We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Resort In the Dells” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Resort In the Dells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I have been to the Wilderness resort numerous times and we keep coming back time after time. We just love it there! With so much to do, I don't know how anybody could get bored there. Our last stay was a two night anniversary stay in June and even with not so perfect weather we still had a blast because you can always go to one of the three indoor waterparks. There are also so many dry activities, it makes us feel like kids again! The food at their restaurants is good but their new Yukon Yogurt is to die for! I had it twice! So good and not a bad price either! We love the Wilderness and will be back in the near future!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    798
    363
    211
    214
See reviews for
2,027
135
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I loved the wilderness to be honest their wave pool is outstanding nothing in my opinion can compare! The only thing I need to say about it is that it's huge and very hard to know where you are ( again in my opinion ) but overall it was excellent! You all will probably have fun because it's great and you will see there are bigger kid rides and smaller kid rides!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KYLA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first time in the Dells and we took our two 15 year old girls. They had a pretty good time. They were always on the go and crashed at night from playing so hard. They have so many water parks that it doesn't feel very crowded. We stayed at the hotel and it was clean. We had two queen beds plus a pull out couch.

The first night we ate at the buffet and not only was it extremely overpriced ($20 per person), but the food was just awful. It was the worst any of us had ever had - we didn't even eat it because it was so gross. Unfortunately, that is $90 that I will never get back. The next night we ordered the pizza deal from the Klondike Pizza Kitchen, The pizza was good, but they overcharged me $2 for the pizza deal - compared to the advertisement that they gave us upon check-in. Finally, the third night we ate at Monk's, which you can get to by taking the shuttle. Thankfully, we had a good meal there!

I wish I could say that we didn't have any problems aside from the food issues, but we did. First, we had to deal with a very rude shuttle driver. Our first time taking the shuttle we were a little confused about how they ran and where we needed to get off, and the driver we had was very loud and impatient with us.

The other issue was upon check in, they have you fill out a form and you need to list who in your party is authorized to get a replacement key if it is lost. The only ones in my party that were allowed to get a new key was myself and my husband. However, on the very first day, my daughter misplaced her key and she was able to walk right up to the front desk and request a new key. The only thing she had to give them was the room number - and nothing else. I think this is a very dangerous safety issue that they need to address right away.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor - it's a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jami13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited this resort all the way from Arizona. I was worried that the temperature in the waterparks would be cold for us since we are used to Arizona weather. I was wrong. All the parks had heated water including the outdoor parks. There was so much to do here with a variety of waterparks for all ages. The room was spacious, but could maybe use a little updating. This is nothing that would stop me from staying here again though. You hardly spend any time in your room anyway. Our family had so much fun here and I was exhausted by the end of each day. I had a room on the 3rd floor, so I had no problem with noise. I could see it being more noisy on the 2nd level though since that is where all the walkways to the waterparks are.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with a wooded view will get you a nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My mother- in- law from Illinois planned this family vacation for all of her children and grandchildren... 14 total. Coming from NJ, I had no real idea what to expect of the Dells.. other than some online reviews. We had a good time. The resort has a lot to offer, so it's what you make of it that creates your vacation. The grandchildren vary in age from 5 to 13 and there was something for everyone with lots they could do together. We kept busy all week with very few excursions off of the resort. We had rented adjoining condos which were spacious and clean. They were average, but they served their purpose. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were nice and dark for good sleeping :) The water parks and public restrooms/ locker rooms were as clean as can be expected. There was always someone mopping up the floors/ cleaning the locker rooms ect. The indoor water parks were a bit hot and stuffy, the smell of chlorine was intense. All of the employees were kind and friendly. My mother in law noted a few times that they must have special training on handling the guests. I also appreciated that the shuttle service was prompt. We never had to wait very long for a bus to take us home. While the resort had a lot to offer, I probably would not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Its our 4th or 5th trip to the wilderness and as always the staff is great, the rooms are clean. there is plenty to do, and the temperature of the water is just right! I love this place! There is so much to do and its so much fun.

Room Tip: choose a room close to the water park that's your favorite as there are many water parks and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueT5894ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Starting with the uber-friendly check in associate and continuing with the prompt shuttle service ( which includes boat shuttles to excite our young grandkids! ) and myriad waterparks and activities, our trip to Wilderness will provide lasting memories and anticipation of future visits! Did not encounter even one staff member who wouldn't bend over backwords to help. Clean spacious condo style room fit all 10 of our group in comfort and ridiculous style! Must have been 5 big screen TV's to watch the World Cup Games and all beds were comfortable and mid-range hardness. Waterparks were not overly-crowded like Noah's Ark so it was very easy to keep track on the kids. Indoor activities kept us busy and cooled on a hot sticky day. Best value in the Dells!

Room Tip: Got to get a big condo at the Wilderness On The Lake for big groups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#3 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#13 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#54 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#6 of 72 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing