We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss at Sprecher's”

Sprecher's Restaurant & Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sprecher’s Restaurant & Pub is locally owned and operated with a commitment to using the freshest ingredients in our scratch kitchen. We serve 14 World-class Wisconsin brewed beers and 4 gourmet sodas on tap from Sprecher Brewery in addition to a full-bar with our own imaginative specialty cocktails. Sprecher's is a great place for business lunches, family dinners, special events and great happy hours. We feature plenty of dining space for groups of all sizes with private dining rooms available as well.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hit or miss at Sprecher's”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our family went on a busy Friday during a weekend trip to the Dells. Nice seating and atmosphere with a sports bar vibe. I had the Friday Fish Fry special which came with cheesy mashed potatoes, cole slaw and choice of tap beer, tap soda or old fashioned cocktail. I chose the old fashioned and really enjoyed both the drink and the food. The rest of my family didn't seem quite as happy with what they ordered, although no major complaints, they felt food was just average. All were happy with their Sprecher Beverages. We had a nice time and will likely return to give it another try. I think if they tweak a few things, it could be a winner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvTravelin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    315
    129
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Been there twice in the last week”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Traveled with a party of 8. We were seated immediately. The food and drinks really are special. They brew their own beer as well as making gourmet sodas. I had the wiener schnitzel. It was outstanding. Dinner partners had burgers and reuben sandwiches and all remarked how good it was. They distribute these paper hats with birds with big beeks for the brims. We are all retirement age but could not resist putting them on. It was a fun time. Liked it so well that we returned for ice cream sodas after a late evening show. They are open late too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Singer7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We like Sprecher's root beer and had heard good things from family who visited the Lake Geneva restaurant, but we were disappointed with our visit to the Wisconsin Dells location. The service was spotty (slow drink refills, spills and dropped silverware during service and table bussing), and the food was mediocre. The baked potato soup and the Sprecher's cheese potatoes are essentially the same thing. The jalapeño cole slaw had large slices of red onion and was filled with cilantro. It might have been good on a fish taco, but as a side to ribs, it was inedible. The grilled chicken sandwich was burnt, and the jambalaya tested more of Mexican seasoning than Cajun. We won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Have been here a few times now, and this is becoming a must stop on our temps to the Dells. Service was a bit poor today, but food was good. Fries could be improved, but were ok.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TurtleRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Try some of the brews.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Good food. Good root beer and beer choices. Enjoyed our meal. Would go again. The burgers were good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sprecher's Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Sprecher's Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing