We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go anywhere else”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go anywhere else”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just save yourself the time and headache. Pool water is cold in winter so your toddlers can turn blue and freeze. Then you ask for a towel and they say give us the towel cards which is the funniest policy. Towel cards? No thanks I will go to Kalahari and just grab my own towels and dispose of them. Then you walk 4 miles to get to the pools indoors half of the patch ice cold with bathing suits on. We left in middle of night. I decided that the snowy roads to Chicago were better than sleeping at this dump again. They ruined the families Valentines day weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daughters P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    819
    386
    220
    220
See reviews for
2,113
136
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiance and I decided to go to the dells for Valentines weekend and we stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake. EXCELLENT choice. For only $200 we got a beautiful condo with two bedrooms, two bath and jacuzzi whirlpool. Staff was very friendly, water parks were awesome and overall stay was great. Even check out was 11 (at most places its 10:30) so that was a plus as well. The one and only thing that was a hassle was taking the shuttle to the waterparks. Since it was cold out it was just a pain to wait for a shuttle soaking wet. Definately reccomend for families, getaways or just for something to do.

Room Tip: For couples with no waterpark interest : Wilderness on the Lake. For families with interest in water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBerger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

To sum it all up, our family had a super time! Can't wait to go back this summer(If our finances allow it). We loved the cabin we stayed in. It was very spacious and fully stocked. If we had decided that we didnt want to go to the water park, we wouldn't have had to leave the room for anything. It was very clean and the decor was very adorable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

They have, by a landslide, the most activities and water features; too bad the water was freezing. We went in March, all inside, and the water was cold that we spent most of the time in the indoor/outdoor hot tub. Our freezing hair was the most exciting part of it. I have stayed at all the big hotels in the Dells,ie Kalahari, Great Wolf, and Mt. Olympus, I will NOT be returning to the Wilderness. Aside from the freezing water, the rest of the hotel was awesome. I have no complaints there, and the staff was more than friendly. I mean that in the most platonic way. I would give it a try, but if you want advice from someone who has been to all of them, multiple times, take it from me, spend the money elsewhere, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed a Sunday-Monday in the hopes that there would be less people, that was not the case, which is unpreventable and not the resorts problem. The check-out line went quite well and I was pleased that we were able to check in early. When we put the reservations in we requested a room with a wooded view and ended up with a parking lot view. We're not terribly picky people and didn't want to deal with dealing with carrying our stuff to another room so we just let it be. The room was average, but it was clean. The mini fridge was very unsteady and almost tipped over and the carpret in cetain areas was raveling. Our room was in the ideal location as we were close to all of the waterparks so that was really nice since we had our 2 children with us 7 and 3.

The Timberland play area was very nice, the children had alot of fun playing in it. We were there right when it opened and did see 2 employees cleaning most of the surfaces of it on the lower leve. My only suggestion for improvement is that the hotel supply anit-bacterial. With kids crawling around on their hands and knees there should have been at least on hand sanitizing station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've only stayed at the Kalahari when going to the Dells. This time we wanted to try something different, bad idea.

Good points:
- It was clean overall
- The water was warm enough
- The food was good enough

Not-So-Good Points:
- Customer service stinks from the front desk to maintenance to the storekeepers to the arcade employees. The bartender at the Taproom and our waitress at the buffet were exceptions.
- Sit-down restaurants were harder too few and in-between.
- The food at all the eateries were adequate at best.
- In-room TVs were not flatscreen

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ASZWeilands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a "3 bedroom" unit for 5 adults and 4 kids in the Glacier Canyon Lodge. As it turned out, there was more than enough space for everyone, but it was not really a 3 bedroom unit. It was actually a 2 bedroom unit with an adjoining room.

The room was clean and pretty spacious. The two armchairs were pretty worn and I felt that for the $400+ off-season rate per night, they could afford to replace or at least reupholster them. The part we felt was unacceptable was that the two bedrooms in the two-bedroom suite side did not have any heat supplied to them! At a year-round resort in Wisconsin where cold temperatures are expected for many months out of the year, and where temperatures were below zero the two nights that we were there, you would think that there would be heat supplied to the individual rooms. When we called about it, they explained to us that we would just need to leave the bedroom doors open so that the heat could trickle in from the main area. Except that leaving the doors open didn't actually work. It was still at least 15 degrees colder in the rooms compared to the main area. Plus, last time I checked, the whole idea of getting a place with separate bedrooms is for privacy! I just don't get it. With as much heat the resort has to pump into the waterparks to keep them warm that time of year, why skimp on an extra vent into the bedrooms?! I would have rated this property a 4, but there is just no excuse for no heat in the bedrooms.

The water parks were great, as usual. They are always fun for the kids. There were lots of people on Saturday, and chairs can be hard to find in some of the areas. There is a lot of staff present, and felt my kids were always safe. We have found that there is oftentimes a language barrier, however, that can make it difficult to communicate questions or concerns to the staff. I think many of the staff may be there doing internships from foreign countries.

Service at some of the on-site restaurants is lacking, as nobody actually acts like they enjoy working there. We felt that this time at the Thirsty Buffalo Saloon, as we have at previous visits, that our presence was an inconvenience to the workers there. It took a long time for the food and the restaurant wasn't even busy. We have found that they are oftentimes less than accommodating to their guests. We wanted to eat in the "outside" area since it is a little warmer in the pool area (kids in swimsuits, etc.), which is just outside a set of glass doors. But that area apparently is "take-out" only. I don't think it would take that much more energy to indulge the guests' requests and provide food service for paying (and tipping) customers to the "outside" area. It's merely a difference of walking out the glass doors. How many restaurants have you been to where you're told if you eat outside on the patio, you'll have to order at the bar and take it out yourself? None for me, personally. The food is pretty decent, all things considered. But, why go to a place you don't feel appreciated when there are many other good restaurants available in town? For us, the only answer is convenience of staying on-site with wet kids, but that is a terrible reason to sacrifice service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Like2Travel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing