We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Time for Everyone”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Fun Family Time for Everyone”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We go to Wilderness Resort every year, and won't go to no other resort! We have so much fun, and the prices are good! And it's Clean... We wanted more towels in our room, and the staff came right away. It's just a great place to go!

Room Tip: Any rooms above the ground floor are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    830
    390
    224
    222
See reviews for
2,147
137
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buchanan, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

When I first read some of the reviews, I wasn't sure if this would be a good place to stay but it was actually wonderful! It was just me and my husband and we had so much fun! It wasn't dirty at all like some people were saying. There were always people cleaning everything. The hot tubs were always very hot which was nice because when I stayed at kalahari they weren't. We always had something to do. Even though it was winter time, it was actually very warm in there. We spent atleast 100 bucks less staying here and still had just as much fun. I would definitely recommend wilderness especially if you have children bc there is a lot to do for kids. Only thing I recommend is bringing your own pillows cuz Theirs are hard. Overall great place to go!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniiecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went to the wilderness for our sons birthday thinking we would have a great time. We were there 3/2/14-3/4/14. Our son woke up in the middle of the night 3/3/14 throwing up everywhere. Just terrible. Then another family member also started throwing up early. They went to the hospital and found out they have the norovirus. And got it from the waterpark. We are very upset. We have to now pay out of state medical bills. And a ton of other things since family was from out of state. Including another hotel since they are too sick to fly. This is just terrible. We will NEVER go to another waterpark again. Do not go here. I feel horrible since there were tons of infants in the infected place.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in one of the golf course cabins and we absolutely loved it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly and professional. We enjoyed the water parks as well. There is plenty to do for all ages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Wilderness for a long weekend during the throes of the cold temperatures in the region. We have four children ages 11, 9, 7, and 2. Each one enjoyed the experience. Despite the fact that it was a holiday weekend, the lines for the indoor water park were not bad. I think the longest that we waited was twenty minutes for the Vortex (I think that was the name). Our 2-year-old loved the little slides and was easily amused while the bigger kids entertained themselves.

We all stayed in one room that included two beds and a pullout couch. This was plenty, given that we weren't there to hang out in the hotel. We packed breakfast and lunch foods with us and made use of the microwave and refrigerator in the room. In the evenings we indulged in the surrounding restaurants, the best by dear being Chi-town Pizza.

The rooms were sufficient given our purposes, clean, and spacious. The cycle for cleaning the rooms seemed to change from day to day, so on one day it never got cleaned and the towels weren't replaced. But this is understandable given the busyness of the weekend.

A few miscellaneous notes:
1. We had access to the indoor water park for two full days in addition to separate days for check in and check out. This may have been more than necessary, as our kids were exhausted after two days. Two nights would have been sufficient. Note that the issue wasn't the attractions but the exhaustion of our kids!

2. There is a tendency for guests to be overwhelmingly over possessive about staking claim to a table and chairs, as there are few other options for storing your stuff while you're having fun. If you want to compete for a table, you have to be at the doors before they are unlocked. My opinion is that it is extremely annoying that folks put their stuff all over a table and chairs with no intention to use them. The hotel could easily find ways to accommodate the need with encouraging the territorial instincts. Obviously most people don't want to pay for the cubbies on the side. Tree should be other options.

3. The staff members who work at the attractions are very kind and friendly. Thanks!

Room Tip: Third floor, as second floor is the main walkway to/from the indoor parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timoteyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a great vacation spot for families of all ages however..unless u cant or dont want to walk miles across the whole place to get to the water parks...the place is NOT set up very well to get from A - B . And I HIGHLYYY suggest do NOT I REPEAT DO NOT get a room located on second floor. Our family personally got lucky and got a 3rs floor room and was very peaceful. Reason i woildnt want a 2nd floor room is because the 2nd level is the main walkway fpr all guests to get to all places.People allllll day running and shouting . Its the main walking way to get anywhere. They have no skywalks separate from the lodging...I found that odd.... I felt bad for guests on that floor bcz they wld have no quiet til about midnight maybe...also ..SOOOO MANY STAIRS! very hard on my family with a 19m old in a stroller ... and when u did find an elevator they r in the dumbest areas!...the water in winter is superrr cold . ... and the food at the canyon cafe is wayyy overpriced... but its "ok" for resort food....Fun place but needs improvments.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANJ123ASHLEYCLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We love going to the Wilderness. Their employees are by far the most professional and friendly people I have ever met in the service industry. From the people you meet at check in to the life guards they are all so very nice and personal. So much to do for the kids as well. Not just waterpark fun. Other great activities to keep kids of all ages busy! Great job Wilderness! We will see you soon!

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk far get a room closer to the water parks. If you want a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#15 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#23 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#14 of 75 in Wisconsin Dells
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing