with a dislocated shoulder doing the Bumper boat attraction in the New Frontier area. We had dinner one night at the Survivor Bar & Grill. Two kids meals, 2 plates of Nachos, 2 burgers with fry's and pops $75.00! Two of us had the Breakfast Buffett $13.99 per person, but $3.00 for OJ. Good overall selection and the food was good.
In closing its a lovely resort with allot to offer but over whelming. Too much walking or standing around waiting for shuttles and too much extras for spending more money. We have gone to the Dells every year for over 30 years, and have stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge but the kids wanted to try the Wilderness this year. Next year we will be back at the Great Wolf!

Room Tip: Do your research ask for a room near the waterpark that fits your kids age category. Rooms that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwondrasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    819
    386
    220
    220
See reviews for
2,113
136
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, WI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel needs to be updated-stained carpet, thin dingy towels, not very nice bed linens. This was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. For a resort, I expected better. Stayed in the Glacier Canyon condos about 5 years ago, those were nice. Thought the hotel would be a lot better. The waterparks are nice - a lot of walking between all of them. Taking a shuttle was nice, or the golf cart a few times. Wouldn't stay here in winter, wouldn't want to walk back and forth between the indoor parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This resort is a bit away from the main resort,but is a great place. The 2 bedroom condo was great .The washer and dryer came in handy. The 2 beds in the 1st bedroom are at the back so great for the sleeping teens and the bathroom was right next to them. The kitchen and livingroom were spacious. And the King bedroom was huge ,the ensuite was Also large . Nice feature was the whirlpool room It was a nice place to have coffee in the morning. Plenty of space to spread out and relax. The bar-b-ques were also a nice feature ,along with the fire pits on the patio. We also saw them being cleaned each morning which was very nice to see. We found the waterparks were great! My kids thought they were better than Noah's Ark !( wasted my money there). The shuttles were quick to get you to the other waterparks and staff were very friendly. Overall a great place to stay in the summer months when you need to travel to get to the bigger waterparks. The indoor waterpark is geared for the younger kids at this resort. The outdoor pool are has a small younger kid area and a nice infinity pool with an area roped off to allw you to do laps. There is also a fitness room with a small weight machine 2 treadmills and 2 elipical machines. There is also a walking path so you can walk near the lake, and a small beach area with chairs and a swim area

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in the Retreat Cabin E, loved it! It was a great space for our entire extended family. We slept 10 adults, (married) and 6 unmarried & young adults. The room arrangements were perfect for us. The rooms are all very spacious. The big kitchen was nice for fixin meals and serving them. the wrap around deck had seating for 8. But plenty of room for more chairs. Which I feel they needed. A gas barbeque grill. We were worried that it being off site would make it difficult to enjoy the waterparks efficiently. But the shuttles were timely and most of the drivers were friendly and courteous, sometimes its hard to get that many people out of the cabin at the same time and on a shuttle. you need patient drivers.
The Waterparks I believe for a resort are OUTSTANDING! So many options for everyone's interest level. We also rented cabana's in two of the main area's Lost World cabana was a great location, but we had a hard time convincing the reservation staff that we wanted to be near a zero clearance pool area vs a deep pool area. We had little kids that we wanted to be able to play right outside the cabana, they need to be a little more accommodating to preferences. The cabana at the Wild Waterdome was especially nice because it had a mini fridge and it was air conditioned. Also it was a quiet space for the little guys to nap. Some of our group did the go carts said it wasn't worth the price and that the carts had no power. Others took advantage of the packaged play deal, good value. I have included some pix of the cabin because it was hard to find this particular cabin online.
Other notes: We never ran out of Hot Water and the washer and dryer was great. They brought us towels once and that seemed to hold us. Things to bring that weren't provided was few. They don't state that the cabin has a blender but it did.
We could've used more kitchen towels and we resorted to using bathroom hand towels. Bring lots of paper towels. I would've like to see the cabin have a beverage fridge. it had a small mini fridge in the basement but was not big enough and also not near the general traffic zone of the deck and main living where everyone hung out.
We did have one sort of major problem the air conditioning unit was having major issues and considering it was actually mild temps it could not keep up at all. It was checked out by maintenance twice with no real solution. The resort did give a fairly decent discount for the inconvenience but having it cool when u have been outside waterparking all day is important.
Side note this cabin also supplies a pack and play for sleeping the very small.

Room Tip: for Large family gathering check out the off site cabin homes they were great. the retreat cabin ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton Grove
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here this past August for a few days and have stayed here previously (usually in November) over the past 12 years. While growth at this resort was evident during these 12 years and expansion and services broadened to serve the demand, I feel that a "sense of quality" in their services has slipped. The hotel has various area's that need some investment in new carpeting, wall coverings, restaurant offerings, etc....

Further, we stayed at Glacier Canyon Lodge this time (one of the newer additions to the property) but the downside is it takes so long to walk from one area of the lodge to the other especially if you want to visit in the front lobby area where there is a restaurant, game room, sundries shop etc... They might want to think about investing in a different type of transportation capability so the guests can be better accomodated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have never stayed at the Wilderness before and were pleasantly surprised! Our room was very nice and the kids loved the variety of water parks to chose from! We will certainly stay at the Wilderness again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul Park, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place for families and small children.....only complaint was the amount of walking from place to place. I would certainly recommend a stroller for younger ones. It had activities for all ages and everything you could need. I plan on staying here next year, there is no need to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing