We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the best”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Steger, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I've stayed at many different hotels in the Dells. The Wilderness Resort has by far been the best. We arrived on a Saturday and stayed till Tuesday. (A lot of people checked out on Sunday and it was less crowed) Check in was quick but they get you by sending you to another desk for a coupon book. (That's when they try to get you to sign up for a timeshare presentation) We stayed in building 7. I think it was a great location it put us in between two of the waterparks. Our room was a double double suite with a sofa sleeper and two tv's, mini fridge and microwave. The beds were very comfortable and the room was more spacious than I imagined. It was 5 of us in the room and we were really ok. (Next trip we will stay in a condo) We were in room 479 and that was on the ground level. (I would ask for top floor next time due to the running above your head) the arcade was good it can get to be a little expensive. The kids loved the Timberland play house. It was really easy to get to the Wild water dome. My 6 year old son loved the wave pool that was his favorite by far. The water slide in Klondike Kavern he couldn't get enough of it. He also liked the lazy river. The weather wasn't that warm so we stuck to the inside waterparks only. We didn't use the shuttles we found it quicker just to do short cuts or get in the car and drive around. I am truly and completely will be a return user to the Wilderness Resort. Already planning our next stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank texasgw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    809
    380
    217
    219
See reviews for
2,070
135
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the best waterpark we have been to. There was never long lines and there were water rides for all ages. The wave pool here is a blast with the biggest waves I have seen even in the ocean. The kids had a great time and were worn out at night.
The arcade area is very well done for after the water fun and they liked the rope walk above the arcade.
The only downside that I can see is the food is very expensive and not much health options.

Room Tip: Bring food for lunches and or breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmwdiscman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Largest in USA huge wave pool , huge everything also me hurricane water slide and black holes then next is alwsome but feinting super fast body slides by tube slides kwondike Cavern. Manny new thing added 2 story laser tag.

Room Tip: Great room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Wilderness with the wife and 2-year old son in early June. The rates at the hotel were great as it was early in the season. The resort has a number of indoor and outdoor waterparks so you are always close to at least one regardless of where you stay. The resort also have shuttles to take you around the property. For our 2 year old some of the waterparks were great, others had few options for his age. The ones he enjoyed the most were the indoor waterpark in the Wild West area and the Lost World outdoor waterpark.

The room itself was a standard hotel room with 2 queen beds, a couch, a small table and a small deck. Also included a mini fridge and microwave. The room was clean and we had no issues with hearing outside noise while in the room. The only negative was a small bathroom.

The service at check-in was friendly and the process was fast, only issue was the guy directed us to the wrong entrance door which led us to parking and walking a ways to the room. Not a big deal.

Did not eat at any of the onsite restaurants but there seemed to be plenty of options.

All in all was a good experience and I would stay there again. We stayed at the Kalahari exactly one year earlier and while the Kalahari seems to have more stuff to enjoy the Wilderness had a more laid back feel that is nice when being on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISU02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Every year we go, and every year we look forward to the following year. It is clean, employees are great, the life guards are very attentive. Of all the locations in the Dells, this my favorite. W have found that staying in the condos, and the glacier canyon area to be the most comfortable and best environment for our family. The amount of foot traffic outside of your door is a minimum, which is awesome when you have little ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyImagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferguson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the timeshare portion of Glacier Canyon Wilderness Resort for four nights. Bonus points for the six waterparks attached, even though they seemed to be similar to each other - 3 outdoor and 3 indoor. The Northern Lights arcade was also GREAT and had a children's climbing and activity zone that was a huge attraction and didn't cost extra money, which is difficult to find anywhere in the Dells. The Wyndham condos are spacious and the kitchen facilities were great, but the beds were much less than comfortable and the linens were sparse. STAY AWAY FROM THE TIMESHARE! Their presentation hooked us in with bribes of a free (disgusting) breakfast, arcade coins for the kids and some dinners at a local restaurant. Not worth it. The promised 2 hours turned into 3 1/2 with huge pressures to buy - we felt like we were in a used car salesman's office. Reprehensible.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo as the provided materials are not enough and are of very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We've stayed at Kalahari, Great Wolf (x2), and now Wilderness Resort. We're a family of four with two kids, 10 and nearly 8. We had a great time at this resort - here's a few of the pros and cons of our trip.

PROS:
- Walking distance to lots of restaurants
- Wave pool
- Swim-up margarita bar
- Ropes course
- Rooms were clean and well appointed
- Jurassic outdoor park

CONS:
- HUGE resort - we really didn't need everything they offered
- No MagiQuest - this was the kids' largest disappointment, all the amenities it did offer, the kids still wanted to go back to the Great Wolf Lodge
- CRAZY wave pool - it was fantastic but it was intense! Watch out for those little ones!

Even though I had a fantastic time, the kids will probably win and we'll go back to the Great Wolf Lodge.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monkida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
Wintergreen Resort & Conference ...
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#12 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing