We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Wisconsin Dells - Any season!!”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place to stay in Wisconsin Dells - Any season!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've stayed here every year for the past 15 years, from basic hotel rooms to 5 bedroom Media Cabins and have enjoyed our stay each and every time!

There's always something to do and very friendly, and helpful staff.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The vacation Villas - phase one are the closest to the funnest pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    830
    390
    224
    222
See reviews for
2,148
137
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Love it had a great time!! Read all bad reviews!! Glad we didn't listen. It was a large resort so if you have trouble with walking it might not be for you:) they do have a shuttle or golf cart to take you around

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madelynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here two nights with family. Room's are getting old at the Wilderness. We stayed at the Great Wolfe a couple months ago and their rooms where much cleaner and more well kept. The rooms here were dirty, walls were paper thin, and overall just needed a good cleaning. Our room was on the 2nd floor not to far from the check in area. There were kids running in the hallways until 12:00 AM. Then they went into their room next door to us and we could hear them talking and sliding open their patio door. Overall rooms are a 2 star. Bed's were very uncomfortable.

The water parks were wonderful with the exception of the Wild West being closed during the week.
I would stay here again but I would probably stay at one of the newer buildings...overall not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaGeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday nights of President's weekend at Wilderness resort with our two young daughters (ages 6 & 8) and another family with an 8-year old. We had a great time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa, the other family stayed in a room in the main lodge. Here are some of my key takeaways:

1) Was a fun place for a weekend getaway...looks like it would be fun in the summer as well. Think you could stay longer and not get bored.

2) As a family of 4, staying in a condo in the winter was a mistake. We thought it would be nice to have a separate sleeping from the kids, but we didn't spend that much time in the room and getting back and forth with the cold and snow was a pain. If you have a bigger group or are going in the summer when in is warm, then a condo or villa is probably a great option as it was spacious and clean and pretty nice, but it was pretty inconvenient for our short winter stay.

2) Food was just OK, but that is to be expected. Only inexcusable thing was that some of the resort restaurants use peanut oil in their deep fryers. For a place that caters to families in this day and age of widespread peanut allergies, that just seems stupid. We were unable to eat is some of the restaurants because of this.

3) Breakfast buffet with kids eating free was not a bad deal.

4) Fun pass was a waste of money, we only did one of the things…2 days was too short for it to be worthwhile as the kids were happy swimming during the day and playing in the arcade at night.

5) Wish we had showed up earlier on Friday to get some swimming in that day as it is much easier to swim before your room is ready and then have it available when you are done than to swim on the last day when you have no good place to shower and change to drive home.

6) Staff was generally friendly from check-in folks to the life guards to the shuttle drivers to the overwhelmed waitresses. Property was at or pretty close to capacity and was still enjoyable.

Would plan better next time, but would definitely go back.

Room Tip: As a family of 4, staying in a condo in the winter was a mistake. We thought it would be nice to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessResort, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We wanted to clarify two things with you.

1. We spoke to our food and beverage manager and confirmed that we absolutely do not use peanut oil any of our fryers so please email us at info@wildernessresort.com to let us know who told you this because it is definitely not accurate.

2. If you didn't use up your Wild Fun Passes please don't throw them out. They never expire so you can use them during future visits. :)

Finally, thanks for vacationing at our property! We appreciate your business and the time you took to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just save yourself the time and headache. Pool water is cold in winter so your toddlers can turn blue and freeze. Then you ask for a towel and they say give us the towel cards which is the funniest policy. Towel cards? No thanks I will go to Kalahari and just grab my own towels and dispose of them. Then you walk 4 miles to get to the pools indoors half of the patch ice cold with bathing suits on. We left in middle of night. I decided that the snowy roads to Chicago were better than sleeping at this dump again. They ruined the families Valentines day weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daughters P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My fiance and I decided to go to the dells for Valentines weekend and we stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake. EXCELLENT choice. For only $200 we got a beautiful condo with two bedrooms, two bath and jacuzzi whirlpool. Staff was very friendly, water parks were awesome and overall stay was great. Even check out was 11 (at most places its 10:30) so that was a plus as well. The one and only thing that was a hassle was taking the shuttle to the waterparks. Since it was cold out it was just a pain to wait for a shuttle soaking wet. Definately reccomend for families, getaways or just for something to do.

Room Tip: For couples with no waterpark interest : Wilderness on the Lake. For families with interest in water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBerger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

To sum it all up, our family had a super time! Can't wait to go back this summer(If our finances allow it). We loved the cabin we stayed in. It was very spacious and fully stocked. If we had decided that we didnt want to go to the water park, we wouldn't have had to leave the room for anything. It was very clean and the decor was very adorable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing