We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Valley, MN
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I took my boys here while my husband was on a business trip to Switzerland. He has no desire to go to a waterpark so we went while he was gone. So it was just me and the boys.

First off, check in was easy. I got a first floor room next to Klondike Kaverns. The room was perfectly fine except for the pillows and the lighting is dim. The room was clean and there was plenty of room. There is simply no place to hang up wet swimsuits though except drape them over the tub. The food is very overpriced. I paid over $37 for some sandwiches, a slice of pizza, and some drinks.

The resort is very big. Be prepared to walk and walk and walk between waterparks.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    796
    363
    211
    214
See reviews for
2,024
135
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

So I am not a Dells fan. We came here because we were on the way to MN for a wedding. We had heard the Wilderness was nice and it was ok. The rooms were very tired and kind of dirty. The beds were rock hard and linens scratchy. The water parks were showing age. Lots of rust and just kind of tired. The kids had a blast and that, and also the fact we were there for less than 24 hours, were the only saving grace. Oh, and they serve beer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our family of five just spent a long four day weekend at Wilderness on the Lake and had an absolute blast!!! The water parks were all fabulous and everyone was extremely helpful and accommodating!!! Our daughters said they liked it better than Disney!! We will for sure return again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 460Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have been to the Wilderness several times. There is so much to do that it never gets old! The staff is great, the rooms are comfortable, the parks are a blast. We keep the refrigerator in our room stocked with plenty of treats as everyone works up an appetite playing as hard as they do!

Room Tip: Pick a room appropriate to the number of travelers and the amenities you need! I love to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at one of the condo's(blocks of 4) around the wilderness. There was a LOT of space in the condo for the 7.5 of us but the condo itself was average. The water indoor water parks are small and spread out but I am sure it would be better when everything is open in the summertime. The staff everywhere is very nice and helpful. Would stay there again but might try prime time during the week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Gigantic resort with 3 indoor water park areas, several bars and restaurants, and a variety of activities.

The room was beautiful. 2 queen beds, couch, coffee table, small dining table and chairs. Tv, fridge and microwave. Excellent shower. All themed to a woodsy feeling.

Pools: Almost too much to tell. Giant wave pool under a dome, making you almost feel outside. Tropical plants everywhere. Another area was Wild West themed with many slides and a lazy river. Finally there was an area with a huge kids area and more slides. Lifeguards everywhere. Despite being a Saturday night, we were always able to find a table.

The pools were crowded, but we never felt overwhelmed.

Activities: We had a good time at the arcade. Out of the 100's of machines, we only found ONE that didn't work! Well maintained! Our son did a Ropes Course that consisted of him being put into a harness and then being able to cross a variety of obstacles all above the arcade! He had a great time. There were also bumper boats, mini golf, and a giant play area. All inside!

Food & Drink: A little pricy, but not more than we expected to pay at a resort. We ate at the Thirsty Buffalo and had good food & great service. They had a nice house beer on tap also (a dark amber ale.)

Downsides: It can be a walk to go from waterpark to waterpark. Some of the other activities will cost you money.

Overall, we had a great time and can't wait to go back in warmer weather when the outdoor pools and parks are open also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had last visited the Wilderness four years ago and I gave it a 3 star rating at that time. Now, the 3 indoor water parks were essentially the same except they've added entirely too many rooms to the resort. The walk to a particular water park might take you the better part of 15 minutes (possibly one-half mile). The overcrowding made the water parks an ordeal. Our condo was in the Glacier Lodge and was okay except for some very annoying shortcomings. First, the kitchen is supplied with the absolute bare minimum utensils, pots, pans, etc. The second bathroom is only a sink and stool. With four children in our group we needed a second shower. Beds were okay. I would have given the experience a higher rating except for the overcrowding in the water parks (even on a weekday in the Fall) made the visit painful. Also, the pricing for extra activities and food were outrageous ($3.50 for a cup of chocolate milk!). Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jblck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing