We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Getaway”
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Family Getaway”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My Family and I enjoyed the scenic and adventurous getaway the week of July 20th. We were fortunate to stay in a villa. Although at first glance the property seems enormous, the resort makes it easy to get around with well designated paths and mobile transport available within 15min or less just by dialing 0 and giving your location. The villa is spacious and provides the basic amenities to help with your stay, including a kitchen, dining area and there's even a washer/dryer. The only issue that I had was keeping the upstairs heat/air regulated in a way that would not effect everyone staying in the rooms downstairs. Also,. "housekeeping" is surface cleaning only. My family did go in with our own cleaning supplies and mopped, swept...and in doing so, it was a noticeable difference in the appearance of the place after we made it more comfortable for ourselves.

Do enjoy the water park(s) on the property. There is something for all ages, including the recent addition of the Margarita swim up bar near the wave pool. Although this is an adults only attraction, the children can enjoy the pool area that is within eyesight of bar. In the middle of the property, there is a sand volleyball area, a running path that is 1/2 mile long 1x around and at the top of the hill, on designated nights, a large movie screen shows family movies.

There are restaurants on the premises but please venture off, just across the street and even less than a block away you can find family friendly eateries, often with live music and other activities to keep the kids busy.

Although the stay at Wilderness is definitely not inexpensive, compared to other resorts in the area, it is worth the money. If you are going with a group of family or friends, it is worth going in together on a villa or condo to get a great experience out of your travels.

Room Tip: To really enjoy the property to its fullest, plan to arrive on a Monday or Tuesday and vacate leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    819
    386
    220
    219
See reviews for
2,112
136
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took our 2 grandchildren; girl age 6 and boy age 3. Plenty to keep them busy and age appropriate and plenty water activities. They especially liked the "Lazy River" in one of the outdoor water parks. The resort was close to other places we visited; highlites were Bariboo and Circus world, the "original Wisconsin Ducks" which they loved. Western grill on property was perfect as was their sports bar and restaurant which was a short shuttle off the main property. Room size was fine, bathroom was a little small.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We reserved two suites & a regular room in the Glacier Canyon section & were a patio walk out to one of the waterparks. While the campus is large, each area was easy to access due to shuttles, and were even shuttles to events off site. While our rooms were independently owned, each was stocked with a full kitchen, just bring own pans if you want to cook more than the basics!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFoodLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is a mixed bag. The waterparks are great and a fun activity for kids of all ages. There is plenty to keep everyone busy and happy for 2+ days. The accommodations and customer service, however, leave something significant to be desired. We were in unit 2030-32, which is a 3 bedroom unit in glacier canyon. It's well laid out and has lots of space--for us, enough for 5 adults and 6 kids. It seems fairly new so the bathrooms and kitchen are nice. But there were a number of significant problems. First, the amount of noise above us was absolutely unreal. The first time I called, at 9 pm, I was told that they will enforce quiet time at 10 pm. Great. So when the noise persisted past 10 pm (and we're talking incessant keep-you-from-sleeping noise-- like they were bouncing balls or jumping or had a very large number of people walking back and forth, back and forth. It was so bad that I went upstairs to see if we were directly underneath a flight of stairs or common area), and I called back, I expected something to be done. If they did anything about it, it was completely ineffectual. At 230 am, when we were STILL awake from the noise, the wilderness inched pretty low on my list of places to return. This isn't to mention the loud noise from the elevator, water pipes banging overnight, and the fact that we were on a basement level with a patio in the middle of the bushes, despite the fact that all other units of our category appeared to have superior outdoor areas. And then ... on our second night/morning, the power went out. No air conditioning. No lights. No white noise machine to drown out the noise. I have a 3 month old and a two-year-old. We need air conditioning -- not to mention lights -- and we were paying $800 per night to have those basic amenities. More minor things but nonetheless annoying included that there was a kitchen but no paper towels or napkins, and we never had housekeeping of any sort. No garbage changed out. No beds made. None of it.

Now. At any normal hotel where you are paying this amount of money, I would expect some sort of remuneration for the inconvenience -- or at least a heartfelt apology and some attention to fixing the issue in the future. We received exactly the opposite. At check out, I spoke with Joshua Jones, who is the supervisor at Glacier Canyon. He is, by far, one of the worst-behaved hotel managers I have interacted with. I explained to him what our issues were. After every sentence, he mockingly said, "I'm really sorry you're unhappy." Remember those games you played as a 10-year-old where you just repeated everything the other person said, ad naseum? Like that but almost more irritating. As in: "We didn't have any housekeeping." "I'm really sorry you're unhappy." "The power was out for a large chunk of time." "I'm really sorry you're unhappy." "The noise above us kept us from sleeping for almost an entire night." "I'm really sorry you're unhappy." Are you kidding me? At one point, he went so far as to say, "oh so you're not going to come back again"? Uh. Well. That's certainly not the way to encourage repeat customers. Instead of dealing with the actual problems, and providing some incentive for us to return next year, he provided us with yet ANOTHER negative experience. Management is supposed to swoop in and figure out how to solve problems like these. Yet this man had no interest in trying to figure out how to solve these problems, or how to make or keep us happy, which speaks to the fact that there is no hope of the problems being remedied any time soon.

In short: Go to the waterparks. They're fun. But stay elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank adk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Wildnerness Hotel and the rooms were dated. They had obviously not been updated in the 19 years since the place opened. Housekeeping was adequate at best. We were honestly expecting them to have more slides, but they are so spread out between the different parks that there was essentially only a couple of slides per park. We did like the convenience that the water park was at the resort and that we could walk back to our room for lunch. The policy with needing towel cards to get towels at the park is just ridiculous. For one, we never even received ours when we checked in, and while we didn't lose any towels thankfully, it would be extremely easy for a kid to lay there towel down and misplace it, and then the resort charges you $25 for their towel which is left on their property). I think the resort is probably better for families with kids of multiple ages that you need to keep entertained, but our kids (7 year old twins) seemed to be in the gap. This being said I think the Wild West indoor/outdoor park combo is the best they have to offer (but it does NOT have either a lazy river OR a wave pool as the cons). They were too old for the little kiddie zones, but they are just under 48 inches so they were not tall enough for many of the slides. While we overall had a good time, it was not the fabulous experience I was expecting based on reviews I had received from friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AREIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with several families and had a great time. With kids from 4 to 9 in tow, everyone had fun. They tend to charge for every extra possible, but just pay attention and relax. There is plenty to do for just the cost of the rooms. They offer a pass for several extras that is worth it with active kids.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wessel-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in a 4 bedroom frontier condo, and there was plenty of space for our family. The shuttle service on premise is outstanding and makes it very easy to travel from place to place. Comparable to Disney!! Many water park options for all to experience and pleases "kids" of all ages! We would definitely stay there again, but think we would opt for Wilderness on the Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#14 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Canyon Lodge
Glacier Canyon Lodge
#15 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 74 in Wisconsin Dells
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Property: Wilderness Resort
Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9648
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing