We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, stay away from timeshare”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Ferguson, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great resort, stay away from timeshare”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the timeshare portion of Glacier Canyon Wilderness Resort for four nights. Bonus points for the six waterparks attached, even though they seemed to be similar to each other - 3 outdoor and 3 indoor. The Northern Lights arcade was also GREAT and had a children's climbing and activity zone that was a huge attraction and didn't cost extra money, which is difficult to find anywhere in the Dells. The Wyndham condos are spacious and the kitchen facilities were great, but the beds were much less than comfortable and the linens were sparse. STAY AWAY FROM THE TIMESHARE! Their presentation hooked us in with bribes of a free (disgusting) breakfast, arcade coins for the kids and some dinners at a local restaurant. Not worth it. The promised 2 hours turned into 3 1/2 with huge pressures to buy - we felt like we were in a used car salesman's office. Reprehensible.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo as the provided materials are not enough and are of very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,273
    831
    391
    224
    222
See reviews for
2,151
137
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've stayed at Kalahari, Great Wolf (x2), and now Wilderness Resort. We're a family of four with two kids, 10 and nearly 8. We had a great time at this resort - here's a few of the pros and cons of our trip.

PROS:
- Walking distance to lots of restaurants
- Wave pool
- Swim-up margarita bar
- Ropes course
- Rooms were clean and well appointed
- Jurassic outdoor park

CONS:
- HUGE resort - we really didn't need everything they offered
- No MagiQuest - this was the kids' largest disappointment, all the amenities it did offer, the kids still wanted to go back to the Great Wolf Lodge
- CRAZY wave pool - it was fantastic but it was intense! Watch out for those little ones!

Even though I had a fantastic time, the kids will probably win and we'll go back to the Great Wolf Lodge.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake in a condo. This is a fully equipped unit with a full kitchen for cooking. Each unit has a four person jacuzzi and lanai. This was very nice as you had a view of the lake from this room. We had a view of the lake on the third floor. There are gas grills provided in an area on the first floor so you can grill outside and eat outside or go to your condo. Pool at the condo was heated and overlooked the lake. There was a small indoor pool area also. You may access the main hotel via shuttle bus or water taxi. A free boat tour of the lake goes from 4:00-8:00pm. This was very nice. Gerald was our boat tour guide and very knowledgeable. It's always nice to stay at the condos as there is less noise. You don't here people running up and down the hallways late at night or early in the morning. We always stay here when we come for a vacation. Well worth the money and cost efficient for families.

Room Tip: Try to get the third or fourth floor if you want a view of the lake. It's very nice waking up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in the 3-bedroom Golf Cabins for the first time (we've stayed in the hotel and the 4 bedroom condos on the resort itself) and were very impressed with the Cabins. The layout was great and the bedrooms and bathrooms were great for the number of people we had (6 adults and 2 kids). We were able to make our own breakfasts to save a little bit of money and we had space to stretch out and hang out with everyone comfortably. The cabins are pretty close together so if any of the neighbors are in the mood to party you'll hear it, but it wasn't too bad. And having access to all of the indoor and outdoor water parks is always a great deal. The Golf Cabins are a good set up and a pretty good deal for the quality and the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent a weekend here with our son, daughter-in-law and 2 1/2 yr old grandson to play in the water park and see the car show. Our room was a suite and it had plenty of room and a very comfortable bed. We were especially pleased with the water parks here as there were specific areas for toddlers that were away from the bigger kids and it was really safe for our grandson to play in the water, it was very well supervised by water park employees, unlike a water park that we went to a year ago that let bigger kids go down the toddler slides and slam into the toddlers. All of us especially enjoyed the wave pool park, you really felt as if you might be on a beach. We all had a great time here and would definitely come back. Just be prepared, it IS a family resort so expect kids running down the hall and making noise. You can hear EVERYTHING going on in the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful stay. Rooms were very very clean, great furniture, wifi worked, cable tv, mini fridge, microwave, pull out couch, outside deck area! We loved our room! The water parks were wonderful! They have something for all ages! We headed over to wilderness on the lake and the outside pool looking out on the lake was amazing and relaxing. The indoor wave pool where you can tan all year is also a great spot to go! Workers are friendly and helpful. Many on resort restaurants. It's the perfect place for a getaway. If you can stay two nights come here because there is a lot to do here! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whinnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first family getaway with our almost-two-year-old. We stayed Fri-Mon (last weekend in May), and the timing was great. The outside pools were open and the weather was perfect! My only complaints are 1. the lack of hotel info in the rooms (no book to read thru to find out restaurant info, amenities, shuttle info, etc). Everything was supposedly on the Hotel channel on the TV, but it really wasn't. Had we stayed longer, we probably would've been able to figure out the shuttles, etc. But, it would've been nice to have all the important hotel info in one place. 2. STAY AWAY from the information desk...that's where they suck you into going to a timeshare presentation with the promise of gifts. It's not worth it!!! If you have no intention in buying the timeshare, please do not get sucked into this! We were promised that it wouldn't last any longer than 2 hours, and by the 2 1/2 hour mark, I was beyond annoyed. No matter what I said, it was always "what about this" or "let me show you the room". I was on the verge of tears...knowing that our vacation was going to be over in another day and we were wasting it. I'm not certain we will ever go back because of this reason.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caryngina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#5 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#58 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#25 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#14 of 76 in Wisconsin Dells
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing