We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would've been more fun if it wasn't for the rude staff resort-wide.”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've only stayed at the Kalahari when going to the Dells. This time we wanted to try something different, bad idea.

Good points:
- It was clean overall
- The water was warm enough
- The food was good enough

Not-So-Good Points:
- Customer service stinks from the front desk to maintenance to the storekeepers to the arcade employees. The bartender at the Taproom and our waitress at the buffet were exceptions.
- Sit-down restaurants were harder too few and in-between.
- The food at all the eateries were adequate at best.
- In-room TVs were not flatscreen

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ASZWeilands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a "3 bedroom" unit for 5 adults and 4 kids in the Glacier Canyon Lodge. As it turned out, there was more than enough space for everyone, but it was not really a 3 bedroom unit. It was actually a 2 bedroom unit with an adjoining room.

The room was clean and pretty spacious. The two armchairs were pretty worn and I felt that for the $400+ off-season rate per night, they could afford to replace or at least reupholster them. The part we felt was unacceptable was that the two bedrooms in the two-bedroom suite side did not have any heat supplied to them! At a year-round resort in Wisconsin where cold temperatures are expected for many months out of the year, and where temperatures were below zero the two nights that we were there, you would think that there would be heat supplied to the individual rooms. When we called about it, they explained to us that we would just need to leave the bedroom doors open so that the heat could trickle in from the main area. Except that leaving the doors open didn't actually work. It was still at least 15 degrees colder in the rooms compared to the main area. Plus, last time I checked, the whole idea of getting a place with separate bedrooms is for privacy! I just don't get it. With as much heat the resort has to pump into the waterparks to keep them warm that time of year, why skimp on an extra vent into the bedrooms?! I would have rated this property a 4, but there is just no excuse for no heat in the bedrooms.

The water parks were great, as usual. They are always fun for the kids. There were lots of people on Saturday, and chairs can be hard to find in some of the areas. There is a lot of staff present, and felt my kids were always safe. We have found that there is oftentimes a language barrier, however, that can make it difficult to communicate questions or concerns to the staff. I think many of the staff may be there doing internships from foreign countries.

Service at some of the on-site restaurants is lacking, as nobody actually acts like they enjoy working there. We felt that this time at the Thirsty Buffalo Saloon, as we have at previous visits, that our presence was an inconvenience to the workers there. It took a long time for the food and the restaurant wasn't even busy. We have found that they are oftentimes less than accommodating to their guests. We wanted to eat in the "outside" area since it is a little warmer in the pool area (kids in swimsuits, etc.), which is just outside a set of glass doors. But that area apparently is "take-out" only. I don't think it would take that much more energy to indulge the guests' requests and provide food service for paying (and tipping) customers to the "outside" area. It's merely a difference of walking out the glass doors. How many restaurants have you been to where you're told if you eat outside on the patio, you'll have to order at the bar and take it out yourself? None for me, personally. The food is pretty decent, all things considered. But, why go to a place you don't feel appreciated when there are many other good restaurants available in town? For us, the only answer is convenience of staying on-site with wet kids, but that is a terrible reason to sacrifice service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Like2Travel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed a Thursday night and a Friday night. We stayed in a 2 queen and sofa sleeper room with a wooded view. My sister stayed in a more expensive room Fri and Sat. The only difference I saw in our rooms was they had an extra tv and a half wall seperating the couch from the beds. Our cheaper room seemed more spacious because of the missing wall. Rooms were average. I wish the big waterpark was open during the week but we gott to go tthere Fri after 3. Ate at Survivors, that was excellent! The Whispering canyon cafe morning buffet was not a good value for the price (over $60 for 2 adults 1 13year-old 2 free kids and milks for everyone) but if you insist on trying it be there when the open the doors. Within 30 mins of open there is a wait.
The chlorine content is extremely high. Our whole family got red and splotchy from it. Had I realized this I would have brought my daughters ecsema (sp?) Lotion as it got really bad by the second night. It was bad enough that my 7 year-old son who hates showering ended up asking us if he could shower twice a day.
Overall it was a good mini vacation but we were definitaly ready to leave Sat morning before it got packed! (The hotel was booked at full capacity sat. Night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Last year, instead of giving Christmas gifts to my daughters and their families, we decided to pay for a family winter vacation to the Wilderness Waterpark in Wisconsin Dells. We rented a condo so we could all stay together for the weekend. I was afraid having fourteen of us together would be cramped, but it was perfect. So perfect that we went again this year. This year's condo had bunk beds and a trundle instead of the double beds we had last year. This worked out well with our grandchildren, but made me realize that next year I need to check for what type of beds we'll have to be sure they're what we need. The whole trip was great and we plan to make it an annual event.

Room Tip: Already put it in the description
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProudMomof3and7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My adult disabled son had a seizure on the wave pool deck. The staff was exceptional. What could have been extremely serious was handled with speed and sensitively. We have been to Chula, Wolf, and Calahari and I would recommend Wilderness above all three.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room facing the woods. Very private balcony and no need to shut drapes for priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here around Christmas time. First time at this location and will be the last time. The room was okay, but the 1 shuttle driver that picked us up and took us to the waterpark was a jerk. We asked which waterpark he thought was best, and he gave us nothing but attitude. Not all were like that, but one in particular. The waterpark(s) here are spread out and its confusing to navigate, as is the whole complex. Most of the rides are less than spectacular. The wave pool was pretty good though. Staff is young and inexpericenced and unable to help answer some of the basic questions. The towel cards are a pain!!! Next time I will pay a little more and stay at Kalahari or Chula Vista.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

3rd stay for us with early grade school grandchildren. Always enjoyable (til I can't climb waterslide stairs anymore; turning 60 this year!) Attractions well designed for all ages. Total INDOOR trekking to waterparks from main lodge is GREAT! Clean towel swap at all parks is convenient, keeps personal towels dry for hallway travels. Discount mail offers are appreciated. Wilderness keeps us coming back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
720 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
652 reviews
3 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#29 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
973 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wisconsin Dells
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Wi...
#8 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range: £67 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have an indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf course; a ropes course, virtual reality gaming for up to 7 players, outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing